Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake

by FacticiusVir - Compo Entry

My first game turned out too complicated, so with six hours to go I opted for the simplest game I could think of that fit both themes - Snake!

Guide your snake around the map with only two keys - turn Left (Q, A or Z) and Right (E, D or C) and try to pick up as many pellets as you can. But watch out, because every one you eat makes you grow longer and faster, and if you run into the wall or your own tail then you lose!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#578Theme3.61
#594Audio2.35
#639Fun2.94
#877Overall2.67
#878Graphics2.00
#939Innovation1.47
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56am

My computer won't run it (windows 10). It says it's for my protection... Why so many dlls anyways ?

I was a bit inpired by snake too but I went as far from it as I could.

My compo:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Pro:
+ It gets hard really quickly
+ Graphics and sounds match nicely
Con:
- Well... it's just snake ^^;
- Graphics style is nice, but feels something wrong... I don't know if it's just too basic or the grid...
Obs:
o When I played snake I liked to use the 3-7 or 1-9 control, being diagonals they counted as left-up and right-down etc. The controls of this game it's a bit confusing, but not that hard to get

Great job in 6 hours!

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Doesn't run on windows 8.1 (only pops up shortly in task manager).

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Basic and not really innovative, but it's a solid implementation and (most importantly) it works. The sounds give an arcady feel and the controls work well. Nice job for 6 hours of work.

@5you: It's normal to ship dll's. If a game doesn't it means they're embedded in the exe, but that's unflexible and also sort of hard to do. Next time please include an error message as "it doesn't work" is not really helpful.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

It's snake, there's not much else to say on that front.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

the sound and graphics are a bit grating and the board is a lot smaller than I'm used to. if you were to double the boardsize in both axes, add a green nokia-style filter, and make the snake fill the entire squares instead of little shapes inside them, this would be a much more solid rendition of snake.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Don't work on 32 bit systems...

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Pretty good for a last minute six hours aha

525 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:07am

classical

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Yeeey! Just dropped a tear for Nokia 3310... I liked the controls, they are quite unventional :) The sounds are nice too! Scored ten points.

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:28pm

for a 6-hour game, its ok i guess. Maybe you should switch to an other programming language or at least some other librarys, because this pile of dll's and the starting problem are not nice (was that visual basic? The logo reminded me of this.)

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:00am

Not bad for 6 hours! Found it hard to control the snake, but it makes sense given the 2 button control theme. I pressed d immediately and ran the thing into the wall unexpectedly. I wasn't looking at the controls from the snakes perspective. What was your original idea?

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:28am

Cool little snake clone.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:47am

Great simple graphics! c:

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:29am

Whenever I opened it, it crashed immediately afterwards (Windows 7, 64-bit). Are there anything I need to install to get it running? I'm on a new computer, so that may be the problem.

FacticiusVir says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:55am

Needs the latest .NET Framework - https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=48130

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]