Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed Me

by snowshovelboy - Compo Entry

A Two button game where you are a plant. Eat as much meat as you can. If a bug touches your stem, you lose.

A = Grow Left
D = Grow Right
A + D = Reverse Grow

I only tested the WebGL version in firefox

Engine: Unity
Audio: Audacity
Art: Paint.NET

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#33Theme4.38
#36Humor3.88
#57Fun3.88
#112Audio3.60
#246Mood3.33
#259Innovation3.52
#263Overall3.52
#526Graphics3.00

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Fun game and well made too. I liked the idea, and the difficulty was just about right I think.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

Nice job having three controls with two buttons ^.^
Not to mention (except that I'm about to) you managed to fit both themes!
Very well done!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

Very fun controls/gameplay. The sounds are... creative! Graphics are good. If this were an app, I'd buy it.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

That music cracked me up XD Doo be doo waaaah, shoop be doo...

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

Good game!

But really soon, it turns into a "just hold A+D, and watch the amusing bug traffic jam" game.

emmes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Pretty fun :-)
Unfortunately, you can score arbitrary points if you just keep pressing A+D, and let the bugs fly into your mouth ;-)

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Awesome soundtrack and clever control mechanics!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Du bi du wash tip ti du, dup dup dupi shup ti dup, dup da ba da tira shup ti dup. Its very fun to play.

Bugs collide with each other which makes them stay on screen and I had too much bugs on screen so it just stopped working. Also because of it, bugs go underneath the pot, and can eat you but you can't eat them.
So you can say the game is "BUGGING"... tu dum tss

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Really funny ;) The music fits perfect.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06am

Very funny, I was impressed with the algorithm used to draw the plant as it grows.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Silly music, and interesting gameplay. Not bad!

Teren says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Gets a bit hard later on :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Hey, you had a pretty similar idea to mine. I liked the grow reversing mechanic, it adds a bit of twist to the gameplay. I found the game a bit too hard though. Also, you should totally win in audio. :)

ohmmus says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Lots of fun! If you can find a way to get around the "hold A+D" exploit, you'd have a really solid game. It's really close though. If you can find some time afterwards, see if you can fix that exploit! Great work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:07am

Super neat. Loved the retractable snake idea. Controls were great, felt just right.

BeardyBard says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:23am

Hey!! Nice music. I like this.

blzkz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:00am

Fun music 0_0

bessdlan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:03am

nice concept and..."music" :p

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:34am

Great fun - easy to get going. Crazy number of bugs at the end!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]