Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FlOBA (fixed server!!)

by RHY3756547 - Compo Entry

Welcome to the largest and most competitive scene formed by gardeners for gardeners. Welcome to the world of the FlOBA. Do you have what it takes to take out the competition and win a part of the 6 MILLION DOLLAR* prize pool???

FlOBA (Flower Online Battle Arena) is a gsport (garden sport) where the goal is to reach 8 0 0 0 MMR (manure managing reputation) and join the top tier of players (along with the 2 other people who have actually played the game).

Draft a set of abilities against your foe, each with vastly different effects and incredibly* well balanced*** interactions. Do you know what a flower truly needs?

* may not be true

================== INSTRUCTIONS ==================

You only need two buttons to play. X or RIGHT cycle abilities, while Z selects/uses them.

Pick 5 abilities from a pool of 20, and an ultimate from a pool of 4. You take turns picking, so counter picks are encouraged. Ingame, simply select abilities that you want to use, and they will be used.

The pick screen describes all abilities in full. I have also included their descriptions below for people who can't read 20 entries in 10 seconds.

================== CG MUSIC ==================

cgmusic's motto is "Can computers make music?". I think you will be able to judge for yourself after listening the the cacophony of guitar MIDI notes that it spewed out and I reluctantly rendered with an online set of """high quality instruments""" that barely made it sound any better.

Another potential button that you can use playing this game is the mute button, though this is completely optional. If you wish to keep to the theme, I suggest that you stuggle to refrain from using it.

================== STATE OF THINGS ==================

The game is obviously not complete. I mean, it's entirely playable, but there are no attack effects beyond the simple animations. I was working the first day of the compo, so I was unable to make my dreams come true. Here are things that are missing:

- sick particle effects for every ability
- real music composed by me instead of a load of transistors
- reaction faces for flowers and the sun
- ultimate global effects

================== ABILITIES ==================

Here's a full list of abilities, for those of you that like to go in prepared.

Offensive:
(PHYS) Body Slam: Slams into the enemy inflicting massive damage, but self-inflicts a 2 second stun.
(PHYS) Razor Leaf: Fires 3 leaves at the enemy, one of which disabling a random ability for 4 seconds.
(PHYS) Rocket Bud: Interruptably charges for 1+1/2s then fires a bud at the enemy, stunning for 4 seconds.

(FIRE) Flaming Oil: Small damage to start, but subsequent hits stack 0.5x more damage each time.
(FIRE) Get Mad: Makes the next physical attack used do additional fire damage of the same magnitude.
(FIRE) Flaming Spores: 3 second damage over time. Does a lot of damage overall.

(PSN) Poison Spikes: For 5 seconds, damages the enemy for each ability they use.
(PSN) Acid Rain: Damage over time that does damage proportional to the enemy's height.
(PSN) Slow Toxin: Abilities the enemy uses in the next 3s have 1.5x their normal cooldowns.
(PSN) Neurotoxin: Stunts the enemy's passive growth for 5s.

Defensive:
Sprinkler Shield: Grants the user immunity to all fire damage for 5s.
Immuno-Shield: Grants the user immunity to all poison damage for 5s.
Tough Skin: Grants the user immunity to all physical damage for 5s.

Spiked Thorns: Stuns the enemy for 3 seconds if damaged in the next .5 seconds. Tricky to use!
Reflect: Reflects all damage types for one second at 1.5x damage.
Weed Killer: The levels of industrial waste in this stuff is enough to halve any damage taken for 4 seconds!

Photosynthesis: Absorbs all fire damage as growth for 3 seconds.
Poison Absorb: Absorbs all poison damage as growth for 3 seconds.
Burst Growth: Channels a huge growth spurt for up to 3 seconds. Interrupted by hits.
Flash Freeze: Makes the user invulnerable for 2 seconds, but unable to do anything. Purges all buffs.


================== POST COMPO CHANGES ==================

Fixed burst growth's interrupted growth amount. Was getting tripled before, due to a precedence bug in the code (1/60*3 vs 1/(60*3))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#182Audio3.35
#241Graphics3.58
#266Innovation3.50
#301Theme3.94
#388Overall3.35
#586Fun3.00
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Remicy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33am

I can't play this, it shows "NETWORK ERROR:[object Event]" and "Lost connection!". I would come back again when it is fixed.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

@Remicy looks like server went down somehow, unfortunately can't deal with it for another 4 hours.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:28am

I can't play this, it's still giving the same error with the network :-(

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:52am

Can't play due to the network error. Looks promising, though.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:15am

Looks promising, please fix the server :-)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

NETWORK ERROR: [object Event] here as well. Sorry dude, you need a better server.

I could help you out as I have node running on a server I barely use - email me, zombiebovine at gmail dot com

Gornova says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

network error even for me :( add a post compo version with working networking :D

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:53am

network error, can't play %(

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Also getting: "NETWORK ERROR:[object Event]" and "Lost connection!"

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

network error :( but your graphic is good

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Guys, if there's a problem contact me on twitter! It should be back up now, I'll quickly rate some games and will make sure it's up for the full duration.

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:19pm

At first i didn't get it at all - TLDR on the instructions. But trial and error worked it out. Nice idea with some fun possibilities.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Whoops, burst growth is completely broken. a little late to notice that...

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Neat game.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Well, among the entries I played so far, this is one of the most fun to play. I love how intense the game is and how different abilities work.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:01pm

I just fixed burst growth so that it doesn't instantly end the game. Technically a typo, the problem was 1/60*3 instead of 1/(60*3).

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Pretty cool! I could see this being a neat mobile game...

flakoflak says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Fun Fun Fun.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Pro:
+ Nice graphics and cool audio
+ Fun concept and mechanics
+ Intense multiplayer
Con:
- So many abilities, hard to memorize all of them xp
- Some more buttons would be nice, though it wouldn't fit the two buttons theme

Awesome job!

jigalx says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Lovely graphics and sound!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:43pm

It's a great idea, but requires too much setup to play. There's so many abilities and constantly swapping back and forth ends up taking quite a bit of time, and it's hard to get a feel for each ability without actually playing.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Good graphics and music. Gameplay seems overly complicated and laggy or something. Its better to keep things simple, as a player I'm very confused. It would be impossible to attempt to balance this many permutations during a compo. Also for theme, it's nice that it's a 2 button game, but in this case it doesn't add anything but instead makes it much more difficult to control.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:13pm

@BunchaSapsGames you just described every game in the genre... I'm not sure how this was to be avoided.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:26pm

A curious genre mashup. Well, not a mashup-- it's just very weird seeing this hyper-competitive style of game applied to growing flowers, a normally placid activity. (I'll avoid the obvious Undertale reference.)

Charming audio-- I never would have guessed it was computer generated had you not said so in the description.

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Fun and very complex gardening moba-like (maybe we could call the genre "GrOBAs"?). It's a little confusing at first, even when you've read up on the abilities - but the variety of offensive and defensive abilities lead to a lot of diversity and replayability.

I enjoyed the cartoonish and clean graphics a lot, your vector style is executed very well and the Undertale reference was a nice touch. I'd like if the characters' expressions changed from time to time - it'd add quite a bit to the comedy factor! The way the player characters wobble and shake realt made fights feel quite dynamic, it was a nice touch.

The application to the themes was unorthodox in a very unique way - cycling through the ability draft phase was very tense due to the time limit, and actually quite exciting because of that. I know the music is computer generated, but it heavily reminded me of the Pokemon series in a way.

Great effort, keep it up! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]