Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Amoebas

by sanojian - Compo Entry

Life for your average Space Amoeba is pretty simple. Grow bigger than your opponents and eat them. Watch out for planets. Their gravity will pull you in and squash you.

Multiplayer HTML5 game. It is not recommended to select an overseas server so if the available servers are too laggy or too far away, host your own from a webpage!

Mobile friendly. Should work on anything with a browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Graphics3.81
#177Humor3.13
#307Mood3.23
#501Fun3.13
#510Overall3.20
#541Theme3.66
#885Innovation2.28
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53am

Agar.io spotted, but nice replay then ;)

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55am

It is NOT Agar.io! Okay it is...

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05am

Nice, clean art. Had some really interesting moments with another player connected to the same server. It was sometimes frustrating to control, b/c it wasn't always obvious which forces were pulling on you at a particular time.
I keep thinking it would be interesting to do a multiplayer game for a game jam. Maybe I'll also give it a shot some time.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:06am

Cool concept. It controls a bit difficult through.

psypol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

im was really confused on how to control things :-(
only after a moment i understood that you actually eating those little white things (i tought they are stars in the background ^^)

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09am

Hilarious good fun on an old concept. Multiplayer just makes it better!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43am

Agario much :P.
For some reason I really like the way the legs transition around you body tho :)

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42am

Very nice art and atmosphere, it probably could use some AI for when no one else is playing. But congrats on an online game in 48 hours!

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Impressive concept, but I found the controls a bit difficult.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

The artwork is very nice, I like your creative use of just circles to make whole character. But. It is basically a copy of agario with a twist. Not a lot of innovation here.

It is very bold move to make an online game though, but it seems you managed the network stuff quite well. It actually works, which I can imagine how difficult was.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Hi. nice game, to bad that I could not find another server for a multiplayer session. Bit the game lookin nice, it fits the theme... Controls are very hard to handle, I crushed into planets very often :D

lolgamer65 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

The game was ok, but it felt like you were copying agar.io a bit too much.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55am

I personally know how hard multiplayer is, im not very good at it. It is so amazing everything you have got done in the time. You should be very proud of yourself

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02am

hmm Control feels a bit too few, which resulted in a few times seeing in "slowmotion" that I'm gonna die, because I knew I couldn't change it's trajectory hard enough to survive the planet.
Sadly I was alone on the server, so can't tell how it plays with others.
I like the babyface on that amoeba I played :D wished it would have grown more teeth though XD
Some Sounds would have been nice :o

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

Just read your post on LD main page, and yes : it's an agar.io type of game ! But I agree with you, nobody complained about Sonic being a copy of Mario, Heroes of the Storm being another LoL, and so on. I love how clean the game looks, and to me, it is a very nice entry in the LD ! GG !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

It would've been better if the stage looped. It's pretty frustrating to keep smashing into invisible walls. Other than that, I enjoyed my time.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12am

Good adaption of an existing game, fun graphics :)

B0pt1K says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19am

I enjoyed playing this game, it was difficult to control to begin with, but after a while I managed to understand how the sort of "drifting" worked, and I really liked it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Controls were difficult. I liked the graphics, but I wasn't sure whether the other circles with eyes were other players, or just an NPC.

If someone hasn't played Agar.io I feel like they'd be lost and not know what to do. Instructions or an intro area might be useful.

Thank you for sharing your game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Even thou this looks to be based in Agar.io, I recognize all the effort put into this. I wish there were a "technical" category, that would be 5 stars for you.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06am

Artstyle is cool! Not completely sold on the Agar stuff though..

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:20pm

It looks very nice! I am only able to move very slowly though, so didn't manage to experience it properly.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]