Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MK-F417XX3

by GFM - Compo Entry

Important note
-------------------

This game is intended to be played with two player using a single controller (or
keyboard), as silly as that sounds.


About
----------

Alien menace has been growing, quite literally. Now they are planning to use
gigantic aliens on their attacks.

It' up to Earth's two best mecha pilots to face it. Call a friend,
synchronize your movements and move toward victory!

Also, be sure the listen to what the commander has to say, in case things go
wrong.


Running
------------

If the provided binaries doesn't work for you, please leave a message on the
comments bellow. If you would like to compile it from source, refer to the
README on the repository.


Instructions
-----------------

'F', 'Left shoulder button' - Move left leg
'J', 'Right shoulder button' - Move right leg
'F12' - Go fullscreen
'ESC' - Exit


Note about music
---------------------

I ran into a bug which forced me to remove the song from the game. However, you
can find a binary to play the song in the folder 'song'. Just double click
'run.bat' (on Windows).


Note for Linux users
-------------------------

This game depends on SDL2. Check if it's available through your package manager.
On Ubuntu, it can be installed through:

$ sudo apt-get install libsdl2-2.0.0


Tools used
---------------

Language: C
Libraries:
* SDL2 - "low level stuff", window creation, input event handling, texture rendering, audio output etc
* GFrame - Game Framework, assets loading, physics, sprite rendering, input abstraction etc
* c_synth - Song rendering (although it didn't work within the framework)
Graphics: Gimp
Text editor: Vim
Map editor: Tiled
Sound effects: Bfxr
Timelapse: Chronolapse (will be uploaded tomorrow, 2015/12/17, probably...)

Note 1: Since the music is a MML song, it was written in a text editor and rendered with c_synth.
Note 2: Both GFraMe and c_synth were written by me. :) (sorry, couldn't waste the chance to brag about it... XD)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Theme4.17
#140Innovation3.75
#191Fun3.58
#206Humor3.00
#255Overall3.54
#339Audio2.95
#357Graphics3.33
#359Mood3.14
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Didn't have a second person to try this with yet, but as an odd control scheme, it does alright! It's a shame there isn't more to do, but what's there is definitely solid!

Also, I found you can make the mech do a chaming little dance by shifting between the feet quickly!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Wow, very solid entry! Love the small file-size, the minimalist but fitting graphics and that the sound effects are synced up the music apparently? Loved it!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24am

This is a good one, a different take on the two-player coop. I liked the graphics and animations, and the mecha kinematics was good as well. Not to mention the most important part: there's a Linux binary,from a cross compile Makefile. Very nice! I gotta say, I'm stealing your Makefile (was too lazy to come up with one on my own) for my next Ludum Dare. Greetings from a fellow Linux game developer :).

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:52am

I liked it, the graphics are nice, animation too. This is a small polished experience. Good job!

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Yeah I made it until the end! Nice game. The style was perfect and the take on the theme as well. Liked it. Only the jumping part got me confused sometimes. Other than that, great job!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

I liked the game and even if I played it alone controls worked perfectly fine. Nicely done!

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:06am

Surprisingly, this plays really fun even in single player

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Fun little co-op.

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I really like the idea to control the legs of the robot separately. The walking seems quite good on flat ground and small steps. One time I got stuck for a short time on a bigger step. Sadly there isn't much to do in the game, but the it's fun to control the robot in this way.

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I love the two feet mechanic! Walking in perfect rhythm never felt so satisfying. Jumping seemed a bit awkward at times, but still worked well. Fun experience, well done!

Joror says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Pretty smooth experience, loved the text-jabbering, that kept it interesting. :)
More speed would have been nice, but that is part of the deal ;)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:28pm

I sadly had to play this on my own but I will come back when I my a companion to play with.

My thoughts on the game where that it was actually really clever. I loved the mechanic of the walking/jumping. It made dodging the bullets/jumping the stairs and gaps rather fun. I got the little robot dude to start doing hops in the air. It was super fun to speed run actually!

I think it was lacking music however and the graphics, while simple and effective were a little dull. (Maybe some trees/little objects to stomp on would of been nice.) But I know how much little time there is, so overall it was a really nice charming game! I had a good time playing! Well done ^^

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Lovely graphics, neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]