Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rocketship Rescue

by Rose - Jam Entry

Rescue stranded alien astronauts in this two-button twist on Asteroids!

How to play:
- Use left and right arrow keys to move.
- Collect fuel
- Avoid asteroids
- Follow the indicator to find aliens to rescue!

Know issues:
- Collision with asteroids causes the ship to become slightly off-center over time.

For more games I've made, visit my website: roseabernathy.com

I did everything except audio myself, but didn't finish in time to enter the compo. Music is Akiko by Arif_Banto from freesoundtrackmusic.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Theme(Jam)4.21
#125Fun(Jam)3.72
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#191Graphics(Jam)4.05
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

nice work!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

very cute, thanks

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice entry, I would have enjoyed some inertia in the movement.

HJP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

nice mechanics, i really liked

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

good work, very funny! Will be great if you make it a bit harder:)

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44am

This game is very cute. I love the characters. Very nice job!

zzapp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

Really good job overall. Loved the graphics and the mechanics work well.

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun take on the "two button controls" theme, lovely art style.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Great game! Really like the beautiful graphics and all the cute aliens. Are they procedurally generated? I must have rescued quite a lot of them without meeting anybody twice :)

2011petia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34pm

NIce Job !!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Awesome "atmosphere" and great art.

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Cool game, I really liked the artstyle.
Nice entry :)

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34am

Nice work, the controls is really solid!

Headmade says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:27am

Cute game, I really like the portraits. But why is there so much friction in space? Also doesn't my ship get very crowded over time? Very important questions!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Really cute looking game! Others have already pointed out some problems so I won't. I must say though, at times it just felt like a dance with no real difficulty. Still, very nice!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:48am

nice polished game - a little more drift would have been good - solid game - well done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]