Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growth Industries

by quill18 - Compo Entry

GROWTH INDUSTRIES
-- "Bigger is Better"

Inspired by tile-building board games like Suburbia, this game of mega-corp machinations has you slavishly working to satisfy company shareholders. Business style, bottom-lines, and ethics are unimportant to these jackals -- all they want to see is their portfolio swell with inflated stock prices!

---

Made in 48-hours from the Ludum Dare Compo by Martin "quill18" Glaude
Livestreamed start-to-finish in front of an audience of thousands.

Tools:
Unity 5.3
Photoshop
Audacity
Bosca Ceoil
Sublime Text 3
Evernote
Fonts:
- Segoe UI Black and Segoe UI Symbol (for extended Unicode Glyphs)
- Industrial Gothic Single Std Regular

Special thanks to Essentia, Eva, and Briarstone for beta testing -- as well as everyone out in Twitch-land for supporting me and my streaming!

---

Known Issues: The UI works at all resolutions, but only when windowed. Unity 5.3 goes funny at full-screen and so is not recommended.

---

DIRECTIONS
(Note: There is a full tutorial in game.)

Select a hex tile from the row at the bottom of your screen, then click one of the highlighted areas to place it.

Your ultimate goal is to grow your Stock Price as much as possible. You can do this with cards that provide direct growth (▲▼) -- but also by having a large amount of cash, which provides dividends to shareholders.

Note that hex tiles have a base type (manufacturing, marketing, sales, and administration) indicated by their colour and icon. Additionally, many tiles also have a keyword (like "Offshore") that may give bonuses to adjacent cards.

---

Questions?
quill18@quill18.com
http://twitter.com/quill18
http://youtube.com/quill18creates -- Unity Programming Tutorials
http://youtube.com/quill18 -- Let's Plays!


---

UPDATES
2015-12-18: Unity 5.3.1 fixed the bug that was causing bad UI scaling in full-screen mode on Windows. New Windows build uploaded, with full-screen option (ALT-ENTER) enabled.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Overall4.17
#40Fun3.94
#103Innovation3.83
#130Mood3.58
#168Humor3.16
#228Theme4.02
#261Graphics3.53
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Xanderzoo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33am

Nice job on the game. I enjoyed watching your livestream.

qua11q7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35am

I watched most of your livestream and i would love to watch it all but timezone diffrence is huge. This is one of the most addictive games i have ever played. This game really deserves to be a full game. I recommend everybody to play this game.

Martins74 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36am

Really adicting and funny game. I loved watching the livestream.

Knackles says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37am

Hi quill im watching you stream right now just wanted to say hi

GalacticGlum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38am

Awesome stream, great job :)

dtroyt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:40am

Watched the stream and honestly, this game is pretty fantastic for being made in 48 hours. The game has a lot of replay value, strategy, and decent interface. Great job Quill!

NurikSakura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:44am

Well done, good sir! Pretty nice game. As always, enjoyed watching the stream and all the fun of the creation process! Hope your game gets all attention it deserves.

puls100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:56am

Great game. Simple and fun with some replay potential!

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15am

For 48 hours this game really has a lot of depth and polish. It is simple, fun and addictive. Quill is an amazing guy and watching him code this game was a great way to spend my weekend. Great Job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28am

I had an absolute blast watching your live stream. It's a really nice game that could be potentially sold as is!

cableguyp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:34am

Super fun game! I enjoyed watching you on stream!

DevoiderXXX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38am

Spectacular game, nice and simple, well built, nice UI, could use some more content but that is expected with how much time you had!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42am

Love the game! Very Fun! My best rank is SS.

Soupie45 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51am

Great Game!

neogoo123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08am

Great job Quill! Loving that 'qwat' sound thing you have for tile placement xD

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:12am

Really like the game. This is very much my type of game!

Huginn18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice Job.
In my opinion this is your best LD entry.

NobleRambler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Would love to see this someday on Steam Greenlight or in the Android App Store. Strategic and re-playable. Great game for a 48 hr project!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

You've outdone yourself with this one. Please put this on IOS! I wanna play this on the bus.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

Great game as expected :D

SuperDolfy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

I love the game but I am just so confused about all the different bonus's and colors of the cards.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

Very cool result! With a bit of tweaking, I could easily see this as a fun full game.
I didn't watch much of this weekends livestream (I get distracted too easily) but I wanted to say thanks for encouraging people to take part last weekend. I was going to skip it, but I'm glad I didn't!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Pretty neat game! it's cool to see something as polished as this. Nicely done :)

UnraveledMnd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

Quite a fun game! The livestream was great too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

Sweet game man. I don't get the little square icon in the middle, is that 1 million or something?

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09am

I was watching your stream while working on my own game, great stream and very fun game! I think the only problem is the tiles are too random so I failed in the beginning and I have to use bail out. However, it was a very fun experience overall. Like the others said, mobile version please! :)

TreePunchers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17am

Enjoyed checking up on this while I was making my game - the end result of yours is quite enjoyable and very polished.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

A lot of interesting cards. Focus on strategy is great. Definitely will come back play more times.

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:14am

Wonderful! I listened to your steam as background music/a distraction and I knew before I played the game that it would be addicting. Wonderfully made, deserves to be at the very top!

Gunn3rboi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48am

good strategy game, im not the best at these type of games so i didn't do to well but still fun.

ilovecomix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

Awesome game, this should be in the top 20, if not in the top 5

TheGrandhill says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

Why no audio category? Music is catchy and feelgood!

roninfight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:36pm

The music is really annoying. Thank's Quill there is an option to disable it.

Otherwise, very addictive game and solid mechanics. Some images are blury, that's a tiny "-". And the sounds/music are clearly letting the game down.

Solid game, will play again!

ItsFrank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Really clean interface and compelling game congrats!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Loved the stream, helped me work on my own game. And love the game, simple and fun.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Well done Quill, I enjoyed watching you make this while making my own entry. Great game, you should keep working on it and release it.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:04pm

I got B grade. No worries. Still a fun game. A bit ambitious for compo. Also enjoyed the stream.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Great submission, Quill! Really enjoyed this one, has a lot of depth and was an overall enjoyable experience!

The graphics were very coordinated, felt a lot like a proper board game.

Thanks for a great experience :)

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Love this game! Tidy it up a bit and you have a game to sell sir. For the record, I got Grade S. Is that good or bad? https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-ffmjRLPVRET1N2R3RNQ2pJWGs/view?usp=sharing

ZONC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Great game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Awesome game! Loved the idea! Couldn't figure out the adjacent symbols though, would've liked them to be a tad clearer / larger! Good luck!

maartene says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Amazing that you were able to create this in under 48 hours! This is a complete game, great polish, lots of depth. An inspiration to us all.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Great game quill

sharp911 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I really am enjoying your game making tutorials and therefor always check your LD games. Thank for doing a great job.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Absolutely brilliant job. You rock.

chrras says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Fantastic game - best game you've made so far. The other were definitely good, especially Drill18, but this is simply better :)

aKiss4Luck says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Just one more try; I'll get more money this time. KK, One more try: better stock prices this time. No, I surely have time for one more game? I want to pay out better dividends too! I finally got an A grade. Now, gotta find out if I can do it again. Then I'll get breakfast. :D

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Good game, I like how you can see how well you have done at the end.

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

nice game..
also fun to watch you stream your fight with Unity :)

Rubeste231 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Great game Quill18 :D

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I liked the sound effects, and it was a brilliant idea, well executed!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Great Game I want it on my phone

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Great Game! Lots of fun.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Great fun. Nice entry. And thank you for livestream.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Great entry ! Typically the kind of game I would play for ever, and ever, and ever...

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Very well done. I enjoyed this game quite a bit. The UI could use some cleanup but I understand the time limitation and that you probably didn't have time for that. Very much worth a play. I'd love to see this for android.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

After the second try, the game feels more and more controlable. I like the card games idea and balancing... cool game!

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

fun game, i wish i was able to catch more of the live stream but i was busy most of the weekend.

AlexLamarche says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Truly a masterpiece. I hope this gets number 1!

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

A great game, even if you compare it against non-LD games. Really enjoyed this.

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Very nice, probably the most polished game I've seen you do for Ludum Dare.

smealum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

had a hard time playing this because of my high DPI screen and the fact that text did not scale up. would be great if that could be fixed !

Rscar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10am

I liked it! And watching you make it! I felt like I didn't really have a reference point for what's a "good" score as I was playing, so I wasn't entirely sure what I was working towards. But I can appreciate the fact that this makes it very replayable. And the execution of your concept was spectacular, feels very polished.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23am

Hey, the game is okay; I didn't understand how to play so I spammed stuff and got a b+. Runs very nice though. Well done

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44am

Great game ! Amazing in 48 hours

FlatPivot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00am

It's really good

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54am

Solid entry and well polished. Can't say I fully understood all the strategy but that was my fault :) Satisfying to place cards, see things grow and happen. Played 3-4 games and 450m was my best valuation.

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30am

Excellent game, one of the best I've seen so far. Simple but deep game play that rewards you for thinking ahead and setting up synergistic combinations of tiles. The game itself also feels well made and is enjoyable to play. Great work!

NuvlearGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51am

Nice game. I liked the music. I would definitely but this game if it was worked on more

alek345 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

I really enjoyed the game. Seems really balanced and planned out. This should really be worked on further. Good job!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Possibly the best game of LD so far when it comes to actually wanting to go back and have just... one... more... game...

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I just got 3.367 and rank S. I think I won. In the end, I had 5 hostile takeovers and got about 24 extra months. I think additional months are a bit overpowered (and hostile takeovers too).

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Cool game !

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Great job on this game, it was a lot of fun to watch the livestream whilst developing my game. The music was too repetitive in my opinion, but the concept and all the small details was awesome.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really great and innovative concept! Well polish and lots of features :o I was a little lost but there's a good potential here! GG

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

The viral video spreading was super cool and great replayability overall, nice work!

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

cool game however it gets quite repetitive and lacks some more gameplay.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Watched you stream most of it, great job on the game turned out great :)

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:55am

very polished for the 48 hrs

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

Nice game, but text on unplaced tiles was very hard to read. i got a B+

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58am

Good game I just think there should have been a tutorial level?

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:26am

Another LD and another great game by you. I watched the stream from time to time to see how you were doing while I was working on my own game. You've created so many great games that you need to work on post compo and release on Steam or itch.io. You are a very talented programmer and game developer. I wish I was half as good as you are! Congrats on another well done LD.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08am

awesome strategy game, fun and creative, feels very professional, well done

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06am

Very addicting, though viral vids seem a bit OP.

Garris says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:27am

I really enjoyed this. You put together a really solid system of mechanics that makes a fun and challenging experience. The only critiques I have are that I found the music just a touch repetitive, and I had an instance or two of a tile placing when I scrolled the map. I can't consistently reproduce that one though, so I wouldn't count it. Also it seemed like all your sound effects were vocal, and I thought that was a cool touch.

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Nice game!
The viral video was fun ;)

Dakota3117 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:47pm

great game, just found out theres an "S" rank. thought A+ was the highest but i guess not! Is there a rank higher than "S"? i got 2910 for final stock, and can't see getting much higher

Tragon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Very nice game. There should be a dwarf mine though ;)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Very nice and fresh idea. I like games like this one. Good entry. :)

alkemann says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:20pm

great mechanics!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:50am

It's a good game. I'm a huge fan of tycoons (it's my favorite genre, actually) and I think this one could be really good, but I don't like the fact that it's too short. Maybe it could be short, but let me keep playing. Maybe make it easier to lose. I didn't find it actually challenging.

I'm giving it 4/5 though, because I really liked the concept.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

When I recognized the number on the right side represented increase in stock price, I felt focused on the simulation. If you continue to develop this, at first, I wasn't sure which cards I could select or not, and I couldn't read the text for "Chemical" type or other types.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Nice job on the game. It looks great, but it's not really my type of game.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:17am

Nice game quill i like it :D

Anti says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:01pm

One of the better games I have played during a Ludum Dare. Really nice job once again quill!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:03am

C+, suits me to a T. Very interesting concept, and it was quite fun as well. I do enjoy board games, and it really feels like one.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:28pm

This would make a pretty fun board game. I got an A for my final grade.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Really like this game, played it several times, but just can't get better than a B+. I like the fact how you have to balance short-term goals (monthly income) with long-term goals (stock-price). The music got a tad repetitive tho. And some of the text on cards is unreadably tiny if you're not in fullscreen.

FixDisk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:29am

Can you put this on Adroid ? That be great.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You were featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9tXmMvEBfI

Yazara says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:23am

Awesome game, Quill. I've downloaded the android version and played it a lot, so here are some things I would work on if you continue the project (which you absolutely should).
- Finance Dept. is way overpowered.
- There should be a less random way to gain extra months, since they are the strongest addition you can buy.
- Maybe an option to pay money to get a new set of cards would decrease the randomness.
- Zoom on android doesn't really work, otherwise this would be a great mobile game.
- You should prevent having two of the same cards to chose from.
I'm curious how high you will score and how the future of your game will look like :)

Sachmystorker says ...
Jan 24, 2016 @ 3:03pm

If you add a bit more more to it I think it would be one of my faveourite games. It is a bit short but the consept is alwesome

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]