Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wings of the World Tree

by hydancer - Jam Entry

Looks like your little babes need some guidance growing the World Tree once again! Help them ascend the tree's branches out into the heavens and punch the face of GOD!!!

By Tovip (art+sound, http://digigee.tumblr.com/), David "Naisorav" Varosyan (music+sounds) and adn (code, http://hydancer.tumblr.com/)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Overall(Jam)4.03
#51Theme(Jam)4.30
#84Fun(Jam)3.82
#90Mood(Jam)3.90
#170Graphics(Jam)4.09
#175Audio(Jam)3.63
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#766Humor(Jam)2.13
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

RainFrogs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Fantastic! Really loved the music and the controls were great once you got the hang of them. I would have liked to be able to use my grapple for movement without losing bats, but I suppose that's a symptom of the 2 button theme. I had a good time and enjoyed the little victory thing.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

Super fun, gets pretty challenging fast.
Graphics are cute but solid, music could have been better but isn't really out of place. Pretty good game overall.
Bonus points for using both themes.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50am

Really fun, the flying felt very good. I was a little confused about my objective for the first couple of minutes, so it could be made easier to understand your job (even a block of text as you start would have helped)

Overall once I got the hang of it, it was very fun. Good job!

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

A bit hard to get used to the controls in the beginning, but it's good once you do it!
The graphics and the audio are just amazing! :>
Good work!

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55pm

It was pretty damn fun, however my craptop ran it at about 2FPS at 28 bats. I must invest in a better machine to win this...

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Great art.
Took a while to figure out that grappling and bat-throwing was the same thing and it made the grapple function pretty much unused as I didn't want to throw away my collected bats for nothing.

ItchyGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Very nice. Loved the graphics!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The music is astonishing and the art is fantastic. A very unique take on the theme as well!

It took me a little bit of time to get the hang of it, but after a while it became very fun. :)

Very well made and polished entry, great job!

Clavus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Took some time to get used to the controls, but in the end they worked quite well. Nice take on both themes! Hoped something more spectacular would happen at the end after reading that game description, but oh well. The tree looks a lot like the Grow Home tree, I'm assuming that's not a coincidence :)

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I agree with the other comments, the controls are confusing to figure out. Once you learn the controls, it's quite a bit of fun with a nice pixel art style and calming music. Good use of both themes!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

This is amazing. The looks, sounds and game-play are all great. The way the mechanics are designed lets you improve over time. I love the character design as well as the pixel art style. I would love to see this get a longer and more worked on game.

timburbank says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:05am

The movement is fun once you get the hang of it, and the difficulty progression works really well! The whole style also just fits together perfectly

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29am

I really love the flying controls on this, I had fun just flying around. I dunno if just climbing would be the best with this movement style I would find it much more fun if there was levels you have to beat instead.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22am

nice game!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33am

Cute. I enjoyed playing this. =)

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35am

Strange but cool

felilix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35am

That is a gem! After I got into the groove it was so fun gliding around. Awesome game!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Really fun and great controls after getting used to it. Was fun trying to climb higher and higher as the tree grew. It would be cool if there were places you could visit higher up in the tree where you could upgrade your character to glide longer etc.

Great work!

Janacek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Great art ! The cool down to glide again is a bit long, I was often rolling far from the tree :o

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Awesome! Had fun playing that bigass batgirl

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:00am

It took me a while to figure out the controls and how to make the tree grow. But still, this is the best entry I played so far. Awesome

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Great work! This was a little confusing at first - I think the interaction with the ground made gliding harder - but once I got the hang of it, it felt really nice.

I really enjoyed the music. It's reminiscent of Zelda 2 :)

ekun says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I really enjoyed this! Great mood/atmosphere, I'm glad you guys didn't add a timer or other kind of pressure to the game. Very relaxing.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:52am

The art and music was very cute! I actually spent a lot of time just flying around in patterns with my huge army of bats (which in it of it self was pretty fun)

It took me a bit to figure out what to do once I stopped doing that but the flying was smooth and fun, the grappling took a bit more time to get used to but eventually I got the hang of it.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:13am

I was not able to get this game to run on linux :(

I tried 0.9.2, 0.10.x and the game via wine.

elliottd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Very fun game. I enjoyed the accomplishment scroll ending. Collecting bats was a little frustrating, I thought. a bit of a bigger collection radius would have made that feel OK I think. it would lower the challenge a bit, but I think that would be worth it. Gliding, flipping and shooting felt very good once I was competent at it. Good work

Karai17 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:12am

Unable to get the game to work due to a shader error (see my post in the LOVE forum thread)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Nice visuals and very interesting mechanics - I only wish the collision boxes for both the bats and the pink bud were just a little larger

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very nice pixel art and music. The mechanic felt difficult to grasp though, especially as the game went on.

xaedes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

that was very awesome! nice music and sound, that graphics where amazing. i grew my world tree until the end. very satisfying. even though the controls where hard to master^^

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:15am

It's was quite fun and nice. I liked seeing the bats flying behind me, and really liked how they spawned. Well done.

camlang says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Fun, simple, cute :3 I like it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]