Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Dog

by Waynetron - Compo Entry

Steer with Left & Right arrow keys (or A & D).
Eat as many pellets as you can.
Avoid the asteroids, and don't eat your own tail!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#62Humor3.71
#80Theme4.23
#131Fun3.68
#137Overall3.73
#153Graphics3.84
#202Mood3.41
#271Audio3.10
#845Innovation2.43

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I LOVE IT, SO GOOD, GREAT ART
Gonna play this for a few hours now, thanks for making it.

Deity says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Cute game and nice graphics/colors.

Controls are *A* and D (not W, D).

Ajay Karat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:46am

had a lot of fun playing this game! Congrats :D

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

What is there to hate about this game... I mean... He's a snake and a dog. Right?

(This game runs incredibly smooth and I like it.)

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35am

I had seen a few of your blog posts, on, well, the blog, and I wanted to try this one out as well. You've done very well, with keeping a simple idea and polishing it to make it shine.

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

Well, that is one cute little snake dog.

Fantastic art. Sketchy sketch!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

I want a Snakedog now but I can't have one because they aren't real :(

Ridiculously charming and nice use of sound. If I can level one criticism at it, I would say the controls are slightly too sensitive.

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43am

First, i taught oh another Snake clone. It kinda was when I played it, but with a small twist, multiple 'coins' to grow and enemies that fly through the game. Nice graphics, really cute. Overall good score

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I really liked it, the art is lovely and the idea is pretty good too, i like the snake/asteroids mash-up!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Really good Idea ! not very innovating but both theme are here ! This game is juicy by the way ;)
PS : It's missing a music maybe ^^

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:35pm

This is adorable and the controls are really solid. The dog sounds were brilliant and the art is just the right amount of quirky! I love this is simple application of the theme too.

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

The classic Snake game... with a dog... plus asteroids! Nice and smooth. An endearing character to play.

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

So cute and so soft!! I'm love it!! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Super awesome arts style, responsive controls, overall super fun.

mattrified says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

OMG that death sfx! lol

Nice game. Feel a little ambient or background music would be nice (if there was any I couldn't hear it)

Nice twist on the classic snake, similar to mine actually, lol.

Nice job, :)

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16am

Really fun! You haven't gone too ambitious with your concept but the execution is really impressive. Sounds are great, graphics are neat and gameplay is smooth. Great job.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

kek, funny game. That death noise scared me though. Also the inputs don't work all the time. Not sure why. Well done :)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18am

Nice iteration on the classic snake game. The art is very cute and warm, I love it. A small problem is that the control is a bit too sensitive like someone else said (or maybe that's intentional?)

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:21am

This is great! Not a lot of creativeness though, but feels awesome!

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Wow, very nice! Visually well-designed, and definitely fun to play.

The gameplay isn't too new and the asteroids can appear unfairly and the wall collision isn't generous. But otherwise, gotta love a snake-like game! <3

The sounds were cool, and the wiggly paint art reminds me of Dittomat's style. :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:26pm

It's not very creative, but the artwork and design more than make up for it. I like it!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:38pm

nice game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:26am

funny game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]