Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Luotsi the Maritime Pilot

by Lusmu - Compo Entry

Pilot a ship in a storm at night, and guide lost ships to a safe harbor. Your light will grow stronger every few points you score, but beware of getting lost, or hitting shallow rocks in the dark.

2 button controls (AD/Arrows/Game pad/Touch left or right side of screen)
Press "R" in the top left corner to restart
Escape to quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#61Mood3.85
#376Graphics3.30
#397Audio2.81
#412Overall3.32
#540Innovation3.07
#627Fun2.96
#746Theme3.35

Comments

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14am

I like the mood, I managed to save a couple of boats but then I got lost myself :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

Unity Web Player is outdated, i think its better to use webGL.

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Dark mood of this one is good. And idea of searching for the lost ships in the dark sea in great.
Wasn't able to find my second ship through =(

LabOne says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Love this game, and without-map-gameplay.

Darkhaul says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice game, gets a little bit annoying when you go faster than the other boats so you have to keep going back for them but it feels good over all, also glad you've used unity webplayer, people think its outdated just because chrome dropped support for it but until webGL is actually reliable enough to run every time webplayer is still great, also much easier than having to download games.

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

atmosphere and audio was really nice.

arseneauol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

:)

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Nice mood here! the slightly faster speed of my boat got annoying quickly and just led med to "wiggle" my way forward.
I loved the representation of the stormy water!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:37pm

i thought the fog of war effect and audio set a great mood

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Awesome moood! I love how the waves are implemented!! Also that there are some rocks hidden by the waves, it somehow reminded me of Sunless Sea! Keep up the good work! :D

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Nice game, liked the atmosphere and sound. Continue to finish, a very good idea.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34pm

pretty shapes and graphics, i think i like games that use the dark.. i found it a bit annoying when i sank after touching a wall a few times, but the game is smart, and i like the flare firing and stuff in the water around ships.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:46am

Amazing mood. I loved the idea. Simple graphics but very fun gameplay! Felt a bit slow at times, loved the upgrades and game progression. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]