Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SHOOT'N GROW

by guru-guru - Compo Entry

Warning lots of flashing colors.

Do you like growing? Do you like shooting? Neat!

Kill bad things get more PT. Use PT for upgrades! Be careful some upgrades are bad. ): Ever time you level up the bad things level up too. Every 10 levels you get full health!

Again warning lots of flashing colors.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#362Fun3.31
#544Humor2.24
#559Overall3.14
#618Mood2.78
#692Innovation2.77
#749Graphics2.56
#895Theme2.87

Comments

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39am

Nice Game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

I really like the idea of buying upgrades based on a timer - it has a bit of a push your luck element to it, where you always want to hold out for the next upgrade. I thought this was undercut a bit by how minor the upgrades actually were. It was very difficult to feel the effects of any one upgrade, to the point where the gradual improvements they granted just weren't very satisfying.
I also need to point out that the changing colors on the title screen were both very harsh on the eyes, and were often too bright to see the white text against.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Nice Game.

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

I think I can't play anything else after your game. It was visually stressful, particularly the main screen. Beware epileptics!
About the game itself, the shop randomized upgrade is a really interesting idea. I'd like to see that concept explorer on a post-jam, more polished game.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

Fun little game, liked how you could modify your weapon. I Are Winner!

aplomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33am

Very cool and chaotic. Though it was distracting to try to read the upgrade for sale while fighting at the same time. I definitely don't like the Less Bullets one. Also I seemed to reach a point where most enemies were dead and I was godlike.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

Colors are painful... so painful. Gameplay's solid, collision's a bit wonky but serviceable. AI could use some work, but I like the concept, and what you have works well enough.

Would love to see this in multiplayer, has a sort of agar.io vibe going. Great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09am

"Flash Sales" on upgrades are ingenious. Great idea.

Color cycling is a little nauseating, I suppose it helps a plain square feel less plain though.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45am

I are winner. Fun to play when you stop having a seizure. Though if there was music or sound, I couldn't hear it...

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45am

Colors are a bit too much :) rest is cool. upgrade system is definitely something different. nice work.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Felt a bit slow, but I got hang of the game pretty quickly. Shame there is no audio.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I like this very much. It's a great game to spend a bit of time with. I do however think the gain health on shot upgrade is way too strong, once I got a few of those I couldn't really die anymore unless I stopped playing. It would maybe be better if it was gain health on hit.
Also the startscreen is a bit of a mess. It was very difficult to read the instructions while so much was going on.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Nice Game thanks for showing maybe you try my game too.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Nice game concept, very fun, the colors were a bit intense and bright. Some audio would've been really good too, but I won't be picky :)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I like the use of colors, some flash lights are a bit to much, but its not a bad things. Looking forward to see more!)

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I started running low on enemies around level 75. Do you decrease the spawn rate of them? I wanted to melt some faces with my upgrades that I had! Overall though, fun game! Neat use of a random upgrade system.

Namek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Damn, my eyes. I liked it! Liked the idea of instant upgrade.

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Awesome game! Love the take on the theme and the shop upgrades were really fun! I felt that it got too easy after a while but it was still very fun to play.

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice game but with audio it would have been much better.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

The minimalistic graphic is really nice but maybe a bit to much contrast =D

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I am winner! This was truly the most bullet-hellish bullet-hell game I've ever seen. By the time I got to level 90, pretty much the entire screen was white with my bullets. With that said, the game could probably be a little harder, or at least have different difficulty levels for more experienced gamers. This would make an awesome MMO game! I like the UI, and I especially like the added twist of upgrades being available for only a few seconds. Chaotic and simply fun!

Miko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Absolutely loved it. I played till I won (I didn't even know you could "win"), and thought about restarting it to replay. I hope you do something with this after LD!

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Nice start here. The bullets were near impossible to dodge though as the movement was a little slidy.

The upgrades were nice and overall a pretty sweet entry.

Good job!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

Colour seems a bit bright. But movement was smooth and collisions were good. well done.

Alarmed Dino says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

Love It!

Spyboy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51am

Very cool to play, I thought it was hard to play but it becomes funnier and funnier as time passes

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42am

Mood was great, the upgrade had a new concept and the colors were fun. Great entry. With a hotline miami music this could hit the market easily.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Pretty damn fun game! The timed shop was interesting and controls pacing well, but ultimately you'll become obscenely strong at the end!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Super Cool game. GG!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

My eyes bleed, but the upgrate mechanic is top notch! Except it would have been better to put the text closer to the center of the screen, to prevent quick back and forths of the eyes between the fast-paced, chaotic gameplay and the store.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:42pm

nice game, with some updated graphics this could be a much better experience.

Bogden says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:07am

Extremely fun! I love how ridiculous I got towards the end of the game, filling the entire screen with bullets.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:52am

That was fun! I think this game could have benefited a lot had you added an upbeat electronic soundtrack to it! The upgrading element is a nice touch.

Good job!

-LeMix

Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice shooter! I would've liked a little more UI, like being able to tell which direction you're facing, and bars for things instead of numbers. Also, some basic bfxr sounds would helped.

Zyx750 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:50pm

I think this would be better if it didn't have an end. I hope you update it with more upgrades and the option to continue :)

Zyx750 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Also health on shoot is OP.

Mar 27, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Very colorful :) I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/kf34--PMGMs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]