Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

test

by ddr2 - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#106Innovation(Jam)3.79
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#500Overall(Jam)3.34
#532Fun(Jam)3.14
#783Graphics(Jam)2.89

Comments

Xitavos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

This is really fun! And hard haha

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

How it's remind me of "The Game of Life" but with an iteraction with a player and that's really a good idea ;) GG

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

fun game :) and very interesting, haven't tried it with a friend yet

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I find this game interesting, but the input lag before a tile is destroyed really makes it feel random.

purrpurr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Not since cookie clicker has my left mouse button (and index finger really) suffered so dearly! Strongly have to disagree with the, "...not extremely fun" bit. This is the coolest thing I've seen so far.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

qkerguelen@ yep, you have the same vibes of tiles transforming adjacent tiles than in Conway's Game of Life. Actually making the growth "game of life"-like (with some tiles despawning) could definitely be interesting to try, thanks for the idea, I will add it to my todo of stuff to try ;)

TerraCottaFrog@: yeah, I feel your pain dude :/ I would have loved to have time to do some client interpolation and lag compensation but I really struggled on time with that one (I maybe should have left the multiplayer part out, it's really not a great idea in a time-constrained jam). Anyway, I may have a try on it in a future version.

all@: thanks a lot for the feedback :)

CartoonJenn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Very cool gameplay!

Zathnic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Omg, this is awesome!! The simplicity and the possibility for sublte player interactions... it kinda reminds me of Agar.io despite having completely different gameplay. Once I played it normally once I decided to try something different. This is what I managed to draw before someone came along destroying my work xD
http://i.imgur.com/dSOIsSV.png
(I wanted to make an impossible triangle)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25am

Great Concept but the game is hard, at least when you play without a mouse!
After 3 defeats i was able to trap the green dots, but I didn't win, I still have to absolute destroy the virus to win!
Great job in this game! It's very well programmed!

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Zathnic@: hehe, I was lurking while you were drawing that, it was quite beautiful to watch ;)

Galvesmash@: so you don't wanna try the hardcore version ;) ? Anyway, I'm adding to my todo a way for the player to tweak a bit the difficulty (or even do some automatic difficulty tweaking, I've been dying to have the possibility to play with those kind of algorithms)

murlsousa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Good game, i would put the score bigger.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00pm

A solid entry. Some delayed controls made it feel really weird, but the Game of Life vibe was cool.

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

It's nice almost infinite clicker game
But lack of visual feedback and some delay in click gives it feeling of randomness.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Oh I just realised why everyone is seeing so much delay (silly me). Most of you guys must be out of Europe, which means you're literally crossing oceans before the tiles gets removed. Some client interpolation and regionalised servers would definitely solve it, adding to the todolist of items if I pursue this further.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41pm

It was intense and shockingly fun, but man do I have a headache right now. I beat it several times. I thought they were different levels. :')

FireSlash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:12am

This was more frustrating than fun. There isn't good mouse feedback, and I needed to read the description to understand why barriers couldn't be placed sometimes (Better feedback indicating it was intentionally failing would have helped, the score blink isn't too obvious)

The auto-scroll also made it sometimes difficult to click on tiles or place barriers near the beginning.

Overall interesting idea, but all I got out of it was a wrist cramp.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:19am

Best Ludum Dare MMO I've played yet :)

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:47am

I liked it. Finished the game alone (I think) and it wasn't too hard.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Cool idea!
(but my right index does not thank you for this torture sequence :p )
gj!

Wumbo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:33pm

kinda fun, but it would have been way more so if I had someone to play with. My wrist kinda hurts, now from clicking so much, though...

Cool game. I agree that multiplayer was probably not a great idea for an LD game. You first of all need multiple people playing at the same time, which is never easy, you have a ton of internet issues to work out, and there are always problems. If you would like to try my entry (multiplayer) here it is:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=37149
You do need someone else to play with, though...

g12345 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:40am

This was very fun to play if you use an autoclicker. :)

And yes, I wouldn't make an multiplayer game for LD too, so it's an achievement on its own.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:20am

Great game! Kinda wonder about the difficulty for one player - fortunately I had friends and a stream to call upon. Really interesting idea!

acotis says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:15am

*breathes hard* This is a stressful game. I like it :)

Blobo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Really cool! i like the neat mechanic. it was pretty difficult though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]