Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eat da fish

by strong99 - Jam Entry

Eat as many fish you can, grow and eat even more fish.

Made with a team of 2 in the GameCreator and Gimp.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#542Graphics(Jam)3.41
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#684Audio(Jam)2.30
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#984Fun(Jam)2.45
#1040Innovation(Jam)1.82
#1052Overall(Jam)2.55
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

mxjones says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Cool game, the art for the player is really nice. Nice one

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25pm

It's simple but it works fine, nice job

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice and simple little game and good visuals. Well done.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I manage to eat only 12 at my best, so I didin't saw the growing part, but nice looking game. :)

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:44pm

The characters art is good and it's a fun game to play. It would be nice if it was a little easier to tell which fish you could eat though as I lost a few times just because I thought I was bigger and I wasn't.

Tacohej says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I just finished the game. Here are a few pros and cons

+ Great use of both themes
+ Graphics, especially the different stages of evolving.
+ A real ending ( or beginning maybe )
+ Difficulty ( not to hard or to simple )

- Da fish eating. The collision was kinda wierd and sound didn't always trigger. Hard to tell if a fish can be eaten or not
- Music. Short loop, crazy melody.

Overall good job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:20am

Lol, plot-twist! Really unexpected ending :)

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:27am

The graphics are perfect, but i don't understand the hitbox..
Overall, really nice game :)

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:05am

Not very clear which fishes are safe to eat and which aren't. And I was surprised to find I can eat radioactive barrels. Must do something other than what I expected (death), but never noticed it. Screenshot implies one grows/mutates, but no clue if the barrels contribute.

Hit boxes are also hard to estimate. I'm not quite sure what parts of my fish or the other fishes are part of the collision body.

And it appears that stuff happens off screen too, since I heard the *bling* noise when I was off the top of the screen avoiding a big mess of large fish.

Not actually starting the game until the player first presses up/down even while stuff animates in the background was a simple, subtle, but nice touch.

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:46am

I really like the art style for this game.

strong99 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:58am

Thank you for playing the game and the comments.

You can only eat a fish if you "hit" its head, if you go up at his tail, you're to late. Hitboxes do sometimes skip in some browsers, I'm checking on that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]