Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Heinsenberg

by ncannasse - Compo Entry

Discover who is Heinsenberg, who you are. And the most important question: where is Alice?

PLEASE PLAY WITH SOUND

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#4Mood4.51
#18Audio4.12
#20Overall4.14
#65Innovation3.96
#114Graphics3.96
#117Fun3.71
#336Humor2.68
#823Theme3.21

Comments

SLOTheDevil says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:21pm

This is an awesome game!

scorched says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16am

Reached the cassette recorder level. The game rocks!

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

It's amazing and engaging. I love the storyline!

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Such feels by narrative.
Awesome job, amazing game.
(I don't feel so good right now)

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

so goooood... love the details, puzzles were just hard enough I thought

eskivor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I'm stucked between gamepad and VHS recorder. Otherwise, nice job.

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Amazing. = )

Atmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Awesome game ! I love the story !

Lusmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Very, very nice. And creepy.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Awesome work, very atmospheric. Loved the use of photograph for interaction. There's something about inspecting a grainy photo while ambient music plays that feels rather ominous.

Thought the dialogue options were a little confusing though! Not the dialogue itself - but I was never sure what I was selecting when I chose an answer. Is there a reason that they were green/red?

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Wow, really packs a whole lot of (creepy) atmosphere and story into a seemingly simple interface. Very good job!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I feel weird ... :] Well polished narration and atmosphere ! that was oppressive...
I guess there is more than one ending?
The sound still plays as i'm writting this ... my brain hurts i think i should leave now :|

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

In my opinion your best entry as far.
Very good mood and one of your most polished gamed.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Haha familiar places ;) Very nice audio and visuals and nice writing...At moments I felt like running in circles and got stuck but impressive entry so far.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Wow, such an... interesting experience ^^. Need some happy things now :p

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Original take on both themes! Feels quite polished - nice atmosphere.

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

This really impressive me. Deep story, fantastic art. Amazing game.

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Wow, awesome, perfectly executed story! I love how you integrated the images to achieve the mood.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50am

Awesome entry, even if the theme connection was a bit frail. The atmosphere gave me the chills, and the story kept me interested until the end. Puzzles were original, too. Great job!! :)

quadtree says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:31am

Nice! Very atmospheric.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:46am

blew me away - great work

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Amasingly made !! :D

lekochen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

This is freaking awesome.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:27am

Solid man, really enjoyed the narrative! Had me in its grip the whole time!

spotco says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:05am

Could not for the life of me figure out how to get out of the "how do you know alice" screen or past the "enter code" puzzle.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:45am

Interesting game, very moody experience, i love the way you used actual photos.
I finished the game, don't know if there were other endings; the choices didn't seem to really matter, but i was conditioned to click the left one because clicking the right one at the beginning reset the game.
It was a bit frustrating to have to sit through the dialog again after accidentally clicking a button that closed a puzzle, but the puzzles themselves were interesting, if a bit nonsensical by the end; figuring out what buttons to use to input the final password was a bit too trial-and-error, i thought.
Regardless, i felt it was a really interesting experience. Great work!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Awesome little game! Great fun!

Yakka says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Loved it.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:41pm

interesting entry with great mood!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]