Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SnakeRPG

by VDZ - Compo Entry

(Updated on December 19th, 2015. For judging, use the original version (first two links). For just playing for fun, the post-LD version is strongly recommended instead; it has improvements like savegames, music and much, much better balance.)


SnakeRPG is what happens when you take Snake out of its
single-screen environment and have the snake embark on an epic
journey to slay monsters. With each level up, you grow stronger,
but you also grow larger, making you more vulnerable. Reach and
defeat the slime king despite your limited movement options!


Controls:

Left/A/Num4 - Rotate left
Right/D/Num6 - Rotate right

Spacebar - Pause the game
Escape - Exit the game

Details of the gameplay are explained in the tutorial at the start of
the game.


This game is Windows-only.


This game is public domain. Feel free to do whatever you want with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Innovation4.32
#104Fun3.74
#109Theme4.17
#144Overall3.72
#585Audio2.38
#766Graphics2.50
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:49pm

This game is way too stressful for me.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Great use of the themes!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

You made Snake, but made it a lot more fun, that's a good thing! Clever usage of both themes also, congrats :)

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The best combination of Snake and an RPG I've ever played! Great idea =). I run into walls (or myself) way too often though, couldn't get very far.

Jordan Smith says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Very fun game. However, there was a bug where the enemies would walk around inside which was a bit distorting but otherwise very strong entry.

punkto says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Using the snake game is a good idea, but I can't play windows' games :(

Mantlair says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Game crashed 3 times. I am using 32 bit windows could that be the reason?

VDZ says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:37am

@Mantlair
When does it crash? If it crashes all the way at startup before you see anything, it's your video card. I always forget to implement error handling for that situation, but XNA games crash at startup if your video card doesn't meet the minimum requirements. If you're on a laptop with dual video card, try if you can run the game using the more powerful video card.

If it crashes at any other point, could you provide more information? When does it crash, and what information does it give you when it crashes? Is it the typical Windows crash message?

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Interesting concept! I like innovation of the snake-to-rpg conversion :D

I would make hitting the walls not so deadly, or make it so you do not start over again when you die that way ;)

mockthebear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Foxtacy: hahahahaha quite curious! we did a snake based game too! It's called Snakescape, check it out :)

I really enjoy your take on snake-like games. It's really fun, did you use MonoGame?

VDZ says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:38am

@mockthebear
I used XNA, the (now deprecated) Microsoft framework that MonoGame is based on (MonoGame is open-source XNA, pretty much). I should move on to MonoGame at some point, but my graphics library isn't fully compatible and so I'd need to fix it under MonoGame, something I still haven't done yet.

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Crashed when starting :( Want to try rpg mixed with snake !

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:03am

This is a great idea, you got very good ratings from me, particularly in innovation - I would like to see this concept explored a bit more, preferably in a platform which is more accessible. A simple tile based game like this could be done in js / canvas so there would be nothing for players to install.

I'm really sad to say that XNA is not the right platform for LD - the only LD game I ever submitted flopped because very few people could play it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]