Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmic Snowball

by kernel panic - Compo Entry

UPDATE: An extra version, with added settings based on feedback has been added. The fundamental game is the same, but some minor usability tweaks (probably permitted by the rules anyway) have been implemented.

Requires WebGL support.

Some divine cosmic being was feeling bored, and decided to role a snowball down an asteroid field, but after many attempts, he/she/they/it became frustrated at how it kept getting smashed up by all the bigger asteroids before it grew any bigger. So, he/she/they/it created a final snowball, and bestowed it with sentience, so that it may navigate the asteroid planes to grow, and grow, and grow.

Yup. That's you. You're a snowball. Collect up mass from smaller asteroids to grow bigger, but avoid any reasonably big asteroids, which will smash you up if you hit them. Fear not, for your trusty snowball vision will guide you.

Oh, and by the way, there is an ending. (You grow exponentially, so a target mass of 1e50 doesn't sound too bad, does it?)

TLDR: Hit the light blue things, avoid the light red things.

Left /A = Go left
Right/D = Go right

Oh, hey, double theme! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#371Fun3.30
#524Mood2.90
#539Humor2.25
#546Theme3.65
#552Overall3.15
#557Innovation3.04
#598Graphics2.89

Comments

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:41am

OMG GJ MY FRIEND I LIKE IT <3

TheFumelgo says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:52am

Nice idea !

BlooScreen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:09am

Love it :) It's pretty hard though. Only after a few attempts did I notice the two different colors of rocks meant whether you could pick them up or not.
When I figured that out, it got a lot easier! Great fun :)

terop says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Looks nice. Just a little difficult.

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Pretty hard, takes a few atemts to get used to it to only complain I have is the layout.

unprompted says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:01pm

It helps if you sing Katamari Damacy music while playing.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Nifty little idea! I like it...

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I love it

piluve says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Cool idea, I find the game hard tho.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:33pm

nice

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice game, but the rocks that we can pick are not too "signalized", it took me a few try before realize the difference :)
But nice concept

Ovidios says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Pretty fun! The way it's embedded is really not optimal though... at 1x scaling it's just unplayable and with 3x scaling it wouldn't fit into the box thus forcing me to either go fullscreen or play it directly on the host website.
The graphics looked fine. I guess the low resolution was a stylistic choice. It didn't bother me too much anyway. One feature I'd have loved to see would be the player's rock picking up other rocks they way the player does in Katamari Damacy but I guess that would've been too much additional work. ^^

kernel panic says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I've made the scaling slightly better for embedding.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:46pm

nice holistic game, really enjoyed it. Great balancing/ progression too!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

I thought it was grate. Just wish it was a little more forgiving. Maybe like a bounce off rather then a death when you hit a rock.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Great game :), Voted Nicely

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Wow really hard.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice games, Very good concept

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice graphics, the rocks and belt-effect are awesome. Damn difficult though :)

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Once i got past the procedural generation that blocked my path the first few time I really liked it :). Well done. Fitting sound efects

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:39am

Nice, I think I've grown my rock to the size of a small planet :).

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

I love the intro text lol, I really like the game, but I would make it a bit easier to distinguish between the types, it's really hard to see as it stands

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50am

I've updated with a high contrast setting following feedback.

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08am

Ya know what is one of my biggest pleasures in playing a game? A large field of collectibles. Like a lot of rings in Sonic or a field of coins in Mario.
It's like eating an ice cream with chocolate chips, and then you get one spoon and it comes with a lot of concentrated choco chips and you munch it all at once.

Playing your game felt that good.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

A really nice take on an infinite runner, very good.

AxeTheory says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:29am

65971.346 tons!!!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Loved the feeling of collecting smaller asteroids (good sound effect). Game over immediately after a first crush is a bit punishing I think. There is a similar game here somewhere, and you would just loose mass while collide with bigger asteroids. But anyway it's a solid entry, well done!

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Yey 244.228, not that much but I was quite satisfied with that, on my first 10 attempts I made it for like two seconds :-) it was really hard but interesting and fun concept! Well done!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:49am

Surprisingly fun! play it for like 20 minutes aahaha. The major problem i found is that the difficult curve is just incorrect for me. At the beggining is so hard but then, when you absorb rocks for 20 seconds and so, the game feels much easier. Excepting that, I love it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]