Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Dungeon Crawler

by danblack - Compo Entry

A first person take on the classic snake game using a retro Dungeon Master style game engine.

I tried to stick to both themes. The 2 button controls are just the arrows keys to turn left and right. Also as it's a snake like game you grow as you progress.

It's my first game using Pico-8. As you can tell I ran out of time and talent for the graphics, still placeholder graphics in the game. But it was fun to make.

Thanks for reading/playing/rating.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:57pm

I thought about the exact same idea when I was brainstorming :)
The game could use a minimap, because just randomly moving around looking for humans get a bit tedious :)

Anyways, nice job :)

danblack says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Thanks, and I agree about the mini-map. That was top of the list of things I'd have added if I had more time.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Hehe nice. I always crash on walls ;)

Natman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I love that you pulled this off on PICO-8

anael says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36am

:)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:29am

This was a really cool version of snake. I too agree about the minimap and some sounds would have helped too. You may want to opt out of the sound category. I didn't mind the placeholder graphics.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:06pm

I've always found these old 3D instant movement and rotation views to be very confusing, I immediately lose my bearings, but nice concept and cute presentation.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Simple but pleasing sound work, and I dig the mechanic mash. Fun stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]