Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Your Love

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - Jam Entry

Cocoa Moss proudly presents:
Grow Your Love
by DDRKirby(ISQ) and Kat Jia

A short collection of games about their growing love.

Use the left and right arrow keys to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
Audio(Jam)4.72
#13Fun(Jam)4.21
#13Overall(Jam)4.28
#26Mood(Jam)4.27
#26Theme(Jam)4.40
#75Humor(Jam)3.80
#96Graphics(Jam)4.32
#97Innovation(Jam)3.82

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

Awesome stuff as always! Cute story, and the games were all pretty fun!

If I remember right, you have put in a "input lag" setting in other games, is there going to be one in this as well? It seemed like my key presses were always being registered too late.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52am

Fun stuff, love the variety in gameplay. Amazing music as usual!

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Absolutely lovely! :D (Knew you couldn't resist sneaking a rhythm game in there :p) An impressive collection of little minigames and some very cute art and awesome music as always. Very nicely done!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Sooo cute <3

Acuity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03am

360 No Scope Kissing Simulator 10/10.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29am

Awesome as always. Top notch graphics and audio. Really fun.

BTW right after this i went and played rain and it was so beautiful.

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

I like it very much, and it reminds me of Rhythm Heaven! This game is very fun and the musics are very good too!

ruerob says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23am

Thank you! It is wonderfull! <3

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Lovely game! My kids loved all the minigames except the kissing one :-). The beep sound when score are bad is not so good.
Congrats!! Music as usual perfect.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30am

Very creative game. The variety of games is nice!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Great game, and quite funny!

CrownCity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:22pm

I found this game because I looked up winners from the previous LD. Found name at the "audio" section...
Man you guys definitely belong there(although I hope to claim that spot one day)
This game was brilliant in many ways. The exact example for what I hope to play when I play LD-games. I absolutely have no minor thing to say about this. Very well done. My love has grown <3

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:22am

Very cutesy.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Typical DDRKirby(ISQ) music. Came for the music, stayed for the game! Or should I say GAMES? Plural? You actually made seven (!!) games in the timeframe of the jam.

One of the best games so far!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Lovely! When I followed the dance moves I was impressed by the use of body language and music to indicate which direction to press, which felt much more relevant than usual rhythm repetition games. When I texted and knitted, I was really taken in by how well the buttons, animation and music told a story. I was touched! When we watched the stars at night and the musical melody matched each meteorite, I felt goose bumps. If you continue to develop this, and I sincerely hope you do, I wondered about playing some variant modes of a few games. Especially when texting. I noticed that the word I was supposed to select was already visible at the end of the line. In some advanced mode, would it be fun to not show that word and let the player assess which word would be grammatical? Anyway, this was a perfect game jam!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

By the way, at the start menu screen, it took me several attempts and reading of instructions to select. Have you considered showing instruction on screen and showing what state the buttons are currently in?

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Dancing one is the best :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I absolutely love this game. Warioware/minigame collection was a perfect genre for the theme(s), and not only is this executed fabulously, but it has way more polish than I would have expected (even in a lot of non-jam games). The art style is so awesome, I am quite envious of your colors and animation skills. On top of that the music is really excellent -- seeing that it took < 5 hours is incredible! Anyway, awesome job... and I'm currently installing Pet Furball.

GFM says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Really cute game! Audio and graphics meshed really well.

I'm kinda divided about pressing both buttons at once for selecting, since I had some trouble on the menu... But other than that, the game fits pretty well with both themes.

Awesome job!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:19pm

One of the best LD games I've played so far! Very cute and really fun to play, congrats on your game!!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:35am

Aww man, this was all kinds of adorable. Such a simple concept, but so well executed. Gorgeous art and music too, just lovely all around. Great work, full marks!

FrozenCow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:46am

Like always, awesome. Loved the music, loved the way it was incorporated and loved how original the minigames were. I still sucked at the game though :P

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Adorable and varied entry - I loved the music in particular. The game has a very nice feel to it - I can tell you've put a lot of heart and thought into it. A little bit of input lag due to flash, but this wasn't very intensive so it didn't have that much of an effect overall. Very nice work, keep it up - I enjoyed this a lot! :D

graebor says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:11pm

This is incredible! It was a lot of fun to play, and I was amazed at how many minigames you were able to get done, not to mention the menus, music, and details like the jukebox. One of my favs so far for sure, great work! :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:55pm

What a lovely/adorable game. :) Love the minigame format, but the dialogue and outcomes were pretty funny too.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:55pm

This is one of my favourite ludum dare games that i've played! I love how well everything fits together, and it's just so heartwarming i can't explain!!

Xgor says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:14pm

What a adorable game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:10am

Cool art like the dancing and the music part!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:50am

This was a rather charming entry. The minigames were all really fun to play. My only gripe is that sometimes pressing left and right together wouldn't register properly.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:07am

Adorable! One of the best entries I've played! Nice name too hehehe :P.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:21am

great use of theme! like that game! well done :)

MorganLeFay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Awesome sound!
I had trouble with the controls, though. I made only one mistake in the dance sequence and got only around 30/100?

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Nice. I had fun. I especially liked the dancing part.

hexagore says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:54pm

(played compo version)

So I found figuring out what metric each mini-game was using rather tricky. I sort of assumed they'd all have a rhythm component and got very confused... however I just love how different each mini-game is, the art involved and the general inventiveness and creativity to make each one different. The audio, as always, as I'm sure you're well aware, is super.

FuhnTymeMC says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Hello! I am so amazed at how amazing this game is. The art was cute and simple and the minigames were fun and provided clear instructions.

Here is my gameplay/review (mostly a gameplay of it) of the web version of Grow Your Love:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkDgeS705iE

Amazing work in such a limited time frame! I enjoyed my experience very much :)

FuhnTymeMC says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Also, I forgot to mention (and I'm sorry for double-posting but I can't find a way to edit my comment) that I absolutely adore the soundtrack, specifically the one used at the credits!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:51am

Colours are amazing. So much character.

Ithildin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:30am

Lovely game, and I just had to find it almost at the end of the voting time! Congratulations, it almost got a perfect 5!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]