Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Elevation

by Finn Stokes - Jam Entry

Navigate robots though a complicated factory by controlling all of elevators within the building.

The aim is to get all of the robots from their spawn point (the narrow beam) to the exit (the wide beam).

Controls:
---------
Move elevators: Up and Down keys
Reset level: Hold both Up and Down for 1 second

Credits:
--------
Sophie Hollitt: Graphics, Programming, Level Design
Finn Stokes: Programming, Game Design, Level Design
Jaime von Schwarzburg: Level Design

How to run:
-----------
To run on Windows, simply extract the archive and run main.exe. There should be no external requirements.

To run on Linux / OS/X, you will need the following:
- Python 2.X (https://www.python.org/)
- PyGame (https://www.pygame.org/)
- PyTMX (https://github.com/bitcraft/PyTMX)

Then extract the archive and simply execute 'run.sh' or run 'src/main.py' with python2 from the main directory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#74Fun(Jam)3.86
#79Innovation(Jam)3.86
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#767Graphics(Jam)2.95
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Great fun, just enough challenge and plenty of levels :)
I had to install pytmx on Linux to play the game.

intXparts says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Nice job on the game, it has a good feel to it! I really enjoyed the transfer of the elevator's momentum to give the robot a little hop at the end.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:39am

Oh, I also forgot to mentuon that I really like the level design. Especially how you introduce players to new mechanics progressively. We have a lot to learn from this as our games always end up too hard ;)

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:36am

Good game! I like the puzzles. Challenging but beatable, after you figure it out. Nice work!

Budi says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

This game is pretty awesome - I really like the level design and level progression! Really great concept. :-)

Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Repetitive.

-Alex

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:14am

Fantastic! Love the concept and the execution. The elevator physics can be a bit wonky - it might be better for them to stop and reverse if they'd get stuck on a robot, rather than just letting it break through - but other than that this is outstanding. Looking forward to playing through more of it.

Finn Stokes says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I'm glad the work we put into getting the level progression right paid off.

mahalis: That is a good suggestion, and it should be relatively easy to implement in a post-ld build. We already detect that situation, but currently disable collisions with moving elevators under those conditions. Reversing the direction of the elevator is a much better idea.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:19am

Really cool puzzle game, really one of the best i've seen this LD, congratulations!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Good work, this was fun.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:58pm

nice game

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Maybe repetitive, yes, but interesting playability. Well done!

astrophics says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Really cool concept! I had lots of fun with it, but got stuck on level 6. Graet job!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Strange entry. Initially I wasn't hooked on the visuals (sometimes they looked a bit confusing), it seemed to have a few boring moments, having to wait for the robot to slowly follow its path to a platform, and specially the lack of audio also put me down.

But the gameplay and puzzles got me hooked and I had to clear all 10 levels! In the end, that's what I want in a game.

Btw, level 10 could use a "restart" key, for when you screw up and realize your robot's going to die.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]