Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rebuild / Resist

by saint11 - Compo Entry

A simple survival/strategy game based on loosely Kingdom (http://store.steampowered.com/app/368230/)
Rebuild fallen towns while surviving the hordes of ghosts.

I used Löve for the game engine, BFXr for sound, Abundant Music for music (http://www.abundant-music.com/) and Aseprite for pixel art. I wish I had more time so I could compose the music, well, next time :)

If you are on OSX or Linux you can download Löve at https://love2d.org/ and play the .love file


KNOWN BUGS:
- Game gets really fast on some computers, apparently Löve does not cap the FPS on some pcs. Still trying to fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.75
Overall4.41
#9Mood4.36
#15Fun4.14
#21Theme4.43
#28Audio4.02
#102Innovation3.84
#2311Coolness14%

Comments

luizgama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57am

Really nice entry. I like very much that the actual 2 buttons are just for walking and action is automatic. Nice graphics and difficulty curve =]

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Really good, great use of graphics and a simple control scheme. Loved the twist to the tower defese/RTS genre. Music is OK, but I guess that with all the other qualities, this is not even an issue.

Question: which Love version are you using, latest and greatest? I couldn't get the version shipped with my Linux Mint to work with it. Though the Windoes binary worked without a hitch on Wine.

Crowno says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

It's really nice to see how the themes were implemented and how well the idea works, specially the level of strategy that can be achieved only by walking left or right. Pretty solid game, good job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40am

I really love how much you put in with just the two arrow keys. It's like a spin on a tower defense system! You really worked with the buttons that you had. :)

The overall atmosphere, art and music were really nice. Awesome job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39am

So very enjoyable! I really wanted to keep playing if only there were more levels..

bakudas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51am

Damn it! Pretty awesome idea and really cool execution

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

This was top notch. I wish the game wasn't limited by the two keys, but this was a great looking game that could do with some more levels. Really great job!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

So pretty. Lots of character in the animations and graphics. His jaunty running animation's my favorite. It was fun to see what things arose as you kept building.

The music supported the mood, though I would have preferred a sparer score with more ambiance -- minor gripe! Good job on this!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

Sweet! Great concept well executed. Well done.

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59am

The graphics were slick! I loved the ambience they gave.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I think I found a little bug... when upgrading the campfire to 24+ it briefly went to the giant building, then back to the 23.9 stage, but then I couldn't repair it anymore...

Other than that really nice entry.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Excellent game! Really, nothing bad to say about it. :)

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Seems too easy but otherwise good! Liked the controls and of course graphics!
P.S. I recommend Bosca Ceoil by Terry Cavanagh for fast music composing (it's REALLY easy to start using)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Nice little game! Reminds of Kingdom somehow, but having to build all the stuff by yourself makes the game actually more challenging than it appeared for the first couple of levels. Graphics are awesome, which comes as no surprise ;)

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Mito Genio!

Softsound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really great game, it's pretty amazing how just two buttons gives you so much choice.

cilerba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:36am

Everything felt really cohesive! Everything fit together really nicely, and while the first few stages were pretty simple, the last level was a toughie! Still haven't beaten it. Overall a really solid game; had a lot of fun playing it. :)

ajopart says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34am

Amazing work ! Congratulations

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50pm

I had a good time here! Really good fun!

tanis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:05pm

I totally dug the title! :D

elliottd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Wow, great entry. nice way to incorporate the narrative in single lines across levels. I like that the controls are so simple, you are basically picking where to stand, but it's still very engaging. great work

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Congratulations Saint!

As aways you're surprising everyone with your talent!

I can see this game in the top 3 of the competition!

Hail Brazilian game developers!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:34am

Amazing!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:57am

The art is really nice! and I love the control system :D

Gornova says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:56am

Great entry for LD, I feel if you have worked more on mechanics could be top one entry, I mean mabye adding some more content, enemies and so on.. but it's only 48 hours!

Miltage says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:03pm

This is a great entry. I love fortress building games. Although it was often a better strategy to just rush build the beacon instead of trying to maintain some kind of town, especially on the last level.

mar3k says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Top notch game! I totally loved it, was really fun to play and the graphics were really good as well. Maybe 1 little thing that I didn't really like was the difficulty, it was way too easy (but maybe got harder, dunno, I accidentally pressed ESC :( But might give it 1 more try later)!

hexagore says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:58pm

I've been playing Kingdom recently so obviously I recognised this, but this is definitely its own thing. I couldn't get past the level where you only had a church, no towers, which was sad.. but I enjoyed what I played. The art's really effective too.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Excellent game. I love that each level has to be played differently since there is different buildings !

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Interesting game, simple but challenging. I loved your art style for the game, it works very well for a tower defence game like this. I really enjoyed the industry level in particular - using the factories like a wall bought me enough time to complete it after a few attempts. The last level was a little easy to cheese though; by running to the right as soon as you spawn you can farm 25 logs and have enough time (and hearts) to build up the beacon alone. Still, I really enjoyed your entry. Well done! :)

caryoscelus says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Really enjoyable game, but there's balance problem: the most effective strategy is to chop lots of wood and put them all into beacon building, sacrificing a bit of health if needed.

z3 says ...
Jan 8, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Nice game. I enjoyed I wasn´t expecting to be like that, and the level design and difficult was great and simple! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]