Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Trace Race

by Oye Beto - Compo Entry

Try it on easy or beat the real challenge on hard.
You can also relax drawing with the trace on "Free move" mode.

Instructions:
Rotate with left and right arrows or A and D.
Backspace goes to main menu.
Esc closes the application.

Notes:
If you see a blank screen, wait for it to load.
If you play the embeded version, put it on fullscreen.


Please leave a comment. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#352Fun3.32
#591Theme3.59
#766Graphics2.50
#800Overall2.82
#823Mood2.27
#895Innovation2.23
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

xylr says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:56pm

(SPOILER) You can finish the race by quickly turning around ;)

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09am

xylr: you are right! I didn't notice xD
I'll have to leave it like this for the jam but the next iteration will have it fixed.

Thanks for your feedback :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01am

First playthrough: let's put it on easy to see what this is about... Meh simple enough, let's start again in Hard... OMG this is crazy why can't I do this!?!?! I finally got it after 20 mins of gameplay!! It was either that or going crazy lol!! Great job, simple and very addictive! :) Missing music and good sound. Simple graphics were really cool though maybe some particle effects could have given a nice effect. Great job! :)

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:15am

Nice! That would be super fun on mobile

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

Simplistic! I think it needs something more special, like sound or something to race. Good work.

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:18am

nice mini game! it will be awesome to also include audio effect. it is actually super fun to play with

mr. a says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:20am

When I first saw this, I was expecting maybe a minute or two of familiar and easy play, so I was amused and only slightly optimistic about "hard" mode.

Twenty-odd minutes later, and I have a much greater appreciation for the value of level design & controls. It's just one level, but it ramps up the difficulty well, with nicely-interspersed breaks, and is small enough that it keeps looking conquerable after killing you thirty times in a row. The delay after death is just long enough to do a quick mental reset and not a moment longer. The trails & screen shake are nice touches, too.

Excellent job squeezing so much out of such minimal and familiar-seeming content.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:40am

Good job. Like @karlipoppins said, played easy to see what it was like, then struggled on hard. The corners are just the right size.

Freestyle mode was fun, drew a few different things :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Nice! A timer with leaderboard could be a great addition.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Simple but fun. Just disable camera shake afer fail - in hard you fail to much to wait each time.

Also trying to draw Olympics logo in free mode could be game on it's own.

kabel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Cool! Just cool!

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:03am

Pretty clear and appropriately challenging on the faster speed. I could tell immediately that my must-beat compulsion was kicking in against my will. Normally I avoid games that produce that experience because life is already full of enough frustration as it is, but I know that plenty of other gamers enjoy that experience, so I'm taking it as a positive sign. :-)

I was left wondering how the game would feel with a bit more physics instead of a constant-rate turn and constant speed with no inertia or sliding. Maybe not better, but the curiosity did cross my mind, for what it's worth.

Powerups or non-lethal obstructions (mud pits, for example) could help liven up the courses.

It was only upon reflection that I realized that the route trace is actually kinda cool. I wonder if there are ways to draw the player's attention to it once winning (or even after losing). Obviously outside the scope of a jam, but it'd be the perfect sort of thing for a leaderboard. Let people compare their trace against the best scores.

Or maybe color code the trace after a race according to various factors (distance from wall, distance from top player's route, distance from pre-computed optimal route), using something easy to visualize, like the standard green->yellow->orange->red to signify good/bad (or something more colorblind-friendly).

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:31am

Nice gameplay!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:39pm

The hard course was pretty challenging(managed to beat it after 5 tries and that was before I found out about the turnaround bug) but this was a rather fun entry plus the free mode feels like some sort of Etch-a-Sketch.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]