Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Enlarge your Shifumi

by Lythom - Jam Entry

Rock, Paper, Scissors.
Grow your armee of them.
And defeat the dungeon boss !

What door will you choose ?

By Lythom, LesLemmings, Red, and Ender241

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Graphics(Jam)3.94
#328Innovation(Jam)3.39
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#593Fun(Jam)3.06
#890Theme(Jam)3.12
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really neat idea. With a little more user feedback for when things happen and general HUD information this could be really slick. Only problem I had is that I was constantly mousing over my stuff to check levels.

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I really loved the graphics. Would need more explanations in game.

Esjaji says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Not often I play through an LD game several times over! It's actually quite a fun concept. Took a little getting grips with, but it's certainly got an addictive streak to it! The visuals are also rather charming! Good work!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

That was really cool! Took me a few plays to finally win, once I could recognize which icons in the tree meant recruitable guys I was able to plan a path through.

Could do with a little more feedback on one or two things - I could usually tell roughly how well was going to do (power in rock vs the power stat of a scissors opponent etc) but couldn't really work out how many guys I would lose as a result! At least some indication of how bad a loss will be would be nice.

I liked the use of the two-button theme to choose a route through the forking path! And the art has a neat style to it, kinda reminds me of some illustration I remember of Alice in Wonderland.

Overall, among the best games I've played this LD.

bob_fish says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Kind of confused but looks very nice and with a bit of work this could be really nice!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:02pm

It's a bit of a weird game, but I liked the originality!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Great game, I found myself getting stuck to it!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I liked this one. The graphics were cool. I am not sure I ever really picked up on *exactly* what I needed to do, but I did manage to get to the general concept. Sound was repetitive while not being annoying

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Great artwork. A cool idea that fits the theme well. It took me a while to work out the gameplay, but it was fun enough to play again once I got it. Good job!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Handdrawn illustrations are always a good thing, right? :) Love the work done with the art and style of the RPS characters.

The game feels a bit confusing at first, but after you get how the map works, it's quite a fun game! :D The concept behind it all is pretty interesting! :)

I still don't get much of how battles and balance in power work, though. :/

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:07pm

This seems very interesting, but I have no idea how to play. I was trying to understand the math behind it but with no success. Explanation is needed. But I see great potential in this. Never saw something like that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]