Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Scroll Bars

by Scipio Xaos - Jam Entry

SCROLL BARS
-----
A very simple arcade game. You have two buttons: Grow and Shrink. Do your best to survive, collect checkpoints, coins, and battle items in... LOCAL MULTIPLAYER. You can see the controls in game at the Configure menu. Additionally, a description of the game can be found in the About menu.

-----

Sorry for the ugly swing menu... didn't have time to beautify it before deadline. :P

-----
CLARIFICATION: There is a single player AND a multiplayer mode. The MP Battle game mode is ONLY available in multiplayer and is the only mode with battle items (obviously :P ).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#541Overall(Jam)3.30
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

Extremely hard and emasculating

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cool

acotis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Laggy control ruined it, but I like the idea and especially the multiplayer.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09pm

i dont know if it was me, but the controls are taking like 0.5s to execute.

but the ide,a actually its the first time i see something like this!
you dont need complex graphics to do this, and it make looks even simpler!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I really liked the split screen action. Good job!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Laggy controls? Odd. If anyone would care to give some more feedback about those laggy controls I could maybe look into it. Maybe a short video of the laggy controls in action?

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Interesting game! It gets pretty unreasonably hard after speeding up, I found myself just staying at the smallest size and flicking out to get stuff that was near me. But that was still a satisfying mechanic.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:52pm

The game is really hard! I love that! Haha. It is a cool concept.
There were some bugs, the only way I found to restart the game was by closing it an re opening it every time.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:46pm

matiasbontempo: press ESCAPE to end game... sorry if that wasn't clear, everyone.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Game with an interesting concept, the gameplay is too slow, it's not really fun. (I guess it's more fun with other players).

Masuno says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

And it looked so simple, too.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:35am

Simple and hardcore game, nice one :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

The menu is very in depth with options and various difficulties. The game is also fairly difficult since the growth of the bar is in segments. Manages to fit both themes without feeling restricted by them.

Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Java somehow makes my MacBook want to fly, spinning all fans at max. And the game still seems to run a bit slow.
Anyway, the game is hard!
Will try the local multiplayer when I get to the office ;)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:13am

This is a cool little game. I'm afraid it's a little hard because the controls are a little clunky for some reason - probably the "lag" that other people were mentioning.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]