Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Famous Bus Movie Game

by BuffaloPhil - Compo Entry

_______________________________________________________________


A young cop must prevent a bomb exploding aboard a city bus by keeping its speed above 50 mph.

_______________________________________________________________


City is generated uniquely each game, no 2 highways are the same. The "2 button controls" are A and D, for steer left and right.

_______________________________________________________________


Play with the Unity web player- If Chrome doesn't work, Firefox should.

_______________________________________________________________


Happy Ludum friends




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#11Graphics4.52
#13Fun4.15
#20Overall4.14
#41Mood3.96
#51Audio3.87
#66Humor3.68
#147Theme4.11
#361Innovation3.35

Comments

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

Haha love the name love the music overall pretty solid! fits the theme perfectly. Only bug i got was getting flipped over by a car one time and went trough a wall before exploding.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Very cool! Love artstyle.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Love the idea, my eyes hate me for playing thi though...

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Definitely is colourful! Actually really like the aesthetic, and the way the camera's in the bus and you can watch the wheel steering. Kept with the theme well. Presuming this is randomly generated, in which case good job on handling that!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great game! Loved the art style, probably one of the best 3D games I've seen come out of LD. And well done with the name ;)

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07pm

If you make a "II Keys" steering wheel sticker, I will buy one!

It reminds me a lot of Drift Stage, which is a good thing! Probably one of the most stylized games I've seen in this jam. Really good use of colour. I had a lot of fun playing it, and really enjoyed when my bus exploded.

If only Keanu Reeves could save me from my bad driving!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Almost made it to the Airport, but there was a lady and her baby that I swerved out of the way to try not to hit. But I hit them anyway and flipped over. Love the look and pretty fun! I do get a bunch of dev console error spam when I hit anything, though.

greenscreen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26pm

For me it's the winner for this Ludum Dare. Artistic style is great, simple but something you don't often see. Gameplay makes you focused on winning. You feel satisfaction after getting to the finish. Music only makes it better.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Cool game. I made it to the airport but didn't manage to avoid a poor baby :(

Jynshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Although blinding, I loved the art style!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Awesome idea! Graphics are very nice (but too strong for my tired eyes >_<), and mechanics are really fun.

One thing...when I crashed the Unity console opened and began tracing physics-related exceptions. It didn't prevent me from playing, though.

r8berto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Hahaha loved it! I really enjoyed playing it. BTW probably you know but it throws a lot of exceptions on gameover.

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Brilliant. Love the handling, the way you present controls & goals on screen as part of the bus, and the fuck-you color palette. Soundtrack is good too.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26pm

awesome! 5 stars for the visuals and sound

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Actually very fun! I thought it was funny that hitting a pedestrian isn't a lose condition. Nice work with the flat colours. One thing, to create a better sense of progression it would be cool if the bus sped up in Tiers so could really feel it getting faster; but maybe im just a speed demon :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

This was a lot of fun and a great implementation of the two-button theme. Assets were great. It's painful how bad my first attempt was.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

The bus feels good to drive like the wild art style great game!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Really nice graphics!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Amazing game! The color palette makes it very unique, and the controls really give the sense of driving an out of control bus through a city. I did get an error message when I crashed, but the rest was smooth. Nice!

Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Great! The position of the camera made it feel like I was really driving... going around curves was nerve-wracking!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Love the graphics and the color palette, even if it is a bit hard to look at it, hahah. Pretty well done, congratulations :D

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

If you do a sequel, it will not be as good. That was cool ! ;)

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Nice look, great controls. Entertaining.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

The graphics are simple, but really effective. The gameplay is also really fun and the map is really well-made. I love it! Keep up the good work, I look forward to seeing more of your work!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

A very nice game ! :D
I lost at the moment I thought it was easy XD

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

LOL at the ending. I adore the style of this game, it's deliciously retro if not totally eye-burning. Honestly the music really startled me when it first came on but I like the grittiness of it too. Controls work great. Played it in Firefox.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

This looks (and plays!) really nice.

floppya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

"Pop quiz, asshole. You have a sweet bus driving game with good art and sound and a cool color palette, what do you do? What do you do?"

Gornova says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

a lot people on streets, right ?

good game, well done, no bugs, nice audio and strage graphics.. all together mixed and still working!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Great use of theme! I was getting pretty jaded that the music wasn't changing, but then a other person at the office played and didn't suck a million, and now I know it has awesome music!

I would love to see this evolve into a full game. The aesthetic is super solid!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I love this game, I hate it when I'm at 5 to go and a car appears underneath me with no warning, gahhhhh!

I do, really love this game though, it's fantastic :D

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I love it. Firstly the title, secondly the art style and music, and if these things weren't enough - driving mechanics / controls, it feels good controlling the bus. Also little details like steering wheel, bomb, mothers with children. Damn, I like everything about this game.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Not too bad, I couldn't make it very far. When I collide with cars/walls (which I did a lot, lol) I was getting a lot of mesh collision errors in a debug window. Didn't seem to effect game play. Liked the art but the yellow was a bit much on my eyes

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I really like the colors! The gameplay was good as well!
Although I never watched Speed O:

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59pm

FUCKING AMAZING. "The passengers are saved", took 50 lives on the road.. haha

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

The art is just very great! I very enjoyed the game!

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29am

This is like my game, except actually good. Great minds think alike, one just a bit better than the other.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

Awesome! Simple, fun and intense. I love the striking flat visuals and tense music. The first time my bomb triggered I wasn't sure what caused me to go below 50. But overall awesome work!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Good fun - I love the visual style here.

I noticed the uploaded version is a development build - if you uncheck that when making it, it will remove the console that pops up when you lose - tho like others have said, it doesn't cause any problems.

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Awesome graphics and funny title. Really really nice work.

I'd like it to be harder and shorter - currently there's a lot of dead time it feels like, meaning I'd like to lose faster and more often rather than playing 20 seconds really easily and then losing and having to replay those 20 easy seconds.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:17am

I don't know how you came up with this color palette, but it really works. Awesome job.

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:10am

Love it, from the name to the look to, well, everything.

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Enjoyed the game until the bus became uncontrollable, and I've lost with "Non-convex Mesh Collider with non-kinematic Rigidbody is no longer supported in Unity 5"...

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:32am

Cool visual style and fun to play! However,I got plenty of errors flooding the screen, especially "Non-convex Mesh Collider with non-kinematic Rigidbody is no longer supported in Unity 5" when crashing my bus

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:05am

When I dodged magenta and yellow 3D cars without shadows and listened to intense music, I felt riveted. When I sometimes collided with some cars much earlier or later, I felt the difficulty of the distribution of cars and people to avoid varied a lot, so that I wasn't being fairly tested each run.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:07pm

cool and entertaining game with very nice viasual style!

FireTwin says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:30am

Funnest game I've played this LD, matched with really unique graphics and the intense music. Really enjoyed it as well as the challenge. Cool that it is procedurally generated so the there is quite a challenge to beat the game every time. The only problem for me was it was a little too random when going down ramps as you can't see what's coming and just have to hope no cars are in the way. Amazing job!

EwChap says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:10am

Loved every second of it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]