Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Volve

by sudorossy - Jam Entry

Volve. A zen eat-em-up.

Different powerups give you different abilites, some make you stronger, some make you faster, all of them make you bigger!

Get the highest score you can without being eaten.


Left+Right arrows to move
M to mute
Escape to quit

It's a little buggy, I couldn't solve an issue where the Camera jitters on some hardware, it seems to happen less on desktop builds than WebGL so if you get it bad go for the desktop version.

Mac+Linux builds coming soon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Audio(Jam)3.41
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#717Graphics(Jam)3.05
#828Humor(Jam)1.88
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#948Overall(Jam)2.77
#950Innovation(Jam)2.36
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35am

Music was very relaxing, liked the idea that eating different creatures improved different abilities. Performance wise, the game was a little jittery running on Firefox. Other than that, very nice game! :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:43am

This was definitely a good fit for the themes. I thought the music was a perfect fit as well, especially with the background (which did flicker occasionally, but it wasn't a big deal.) I also noticed that the screen seemed to "flicker" every once in a while, not sure what would cause that -- this was the web version. Anyway, great job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:49am

Too confused visualization.
Spore-like gameplay, but it's realy about 'Growing'

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:07am

NIce interpretation of the theme. But you need to spend some tile polishing gameplay and visuals. Not sure if it was just my browers, but the camera was jittering constantly and it took me out of the experience. also the movement speed and turning speed are very slow. Im sure you were going for relaxing, but it just became frustrating.

You have a good base here, just need to spend some time on your polish and re look at you background to make your character and food/enemies stand out and i believe you will have something good here. Keep up the hard work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:19am

Very nice atmosphere, although the visual and movements are a bit weird. The idea totally fits the theme, but controls are very slow at the beginning (I guess this is intended as we are suppose to grow and have better capabilities on the long run). And after a few minutes of play, it seems the character was so big that he stayed vertically and I couldn't rotate anymore (maybe due to the physics collision with rocks?). Anyways, very zen indeed :)

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:12am

Great graphics for well known game. The gameplay is rather slow in the beginning but it gets better.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:53am

I liked the music! It contributed to create a relaxing mood. I could not see what was going on at first, the changes in the background where a bit confusing. Nice game play though. Nice work! Congrats.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:43pm

The jitteriness of the camera makes it pretty hard to play but I like the concept a lot.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great graphics!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice background effects that go well with the music.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Cool. Definitely <| (thumbs up)! Very, very zen game.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Cool music. Camera was a bit stuttery - not sure if it was framerate or something else.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]