Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jetpack Every Day

by Dietrich Epp - Jam Entry

Two buttons: "jetpack" and "fire". That's all you need.

The background shader in WebGL may be a bit challenging if you have an older computer.

Written in JavaScript + WebGL, with help from p2.js, lodash, gl-matrix, and bezier-easing. Currently tested and known to work on Chrome, Firefox, and Safari.

v1.0.1: Fix compatibility with Safari.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#310Fun(Jam)3.42
#566Theme(Jam)3.62
#651Humor(Jam)2.40
#739Overall(Jam)3.08
#806Graphics(Jam)2.85
#844Innovation(Jam)2.62
#856Mood(Jam)2.67

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Pretty fun!
Jetpack in the title and it being a 2D side scroller had me expecting something like Jetpack Joyride, and to your credit it really isn't.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:29am

Really neat game. The bouncing geometry gave it a fluid feeling unlike a lot of other runners where stuff just disappears.

Although I didn't really notice a marked increase in difficulty I was up to a good 100,000 points and full shield and powerups all over, so I could probably play forever.

rujo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:58am

the game is challenging to play and has a particular original style for a shoot em up
are the levels random generated? if so, very cool!

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:21am

Fun entry! The shifting background is a nice touch, the level design and enemies are awesome. Sound would make this game. Nice job!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:25am

Cool game, fun and dynamic. Style jetpack joyride liked, good job.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:00am

Nice concept and good visuals. It would be great to have some sound effects though.

YinYin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

That was neat.
Too bad it had not sound.

Would have been a lot more fun if power ups stacked, like getting a triple rapid fire homing missile.

Also I would have preferred the standard shot to be perfectly straight instead of having such a large stray.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Would prefer to play this two-handed, but otherwise a fun side scroller. I loved the power ups.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I really liked getting different powerups. The homing missles were my favorite, the starter gun seemed unhelpful. Some basic bfxr sounds would bring it to life better.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Physics on enemies was neat. This was much much easier than I was initially expecting from the first minute or so due to plentiful powerful powerups. I had a good time though. =)

pkenney says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

There was a fun core here but I felt the lack of sound effects and a visible jetpack. I enjoyed the crazy background and the icon-style graphics, though. Nice touch clearly showing when I got hit, and the skull is a cool tradeoff.

SamH says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:19am

This is incredibly hard. But it gets addictive after some time. I wish the weapon was a bit more powerful, or had more spread…

Zener says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:28am

Simple and fun, I like it. The background plasma like effect is very cool

Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Fun shooter! It did run very slowly on my machine though which mars my experience. Must be the backgrounds. I like the randomly generated level. I think a different die animation for the enemies would make killing them more satisfying.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:04am

A bit easy but it's a very interesting take on a side scrolling shooter.

juaxix says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Good job with the movements!, controls are hard though.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Final score: 81,925.

This game is FUN. Needs audio and fleshing out, but boy what a blast to play.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:53am

Score: 55,025 (can definitely do better, though)

I love the power-ups and the game play, but it feels kind of empty without sound. Oh, wait! Just run this in another tab... =)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tz244AY1K4&list=PLirSddeMOYZ4Y4DPSDke8FfhviQta_VED

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very fun but it's hard to play in the first time. Great idea for using theme two buttons ;). Nice work

psychonull says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:43pm

the difficulty curve is great and the powerups add a lot of value to the game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]