Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ellivmraf

by nicso - Jam Entry

Walter is sad. Walter is hungry. Walter's family is sad. Walter's family is hungry.

Creator is happy, but Creator is so bored.

Walter likes Creator, so Walter keeps sending him vegetables to entertain Creator.

Walter's family is hungry.
Vegetables are good for strong and vigorous family.


WASD to move (or ZQSD).
E for some actions, 123 for others.
Space occasionally, but not so often, I promise.


You can tweak the mouse sensitivity with I K for vertical and J L for horizontal.
P to lock the mouse on screen.
Alt + F4 to quit.

Made with unity.

Team :

code :
Simon Anciaux : @thebmxeur -> www.sisyphe.be
Adrien Dujardin : @lolwned

Graphics and music :
Yannick Sala : @nicso -> www.nicso.fr



Walter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#225Humor(Jam)3.26
#360Graphics(Jam)3.72
#452Audio(Jam)3.14
#476Innovation(Jam)3.20
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#619Fun(Jam)3.03

Comments

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Very cool game! Love the music and graphics!

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19pm

nice graphics! Nice game

2011petia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice game !!

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Beautiful game, good concept. I think ther was some text or something just out of view for me, so it wasn't very clear what the results of my actions were.

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Linux version crashes for me.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:07pm

The graphics, models and animations are great! And the gameplay too, even if it is a little repetitive.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Nice concept... the music is really moody

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Awesome entry, cheers !

Skywilly says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Difficult to understand, but very nice execution ! :)

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Nice graphics, really neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]