Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Infinitree

by h.attila - Compo Entry

Infinitree
Grow to infinity and beyond! But watch out, there are all kinds of hazards along the way.

Collect splitters to split your branches. Avoid obstacles.

Controls: Use the [left] and [right] arrows to control your growth.

Unfortunately I didn't have enough time for the game this time as I had to go to work on Saturday. I'm still happy I could make something playable at least, combining both themes.

Tools:
- Fedora Workstation OS
- Atom editor
- Gimp, Inkscape
- LMMS, Audacity
- Gulp, Babel, Browserify to transpile the code and make it runnable in a browser

UPDATE 12/15: I changed the hosting provider. The old one had some problems, hopefully this will work better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#33Theme4.38
#57Fun3.88
#83Innovation3.91
#218Overall3.59
#309Humor2.75
#351Mood3.15
#405Audio2.80
#629Graphics2.84

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

I got 1688, nice music

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

i love it! you should play my game as i took the same idea and went down a different path.

the splitting thing is really good,i might steal that :)

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I wasn't too interested until I finally hit a splitter, awesome feature! Very unique :D

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Wow, really fun, really clever! The splitting mechanic is just great. Great job!

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I like it. The music is a bit blergh but it's like curve fever.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Ha, that was one of my ideas! Great to see it realized! Had lots of fun with it, was curious if I would end up in space with high enough points (http://s8.postimg.org/b6ytdgxj9/image.png). Only thing that was bugging me was that your reaction really had to be spot on from the start since you always stay in the middle of the screen. Maybe start the game with the player being on the bottom and slowly increase their position towards the screen center?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Fun game! I'd suggest making the collisions on the obstacles more accurate though. In a game like this, player frustration tends to build over little things like that. It was fun though! And a great interpretation of the theme!

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice game, very funny

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

The interesting thing about this game and my rig is that the further you go, the easier it gets, because no garbage collection = slowdown. Also hilariously enough you still turn sideways just as fast making dodging things a joke at that point.

20000 points ezpz

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Nice game, but sometimes you just don't have time to react to an obstacle. It would be better if the camera would be further up and you could see them earlier.

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Splitters spawn too close to a lot of the obstacles, so it's hard to get a lot of them, but when you do it's really satisfying. Quite a fun game. The only thing I would suggest to add is a message telling you when you beat your high score and then there would very much be that "one-more-play" factor. Well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

really cool concept. music scared the shit out of me at the beginning (had volume all the way up)

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47am

Great fit into the theme and nice gameplay overall!

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:33am

2804 points! It's a bit fast at first and tricky that you are clamped to a specific angle, so I crashed into a balloon the first time I wanted to pick up a splitter :D

The splitters are a nice way to manage your hit points, though they sometimes spawn too close to the original branch and negate the effect. Fun game though :)

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I got 3105! Very fun game!! I love it!

Evannex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Woo 3836! Man that's a challenge! Nice game, I enjoyed it.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Good game, but randomness is a bit too much for me =) 1050 btw

euske says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:54am

Fun and addictive. But it felt a bit luck-based, as there's little response time given. I wished I had a "slow down" seed!

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Splitters were the best part

laaph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:16am

This is very nice!

laaph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:17am

I'm sure you've seen the bug but in case you haven't, it seemed that there was some lagginess that could cause the tree to be disconnected from itself. I caught an image of it here https://imgur.com/WC6fvLq

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]