Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pirahna Plant

by kebabskal - Jam Entry

Pirahna Plant is a side scrolling, randomly generated, infinite runner with two button controls. Sort of like an "Impossible Game" meets "Robot Unicorn Attack". How many glowy white boxes can you collect? (A the time of writing, the record is 126 :) )

Left Shift (or A): JUMPS
Right Shift (or D): DASHES
0: RESTARTS
Esc: QUITS

It was made by a rag tag team of individuals at a Ludum Dare get-together in Jönköping Sweden. The idea began as a rhythm game where you would queue up spells by banging your magic bongos in certain patterns. The "Growing" part of the theme was planned to be implemented through spells that grew flowers and wines to help you get forward.

Quite late in the process we realized that we wouldn't be able to finish this idea with any kind of polish and with just hours left we simplified and cut a lot of it. What was left was Pirahna Plant, not as unique, but very likely a much better game than if we had continued.

I'm very happy with the result, especially as a large percentage of the team hadn't really used Unity or even made games before.

Credits - in order of whose name comes first in the alphabets
Alfred Olsson
Christian Engwall
Fredrik Melén
Hannes Rahm (me)
Johan Kohlin
Teo Kohlin

Moral support
Filip Pilthammar
Pontus Brandt
Sofie Andersson

Big thanks to Moderskeppet.se for lending us their office for the weekend!

Technology
Engine - Unity 3D
Graphics - Photoshop, Procreate, Magicavoxel
Sound - Ableton Live, Kontakt

Linux build is untested. Use at your own peril.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#623Theme(Jam)3.57
#889Innovation(Jam)2.52
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

muit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Gorgeus art, loved it. Also cool mechanics, but not sure if using shifts are the best.

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

great entry. choice of soft visual effects and simple shapes and colour palette make a great mood with nice music. I like how the collection sound fits into the music and lets you participate in a way. I get lured in by the white dot witting too close to spikes. also i think the pile of blocks you need to dash through should have been a different colour than the spikes.

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Beautiful game! One of the best polished games I played this jam.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

A kind of BIT.TRIP RUNNER with nice graphics. Way to go for your first game guys !
The RNG is sometimes really unforgiving though, maybe you could have forbid certain patterns.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Looks fabulous!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Wow, really cool game ^^ Well-balanced, good graphics, good music and quite fun, well done guys ^^

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Amazing mood, minor suggestion: would like the game to restart directly afer failure, supermeatboy style. Tummen upp från svenskar!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

It was a good idea for a plateformer!
I liked it, even if i found the music a bit repetitive

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Nice, cool mechanics, nice art, and fun! Thanks for the tips, btw!

nelskj says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Great game! Graphics and sounds are simple but good.
Easy to play but with a certain difficulty. Fun to play!

Note — You don't need the .pdb files with your game, it's only for debugging or stuff like that. Without them your game will lose ~140MB.

OwT says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:56am

What a nice game, I spend a lot of time playing it! I like the graphics and that moves that comes with really beautiful graphic. but the idea with the shift isn't the best... Any other, but not shift xd

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:36am

If not for the crushers it would be my fav :) Hope you guys fix it postLD (like hold dash until RShift release). Btw. is there any way(itch.io/twitter) to follow this project?

Great visuals + calm music == nice mood. Overall one of the most polished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]