Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

a choice of weapon

by munchor - Compo Entry

"a choice of weapon" is a simple 2D shooter where the player can choose between using a powerful sniper or a messy machine gun. They're both useful, but in very different situations. As so, the player uses the two mouse buttons to control which weapon to fire. I decided to follow the "Two Button Controls" theme. In addition, the game features synchronisation with the music so the difficulty of the game is based on the music. I submitted it exactly 9 hours after the theme announcement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#33Audio3.96
#523Theme3.68
#545Fun3.07
#607Humor2.06
#644Mood2.74
#705Innovation2.75
#742Overall2.93
#863Graphics2.12

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Very nice :)

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Nice Music Synchronisation!

mantal says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I have a mac mouse, I cant start the game :\

johntherobot says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Cool! I'll have to bust out my mouse instead of the touchpad; only got like 30.

dtroyt says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 6:06pm

I got 76. Nice balance between simplicity and gameplay. Simple but a decent amount of polish. Good job!

OkaDoka says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Dang, only got 27. Great job!

TripleW says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Pretty cool!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:01pm

cool shooter, nice job

jakeman722 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:48am

This is pretty fun :) Good Job!

munchor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Everyone, I changed it so that you can play with Mac Mouses or touchpads now :D

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19pm

nice music!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I got 66. Mostly because I didn't adhere to your advice and went haywire with that right mouse haha. Nice music too. Well done :D

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Go Nuts !!!!!! Ooops, I ran out of ammo ! ;)

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I think that the machinegun would be much more satisfying if it had some spray, still, nice work on that music synchronisation!

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

96! Catchy tune and simple mechanics. You should head over to onehourgamejam.com and participate I think you would fit right in!

z3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

I liked the idea of the syncronization with the game play.

I think the machine gun for the amount of bullets you consume it should have more power to destroy the blocks, because either way the sniper could destroy better without consuming so much bullets.

Anyway, I think this kind of game is nice to practice to play well an fps for example, but in the beginning you get frustrated when you let the block pass away. :p

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Very well done!
The concept of choosing between sniper-shots and machine gun bullet-rain is really interesting, and despite the simple graphics it works out really well!
It would be nice of the hitboxes were a tad bigger than the boxes itself.
Love the music, well done overall!

Codexus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice music!

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nice music!

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Fun little game! I mainly ended up using the sniper most of the time though, my aim has gotten better over the years :P

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52pm

You should add some eyecandy, like explosions (maybe some gore ;P). Try to find a cooler thumbnail to ramp up the audience. Like I said before, it's a cool shooter, simple but fun. It only needs some visual upgrades. well done :)

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Yay 87! seems like I'm above average at this game :) Nice game and chill music!

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice music! :) It was fun, I had a hard time hitting the targets in the begining but when I started shoot like a crazy person it went better. Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Nice controls and a nice challenge. I like the graphics, minimalist as they are. The music is outstanding, simply a joy to listen to.

Would have been fun if there were a little more to the game (for example, some way to die other than running out of bullets).

Very impressive for such a short time period.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Enjoyable little game. And nice music.

Khallane says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Nice music, nice idea, nice little game :)

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:18pm

All in all a fun little time waster, but I think the sniper needs a drawback to make it the same level as the machine gun. Maybe some reload time?

Indiestry says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Cool little thigy, liked how much of a difference the kinds of weapons made

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Pretty good use of the theme and I really like how the music synchronisation affects the gameplay (Highest score I got was 56).

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:42pm

That was simple and cool! Really liked the simple artstyle too! Good job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Rather difficult, since some of the boxes flew in an arc that made it impossible to hit. The hitbox is a tad wonky, and the machine gun is rather uneconomical. Other than that, an interesting game.

vortex says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Great audio, and nice gameplay, but the thing I find odd about your game is the loosing condition...
I think it would have been better if you lost when too many blobs left the screen instead of running out of ammo. Because of that you can use the sniper 1000 times, which makes the machine gun pointless.

g12345 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Fun little game. Because you have 1000 bullets I've decided to use the machine gun after a while. You get less score but at least the game ends soon enough. :)

No idea how you did the music synchron but that was innovative to me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]