Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Circle Strafe

by yokcos700 - Compo Entry

Slide side-to-side on an increasingly wide ride.
Also, don't get hit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Fun3.73
#125Theme4.14
#202Graphics3.68
#218Overall3.59
#426Innovation3.23
#571Audio2.43
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

Far out!

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

I love Bullet Hell :)

Xgor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Really cool game. It's very visually appealing and fun. Could work well for a mobile game. The way that the audio becomes more intense with more bullets is really cool but it's kinda hampered due to how repetitive the sound is

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:50pm

So unreal, so beautiful!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

nice "avoid all things" variation!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Game looked really appealing, but I didn't like the music as much.

Dodging things is fun.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

There was a real lack of variety in terms of the actual projectiles, and the texture for them made it really hard to concentrate. also the sound was pretty jarring. visually, it looked cool though.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Very Interesting! Music is annoying.. lol. An 8-bit chilling music fits this game better.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Intense! This thing punches you straight in the face and doesn't relent.

There are a number of strong game design and aesthetic choices here. I love the lack of any instructions, I love the instant restart with zero user action, I love that your previous score is durably shown large for you to see even while playing the next time.

My top score was 28.93 seconds.

This is a very tight package and I approve! If I could change anything it would be to apply a ramp-up to the responsiveness of the movement keys. The speed is correct but it feels like it instantly starts at max speed, so the controls are twitchy, and unfortunately this was a primary aspect of the challenge.

The game wants to be more smooth, I think. If the speed of the movement ramped from 10% to Max over the course of 200ms or so I think it would take the edge off the jerkiness of tiny taps and help.

Awesome entry, though. The graphics and sound really added to the feel.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40am

Very nice feelings in this game, everything fit perfectly, smooth :3

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

I like danmaku games so I really enjoyed this. My main issue is the sound, as I already said. I will be looking at the source code for this, there might be a lot of stuff to learn for me!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03am

Nice looking, great interpretation of the theme. The sound starts off with a cool Defender'esk goodness, but then spiraled into a bit of chaos.

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:23pm

The graphics are nice! Perhaps the audio could have benefited from being more than a beat, but good detail was put into how it interacts with the game.

pkenney says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:44am

Played again - a bit over 34 seconds!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:42am

nice game

timeshapers says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:11pm

This game makes it feel like my computer is going to have a seizure. First it loads full screen, then it changes to portrait mode where i can see the sides of my screen. Weird stuff.
Anyway, I found the gameplay interesting and fun.

candlesan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:24am

Great little attention to details!

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:39am

This game is brutally hard, but very fun and has a lovely art style. The audio sounded a bit off at times however, especially when lots of bullets were being fired at once.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Really nicely, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]