Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cityblock

by Ellian - Jam Entry

Cityblock is a small 2 button puzzle game about growing a city!

Just move your city left and right to build new blocks.
There are three building types: Residential, Industrial, Commercial. Make sure to match adjacent buildings to maximize your points!

Don't leave any empty space... and start building your city!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#79Theme(Jam)4.24
#160Graphics(Jam)4.12
#279Audio(Jam)3.44
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21

Comments

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19am

Nice game, i didn't catch all the mechanics but it was interesting. The art is nice, but the music seemed a bit sad for a colorful game like that. Miss a little help at the beginning.

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

i like this puzzle game. but over the time it seems a bit too fast.
i still would like to see a smoother scroll transition ;D but i can play even without that after practicing
thanks

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

A solid entry, good representation of both themes.

While watching your progress on twitter I thought it would work better with some kind of rising skyscraper city. And earthquakes slowly destroy it if you miss blocks.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57am

so i really had no idea what i was doing - it was kinda like tetris but with city pieces - nice

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice! Feedbacks could be a little clearer, maybe more slow paced. I had to play 2 or 3 rounds until I figured out what was happening, but I eventually got the hang of it. My top is 4380. I can see this on mobile too, maybe sliding the city sideways instead of tapping left or right. Very nice game :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Nice game! My only complain is that after a while the pace seems too fast, but was fun to play. My high score is 6030 :D

cacciatc says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:21am

If only I could rotate the buildings before placement! Well done.

cilerba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

You should expand on this. Its fun! It could be more fun! 12/10 great job!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:45am

Hm, interesting concept, but a bit confusing.
Wasn't entirely sure how the lives system works; do you lose lives for empty spaces? If so, that seems a bit out of the player's control, since the shapes are random and there's no "gravity".
It also felt like there was a lot of wasted space, the playable screen could easily have been taller, and the horizontal loop-around is just disorienting.
It is an interesting concept though, good work!

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Nicely made game, though I got confused at the very beginning; I guess it would have helped if the line evaluation didn't happen in the middle, with the bottom row displayed twice, but instead the bottom row itself would get the attention. That, I think, would make things easier to understand.

Putting that aside, the game was pretty nice, if maybe not the most original around here. Either way, good job. ^^

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Interesting concept. Could have used a "what's coming next" display, and was a little confusing at first. Good sound & music.

YinYin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:17am

Why don't green areas count for anything as well ...?

Also being able to scroll wrap around was a bit confusing - could I actually move the area getting judged that way?

I think I might've much preferred aiming for a mixed city including green patches (would require different kind of blocks being dealt).

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:19am

Really cool idea, really cool execution!
I got the idea at the second time playing, and it was really cool to try to improve the score!
The graphics are totally awesome, like all of your arts!

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:24am

This one was really well done (rhymes!)

mf1214 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:30am

I really like the concept and gameplay, although I got confused at times.

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:36am

Love the art and audio, they really make me want to spend more time on the game, a little bit confusing at start, the gameplay is finaly quite addictive, colorful and solid entry nice job :)

mr. a says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:03am

Alas! No Mac build. Would've liked to play this!

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:16am

Cool concept! It was a bit hard to tell what was going on at first, but still fun. It seemed like if I left spaces, they wouldn't hurt me until significantly later? I guess having to plan way ahead is a good metaphor for city planning :P My high score was 4350. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]