Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Light and Bacteria

by FrozenCow - Compo Entry

Growing bacteria using light and solving puzzles doing so.

First time using Unity, didn't think the idea was good enough at first, but with a few helpful tips it has still become a playable game (you be the judge ;)).


Windows (64bit): http://softwarebakery.com/games/lightandbacteria/lightandbacteria.windows.x64.zip


I *REALLY* like to know:
* Where you got stuck.
* Where was more guidance/instructions preferable.

Any other issue is also much appreciated. The WebGL version had shader problems, so I hope no other platforms are affected.

Any and all feedback is very much appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#7Fun4.26
#22Innovation4.17
#31Theme4.39
#68Overall3.92
#161Humor3.18
#161Mood3.50
#308Graphics3.43

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very nice gameplay! Some sound would have halped tho ;P

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Funny game. need background for navigate.

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Amazing game, love how it all works, with a few more mechanics and some sound it would definitely be a game I would buy. Probably work really well on mobile. Your first time using Unity has been very successful.

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

So atractive and interesting! Nice gameplay :D

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Very cool game, lots of fun beating it ;D

DevDad says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Very very addictive game. With a little improvement of mechanics and sound could be great game.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:07am

+1 for linux version! Great gameplay. I miss some sounds though.

EmmaSKulin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This was very nice! Sometimes they bacteria were getting really big and filled the entire screen but all in all very nice idea!

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:00am

A very nice game. Well done.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Damn hard game, but good one.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Cool mechanics. I got the the 75g, 200r, 200b level and then it seemed the bacterium stopped splitting and just kept growing, which made it a bit frustrating. Fairly clear graphics, although I'd suggest making the contrast between light and not-light a little more pronounced. Nice game.

dmecke says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Very very cool, my favorite LD game so far! I would really love to see this more polished (better contrast for light spots, sound) and with more content for mobile devices!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:17am

Wow! Actually its one of the most addicting game i played so far! Remembered me game of life

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:14am

Nice work, a great puzzle game, it would be awesome if this were expanded to create more variety - i got stuck on 75 green, 200 red, 200 blue - no matter where I put things I couldn't quite get the numbers up.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:29am

Wow, great job! Very solid, and graphics were simple but effective. Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]