Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FRUITWOLF

by Claw - Jam Entry

Fruitwolf

Arrow keys to move
Hold/Release C to pick up & throw

- Play as fruitwolf
- Grow an army of fruitfellas
- Make your way home to eat your supper

Game by
Mark Foster (@ClawhammerMark)
David Fenn (@autotwitch)
Angus Dick (@angusdick)

EDIT: Added a WebGL build via Unity - still recommend download the standalone version but the web one seems pretty stable!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#7Audio(Jam)4.45
#7Overall(Jam)4.35
#12Mood(Jam)4.40
#13Graphics(Jam)4.72
#32Fun(Jam)4.05
#57Humor(Jam)3.91
#110Innovation(Jam)3.77
#522Theme(Jam)3.67

Comments

nodens says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Loved the aesthetic! Vaguely reminiscent of Pikmen in gameplay, if Pikmen had a type of ally that farted their enemies to death. Definitely good fun.

I did run into an odd issue that forced me to hold the "E" button to prevent he screen from going dark, but I still had fun throwing a horde of colored fruit at stuff.

Sink says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

This was really nice, the art and audio were very cool and charming. I liked the gameplay but I think it got a little sloppy once there were multiple creatures involved. I found it hard to only use a certain type of creature for their respective enemies so I lost a lot of my buddies :( That's a minor complaint though, overall this was really fun and you did great work!

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

it worth playing! i really enjoyed it at all of the aspects

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

This is truly extraordinary. Really, really great work from everyone involved. I am in love with this game.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02am

Holy crap this was amazing! Visual style - amazing, gameplay - amazing, audio - amazing. I assume the code was amazing too. Rating: A for Amazing.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Brilliant game! One of the best ones I've seen in the jam!

winesays says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

This game is one of my favorites. The atmosphere is just incredible!

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04am

Very cool art, music and premise! The art reminds me of the old Mambo surf style I was obsessed with when I was younger.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Really excellent :D only bad thing was I got a few bits of glitchy behaviour, worst was being unable to throw (I released and the fruit were just dropped) at one point. It only fixed when I died.

Glint Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Wow this is Awesome the mood and atmosphere provided by the enchanting music and quirky art style is beguilingly psychedelic. It cuts into my consciousness taking me back 30 years to something like Willow the Wisp https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onqYNO9WQkU

adamgryu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Very solid all around! The ending was cute, and was unexpected though it made sense.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

A very solid game, something that could probably be released as a standalone product.

lekochen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

This is really, really good. I loved everything of the game. Well done.

Thembi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Around the time I got to the purple ones, throwing stopped working and I couldn't do anything after that. Great while it lasted, though.

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Cute! Well done!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

This game is AWESOME! I love every little details in it... the music, the graphics, the gameplay mechanics! Congratulations, guys!

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Awesome visual!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:01am

Great art style and I loved the main character! Great idea and fits the theme very well!
It even has checkpoints! Almost no game in here have this!

Great job guys!

teeth says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:03am

I loved the art!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11am

Just lovely, as you'd expect :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Really neat Pikmin-Clone, love the style and music. Ace work!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Guys, you did it again. Amazing. Frustrating at times due to the throwing bug, and not knowing which fruits are passive until you throw them, but the checkpoints mitigate that a bit.

The twist at the end is fun. Overall, fucking love it!

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I encountered a bug where throwing wouldn't work anymore.
This was a great experience. I give you 5 stars in almost every category.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Okay, the ending is hilarious, I love how it makes you feel mean and then just flips it around like "ha, whatever".

I really liked the pikmin vibe. My initial thought playing the game was that the moving speed is a bit slow. I got used to it and.. I guess maybe it might be a thing for balance that you shouldn't move too fast? But yeah.

The pink ones were occasionally frustratingly bad at their job, staying out of range of the crocodile things, which was bad since they're the only real danger in the game. Also I think the crocodiles could've done with more forecasting, sound perhaps? The two times I died it came from crocodiles I wasn't even aware of suddenly coming up beneath me, not sure the little waggly graphic is entirely sufficient.

But those are just minor things on what is overall a very solid entry. The music is fucking awesome, nice one Fenn, as well as the art, and the gameplay was interesting.

Nice one.

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Fantastic entry. Just fantastic. I enjoyed playing it very much. Music and graphics and game content working smoothly together. If there was one thing, it would be that the controls were a bit hard when carrying stuff. And possibly, the marker for picking up stuff felt a bit of a contrast style-wise compared to everything else in the game. Really great though. Fantastic work

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11pm

The first entry I'm seeing which uses the "growing" theme using quantity instead of size, which was a nice twist in my personal journey of playing some LD games! The game design works pretty well, I had a very good time playing it and would only complain a bit about the pink fruit guys not doing their job very well hehe. Graphics are interesting and give focus to the color of the fruits and enemies, which is what really matters here. Oh and the ending is great, made me chuckle :). One of the best I've played so far, good job!

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41pm

I liked the art, movement felt smooth and nice. Good job.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Awesome entry as usual from you guys. Great art, great audio, just great all round. Good stuff.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Absolutely gorgeous. Lovely mood too. Great work.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Best game I played so far in this LD. I love the graphics !

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice work! Love the art.

jaireimy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice game, really charming, awesome music :) I just don't know yet how to get the bees done ^^

jaireimy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Just found a glitch, if you go left right at the start you can go outside of the map, through the trees ;)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Great game. Unique artwork, funny sounds, and interesting gameplay. Well done.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I love all of these games were you lead armies of little minions. Great job guys!

newbeings says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:56pm

This is amazing. Awesome work!

anael says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Excellent Art!! I like the fact that the graphics use very few colors. Well played. And yummy music <3, bravo.

Gtron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Very fun, art is fantastic, and the music is very pleasant. My only regret is playing this at the end of my lunch break so I can't finish it!

It does look like there are some layering quirks where the remains of dead mushrooms are drawn overtop the player instead of under as you would expect.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:48pm

The art here is fantastic. Great stuff guys

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Amazing. I liked this incredible aesthetic which I have never seen before in a game - something strange, but a nice mood. One of the best ones I've seen in the jam. Well done ++

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Amazing art style and animations!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:26pm

One of the best games in JAM!

Bastionride says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:22pm

It's perfect.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Impressive! The graphics are really cool!

And the gameplay is complex, and well polished even for the Jam. Good job!

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16am

graphics are nice, but gameplay feels slow and throwing direction is unpredictable

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Cute and creepy game =)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Wow! Absolutely love the visual! This art style made mw fall in love! Gameplay is cool too! Only one issue is the stupidiy of minions. While you don't throw them into enemies the're no act. This is annoying because of each enemy type reqire specific fruit and you have to catch them from many you have...

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Really really nice game you made there!!! :D

Tuism says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:03am

Perfection. Congrats on getting my first and probably only 5 stars all round. Everything is fantastic, from the way the little fruit guys move around, the way they clump into colour groups when you wanna pick them up, to the way that all the guys together create beautiful chaos. The fruit behaviour during combat is amazing. Not attacking till you throw them, but chills and follows you and still attacks when things get close enough. It's so good.

The visuals are amazing, the animations are amazing. Only gripe may be that everything is too black and the green lines could have been thicker at least to give the visuals a bit more punch. But the colours are expertly used and serves prettiness as well as intuitive guide.

SO GOOD SO GOOD!

And that ending! More good!

Great music!

GREAT EVERYTHING :DDD

rubna says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:40pm

amazing ! it reminded me of pikmin a lot !

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Beautiful game! Really well done. I loved the ending.

No suggestions from me :)

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:33am

Loved the look and feel of this! Thank you for submitting it to me!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:43am

I love the mood of this game, from the art style, the little polished animations for the fruits & enemies, to the playful & really fitting soundtrack.

The gameplay works well, but it grows a bit repetitive after a while. Now I'm assuming difficulty or strategy were not the real goals of the game, which seems to focus more (and successfully!) on making us discover a little world with strange creatures.

Congratulations to all three of you!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Beautiful game!

FiSilva says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I think this was one of my favorites so far!
The art and animation were amazing, and the music is really good, did not mind listening to it through the whole game.
It freezed a bit when I was holding A LOT of fruits.
Really fun game 5*

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:08pm

You've been featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9tXmMvEBfI

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I linked the wrong episode! You are actually in this episode! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3XsMHO51iQM

ragnta says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:21pm

The atmosphere is just incredible! Nice work!

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:43pm

This game is so beautiful, in so many ways. I love the art style, love the music, and love how simple the gameplay is. I was very happy to find that you included checkpoints, I was expecting to be very sad when I did die. The ending caught me by surprise, but I quite enjoyed it.

Great job all around!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:47pm

What a good game ! Unconventional artworks, great animation, interesting gameplay... Very good job !

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:39am

Why no Linux release?

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:33am

What a wonderful game! I love it.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:01am

i love this game! overall great! keep it up

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Lots of lag when you're carrying multiple fruits at once: I had to toss piece-meal at a time. I thought the aesthetic was really nice, though a few secret passages could have "read" better. Couldn't tell if the wolf had any health bar (the fruits did have an invisible one). Check points would have been appreciated. Tossing controls, especially on deciding which type of creature to toss, could have been improved. Not a fan of the fruits following you blindly: would like more crowd-control capabilities.

Overall, had a lot of fun!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:40am

Haha what a bizarre concept, love it! Only complaint is that it starts off a bit slow, but that does stop being the case very quickly. Great work!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Absolutely loved the art style and Pikmin inspired gameplay although my only gripe is that using C to throw feels a bit awkward (well for me at least). Also that wink at the end was rather cheeky :)

Patacorow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:52pm

I cant even describe how I loved this game. The graphics and Audio are top notched. Found myself laughing, good job guys!

angusdick says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:52am

Hey guys thanks so much for all your lovely comments and amazing feedback for FRUITWOLF! This was my first LD and it's been the best thing making stuff and playing everyone's amazing games. ROLL ON LD35 <3 <3 <3

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:13am

This is one of the best entries I have played when it comes to creating a memorable mood and atmosphere. Loved the ending as well.

BloodJohn says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Elegant arcade. Perfect to play on the gamepad

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Loved the audio and the visual style was great.

FROGANUS says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Yeah, This one would def go on my top list.
Initially reminds me a little of the Mammoth Cave Painting game, 3/4 topdown, really nice illustration. I noticed quite a few penises hiding in the vegetation. very clever. cool pikminny gameplay. For the sake of the jam game it finishes nicely, its balanced enough, but if you wanted to flesh it out more, i'd also recommend some kind of better crowd control.. i notice they will separate themselves sometimes but maybe there could be a room that encourages/helps you figure out how to do that? I opted to just keep the fruits all mixed together tho. They didn't seem to really be dying much? it also lags a little once you accumulate a whole colony of them on your head lol. maybe they could be more vulnerable, especially if you throw them at the wrong type of enemy? also some kind of indicator as to the fruits health and wolfs health would be nice.
Great job! Thanks for the game. I'd like to see more.

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:15pm

The entry's strong points are certainly audiovisuals and mood. The game involved quite innovative mechanics, and having different kinds of fruits and enemies was quite interesting. I had trouble understanding the game sometimes, however; I thought the fruits were supposed to attack nearby valid targets automatically, and yet they need to be thrown or something. Also, when some fruit was "killed" it respawned somewhere nearby (or such an impression I got) and yet I found the number of fruits of specific type was decreasing.

Still pretty cool game, though; made it to the rather appropriate ending. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]