Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Choo Choo

by Madball - Jam Entry

Control a train and pick up passengers.
However, you can't control your speed, you can only turn left or right.

...will it be my first entry that doesn't require explaining?

Source code via right-click.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#304Theme(Jam)3.91
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#651Humor(Jam)2.40
#719Mood(Jam)2.97
#770Graphics(Jam)2.93

Comments

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Neat use of the theme!

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Final Score: 2610

Dang, that was tough. This is the part where I'd complain about it being too fast, if the speed and challenge weren't super fun that is. ;)

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

Very fun game, and hard too. It's tough getting the timing on some of those turns. Nice job!

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35am

Wow!! nice game .... neat concept! Love how intense it gets later on!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43am

Really good game, and very intuitive. I really like the visuals, the train looks awesome!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Really tough to see where we can turn at each intersection but very good concept! Cute visual and rewarding combo are the main strength imo. With audio and feedbacks, it could become a great game!

Janacek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Great game, but turning is hard haha

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Interesting use of the theme. Really like the idea here and could see it being a deeper game. I'd suggestion allowing the player to hit left or right ahead of a turn and flip the signal switch to make it easier to move. Felt like I wasn't able to get the turns correctly when I tried. Great job!

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:21am

Nice Game, snake on rails.

"I like trains!"

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:29pm

A very solid use of the theme. The game could probably have benefited from having better visuals at intersections, but overall a very well-rounded, intuitive game that, as you surmised, doesn't need any explaining.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Not bad! Would be awesome if the turning could be decided before the crossing, just like real railway switches :-)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I really like trains games. Nothing more to say ! :D

YinYin says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Arr too bad the little wagons didn't start growing and bursting with passengers as you pick up more and more.

A temporary slow down via holding left and right would've been really helpful on the more complex levels - could've rewarded not using it by adding bonus points for clearing it fast.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Fun and to the point!

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:29pm

I liked it but music would've been nice, also maybe something to end the game? like lava pits would be cool for the extra hardcore.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:51pm

I think my brain just melt.
You have to be in perfect timing for turn and this make the game very hard.
Nice entry.

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Nice use of the two button theme. It feels solid, didn't find any bugs. Congratulations on keeping the gameplay simple so you could do a good amount of different levels.

acotis says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Ohh, cool. The train was going a little too fast for me but I did beat all the levels in the end. I think the game would benefit from a tutorial or explanatory text at the beginning :P

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Ah, that was harder than I expected.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:16am

Very fun and cool. You could have made some enemies or just places where you crash, but that would probably have reduced the simple fun-ness of the game. There was something soothing about watching the little carriages whip around the curves.

Drury says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:03am

ANOTHER frantic train game? I'm up for this, totally am.

Dude - we take your game, we take my game, we fuse them, we win GOTY three times in a row.

Nobody will ever dare to pick on trains ever again. Trains are the future of gaming.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Cute little game. Deceptively tricky too. Gives me flashbacks to an old C64 game called Locomotion.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Simple, challenging, and well made! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]