Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2 Growing Buttons ...

by psypol - Compo Entry

TWO GROWING BUTTONS (put your SCORE in Comments to help me balance it !)
[LD34 entry for 2 themes at once !]

"2GB" is An endless game. Play with mouse.
The only thing you can do is to move around the two buttons at your disposal.
Now the twist : When you move a button it shrinks down while the other grows.
TRY to survive as long as possible TELL ME YOUR SCORE IN COMMENTS THANKS

Game made by One GameDesigner who don't codes ;-)
Used PlayMaker for Unity
As game layout shows: it was planed as a touch/mobile game

SORRY ONLY WINDOWS FOR NOW!
Android coming soon i hope
my export is broken :-(



[BEST PLAYED IN 800*600 Windowed]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Theme4.23
#124Innovation3.79
#552Overall3.15
#633Fun2.95
#804Mood2.36
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:34pm

lol very interesting and nice take on the theme :) Get quite challenging but fun. well done.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Nicely made game, love the spin on the theme! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rQfOYGAIpM0

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

The slight animation on the dropping boxes was a nice visual touch. I would have liked to see more touches like that. The game works with the simple gameplay (I could see it being pretty fun on mobile) so all it needs is more feedback for this be a solid little snack of a game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

Great interpretation of the theme!

iapc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Nice little game, well done thematically. However, it could have done with some less annoying failure states. For instance, if you try to move a button offscreen, don't let the player die, stop the button at the screen edge.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

Extremely simple game but per the site notes the guy isn't a coder, but found something and gave it his all, and made a game and I don't see any / many bugs.

And it is the closest I've seen to a private joke about a program I made as a child some 28 years ago and now it reminds me of "avoiding random people here in New York City wandering around looking at their cell phones and you have to dodge them" : )

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

Ps I got to about 720 but if I worked at it I could get higher so I might post back during voting.

Tip - you can move one orb diagonally to safety then jockey the sizing back and forth and save the other one.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46am

I like how you interpreted the theme.

By the way, I got it to work on Linux with WINE.

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

Cool idea, I like having to constantly switch between the buttons to get through the course. It was a bit frustrating if one of the buttons grew past the size of the wall and I went to pick it up and got a game over instantly.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

An interesting idea, and the perfect a combination the theme =)

psypol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45am

Thanks everyone for the comments. i'll try to improve the concept during christmas holidays. nice suggestions from you guys :-)

B0pt1K says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04am

I like the interpretation of the theme, very interesting and enjoyable to play. However, there are a few annoying states to game over such as accidentally hitting the other button, or when a button moves out of the screen. But that's just a small thing - it's fun :)

TCP786 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19am

Really nice design. One of the best interpretations of the theme that I've seen.

On my best run I made it to 1290 points.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Great little game, much fun to play :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

awesome, very intelligent concept, fun and challenging, very creative! One of my favourites, well done! :)

daandruff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Really original idea. I think you should elaborate on this game!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very addictive little game and great usage of the themes. I assume you also restrained yourself when it comes to scope and actually finishing the game in time, which is also something I am jealous of.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Awesome! Loved how perfected it fits the theme, very original :)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Ok, even if there's no audio, it's 5 stars for me! Really cool concept and most importantly it really fits the theme of the jam. Well done!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Nice and funny game, I've got 300 points, it would be nicer if you had made some music for it, but meh who needs music, right?

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Good concept, well done.

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Well done (:

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very nice idea and take on the theme. A simple, yet challanging game. I like it.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Interesting mechanic and very challenging!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

An interesting concept. There is a problem, where block can repitedly go on the same line.
My score is 470.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Cool concept, love how you interpreted both themes.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

It was fun but really tricky, nice concept!

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Oh my god you got a really nice and innovative concept :D. Good job! Its funny to play It

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I liked the idea and it's a nice twist on the themes. I guess it'd be even more fun a phone with touch controls (I tried the web version, it was working fine for me). It would be much better with some nice backgrounds, more variety in the enemies and music/sound though. Oh, I got about 320 point before I gave up. :)

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Nice!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Good multitask practice. Quite hard also.

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Really cool idea, dunno what you want to do with it, but it could probably extend into something more :)

Playing it not on a touch device is silly :P

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

3890 =) Simple but brilliant idea. 5 stars innovation.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Very creative mechanics. Great game!

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09pm

PB: 1730 points
Nice concept and thsi would be a great time killer on mobile platforms. I built a strategy for this where i would make the buttons even size and on top of each other, this made the game a lot easier and most of the time i even didn't have to move the buttons.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21pm

After a few false starts I had one good run, got 520. It's a very simple and effective mechanic, good job!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

Wow , good literal use of the theme and ye it was challenging and i enjoyed playing it

Well Done!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Lovely take of the theme and worked perfectly. Challenging, I think the controls would work well with the theme. Good Luck!

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:18am

Awesome idea!

trexmix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Simple and addicting! I wish your mobile port the best!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Simple, yet effective gameplay. I think it has the potential for a nice mobile game. Nice Job.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:09am

I enjoyed it. Add some music or sound to give even more immersion!

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:38am

Cool game. Definitely something new I've never seen before. Some small fixes to make it easier on the player could be having the buttons not snap to the center point (which has caused my fair share of losses, just trying to move the button).

cescababs says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Great Game simple design but very addictive... my points were at 370

Xgor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Tried it out for mobile and while I get that this is made for it some things made me feel that the other version works better design wise. First you might want to remove the mobile interface for the mobile version.. it just looks weird. Secondly I instinctly tried to use one finger each for the buttons but that lead to them just colliding into each other. I got a feeling dragging with the mouse feels better due to there is only one you can take at a time.

psypol says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:43pm

thanks for the valuable input. Nice that you could test both to really see the difference. it's a true question i admit. was the touch version really the best one or mouse IS the true version in the end ?

about the mobile interface i could not remove it for now.
someone made the export for me, my android sdk seems broken in unity :-( but ill work on this.

ruerob says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice idea! My best score is 250 so far! It's a great twist on the theme! I'll definitely try the android version later!

psypol says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Hello to all. i finally managed to make make APK's on my own.
there is now a post jam version with minor adjustments i detail up-there in the header description
=> http://tinyurl.com/2gbld34-postLDApk

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:36pm

This game is ready! It's READY to go! Well done guys, 5/5 in everything almost!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Very very original! Could definitely see this as a mobile game. I like the innovation, very great job!

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:09am

Cool idea.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:28am

Really nice and challenging idea

Fartenko says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:31am

I really like this game! Interesting concept and idea! Good job!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:36am

That's pretty cool, well done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Simple mechanics, but good enough. Maybe another aesthetic could improve this project. Thumbs up ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]