Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Square Exit

by LeReveur - Jam Entry

At the start, I was going to take the two themes, but I finally decided to take only "two button controls".
Square Exit is just another platform puzzle as you may have seen thousands times, and with only one level, but I hope you'll enjoy trying to figure out how to reach the top-right exit from the bottom start point. It may be a little tricky at start, but the game mechanic is really simple to understand and handle. Once mastered, you can finish it in only 90s. ;)


Play :

Left : [X] or [◄]
Right : [C] or [►]

If you want to restart the level, use [Esc]


Tools :

Notepad++
Haxe
HaxePunk
GraphicsGale
Gimp
Audacity
PixiTracker
Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#111Fun(Jam)3.74
#146Innovation(Jam)3.71
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#217Overall(Jam)3.65
#486Audio(Jam)3.07
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#615Graphics(Jam)3.26
#705Humor(Jam)2.29

Comments

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

I loved the game, finished it! It was very entertaining. Great concept, and great execution as well. :) One of the most fun games I've played so far.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

Fun game to play, really cool concept

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

Tough game! Stuck to the theme well!

AuthorX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

It was fun for a while but became frustrating after getting stuck running in a loop with the last step always disappearing before I got there and having to retread everything.

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

Good game! I just stick into it and walkthrough it.
But I feel tired now...
Anyway, awesome work!

squarebridges says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

Really nice!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

I think there needs to be a little more time to get to places. It seems like you have to be instant in every action, without being allowed to make 1 wrong move or wait even a moment. Nice concept though.

guru-guru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22am

FREEDOM!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02am

Well laid out, the timing has to be perfect, but it's what lets you know you're on the right path, or the wrong path.

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Dobby is free! Clever design, it was very fun while it lasted. :)

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:04am

Pretty fun! Great job

OttersDen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

That was really cool. It's like a maze, but you can't see it all at once. Game design was strong too, you taught me how the whole game works at the beginning without telling me anything except for the controls. Awesome job!

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Wow that was frustrating. Evil punishing puzzler is evil. I saw the solution, but couldn't execute on it fast enough. Nicely put together, but very hard.

Melusine says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12am

Cool game :D

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

Hello all, thank you for the comments !
While the difficulty seems to be a problem, it may helps if I give few tips that may ease the game :
- elevators can be taken even from the middle, it's not necessary to go down and take it from the start (and you can save some precious time)
- you have not to press keys for each move, holding it down works fine (I say it, because some friends who tested it didn't understand that at first time)
- you can't move while the square is in an elevator, so you can anticipate the next move safely by holding down left/right keys
- there is no visible countdown for timed switches, but you can activate one, and stand by and count the ticks to know how many time you have
Hope this helps a little.

PS : someone who tried the game finished it without thinking, just by seeking and go to the closest switch at each step...

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:52am

Huh, good timing for switching triggers back! Attractive and interecting to play. Create fancy graphics and port to mobiles FTW! =D

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54pm

This was really fun! I think it was pretty well balanced difficulty-wise, it felt like the right level of challenge for the style and scope of the game and the responsiveness of the controls helped with that too.

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:24am

very nice! pretty good layering of puzzles. The sound effect of the box rotating was also very satisfying haha. I like how it seemed like a timing thing, but also had some order of operations too. good job!

ruerob says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15am

It was very interesting! Now I want more of this! You've done a great job!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Quite fun puzzle game and great execution.
I think the duration of each useable object should be longer.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:33pm

interesting concept ^^

pjimmy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:21am

wow, awesome! this was very nice, creative and interesting, you should make more of these puzzles, well done!

Logicon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:09am

Pretty sweet puzzle

Leuthil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:10am

Started getting frustrated but then I knew what tricks you had up your sleeve. Oh yes I- wait what? :( ... jokes aside I finished the game. Pretty neat concept and it was nicely done.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The level is nicely designed, it's clear to see you put a lot of effort into the puzzle/labyrinth. I personally like slower pace with puzzle games like this so I found this more frustrating than fun. Still, gotta give you props for the design even if it's not my piece of cake!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:05pm

What a clever and unique puzzle design!! :-)
congrats!! Very well done!!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:10am

this game made my day, really fun and challenging. One of the best I've played so far. Great Job!

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

I like how you took the one level and really added a lot of depth to it!

lawendt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:57am

Loved the sound feedbacks, it really made my blood run faster with the timing actions. Keep up with the great work!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Final sequence makes me nervous :o) well puzzle game!

Taldius says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice idea and the level design is very good.
Great job!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Great puzzle game! A bit to hard for the first level but great level design.
You could easily develop more levels and release this game on mobile! (If you do tell me =D)
Great job!

YinYin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I liked this a lot.
It got a little tedious and could use more mechanics, but just moving around already felt pretty good.

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:43am

Cool puzzle game, the times aspects are slightly annoying as you don't know how much time you have remaining

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Nice entry! Game is simple but the puzzle was well designed. Good job ;)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Good job. I wasn't going to leave without finishing! Annoying but enjoyable. Well done.

aare says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Really cool level design. I didn't make t to the end but I guess I was almost there - the lift to the exit just activated. At the beginning I was confused becouse I thought I need to press arrow at each step and thus was mostly too slow, but once I realised I can just hold the keys suddenly all the timers started to make sense.

Really cool entry!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:23am

I did it! What a cool game. I love it when the goal is so simple, get to the top! There were some really nice little puzzles in there. I enjoyed it. And now the weird square is free! :D Great job!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Really awesome game! Amazing level design, I made it to the top.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Some parts of the level were annoyingly hard to do since you need to be pretty quick but I absolutely loved the concept and you should definitely expand upon this with more levels.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really great concept! Challenging puzzles are rare in Ludum Dare. Two thumbs up.

Drury says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:20am

You went nuts with the theme, this is genius.

I beat it rather quite quickly, think 5 minutes? But I saw everything you did in the game, that was awesome. Very cool game design. Remided me of Kula World.

banana4life says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Cool idea

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:52pm

I really loved how clever this puzzle was! It's awesome how it directs you toward the solution without making it entirely obvious what to do. And I loved how you introduced the concepts.

Excellent work! ;D

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:47am

Nice!

axoona says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:59pm

very cool puzzle game, interesting concept, good ramp up in difficulty

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]