Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shot Snap

by DomNomNom - Compo Entry

Shot Snap is a game in which you gain a growing understanding of the world and how to navigate it.
It messes with perspective. A lot.
So be prepared to re-think your understanding of how to tell where things are.

Controls:
Mouse + WASD

Something I should mention that are not in the game:
Walk to experience your Shot-Snap.
Stop after walking a bit to take another Shot-Snap.
The bar at the bottom will tell you when this happens.


IF YOU ARE STUCK IN THE GAME:
------
Ok, looks like you need some help, so let's talk about how the mechanics work.
When you Shot-Snap you do the reverse of taking a snapshot - you project a 2D image onto the 3D world, similar to what a physical projector does.
You can infer the structure of the world geometry by moving slightly after projecting.
If you want to project onto more of the world, take a step back.
The world geometry does not change you are the one that is moving.
The Final Challenge can be quite confusing and you need to pay close attention to the room.
If you are still stuck in the maze by now, here is one final advice: follow the outside wall.
Hope this helps.
------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.60
#107Mood3.67
#267Fun3.45
#335Overall3.42
#364Graphics3.32
#543Audio2.50
#966Theme1.79
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

peyj says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:22pm

This is such a cool idea! I would still say, that this is a kind of loose interpretation of the theme, but I'll shut my mouth, because that doesn't matter that much.

Anyway, I really liked playing it. I also think it would have been interesting to see some different pictures, maybe some more colors. The animated texture at the end was already pretty amazing, now I can't stop imagining this in crazy psychedelic mode, or with lots of moving parts in the level.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Why do I always teleport?... I MUST know.

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

This was a really cool game, once I figured out what was going on. Great job!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Really neat concept. It certainly messed with my head and I feel like my world is spinning a little lol. That texture is perfect for this!

Verrazano says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

My brain hurts. 10/10 ign. would recommend. I managed to finish it after a while.

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

I like it

Dunno why it's in this Jam, but I like it.

...I just realized you explained everything below the game.

I think it's nicer as a puzzle game to figure out.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

This game is brilliant! Seriously, the idea of the Shot-snap is really witty! I encourage you to create some more levels. Best game I've played up to now on this LD.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

This was very innovative and some great tech application. Would love to see this fleshed out further!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice unique game, and very confusing at the start :p
Once you get the hang of it it's pretty fun!

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

@Magicolo: You don't actually teleport.
It's a bit kinda subtle to realize that only your view is changing but not your position.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:30am

Strange game. intriguing and at the same time frustrating.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice unique game which is very confusing at the start - and really frustrating sometimes. Neat ++

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Awesome concept! Even though I quickly understood the concept in general, it was annoying that the "shot snap" never occured when I wanted it too. Either it didn't come when I wanted it to, or it happened when I didn't want it to.

A suggestion: Consider a shot snap which takes a snapshot of a full 360 view somehow. It's a bit too irritating that you are blind in most directions.

Anyway, a really novel concept. Congratulations!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]