Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Frost Eagle and Worm Big Rescue Adventure

by sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

Summary
-------
The baby Robot Frost Eagles are Naughty and keep hiding in the Earthling Mining Caves. Save the baby Robot Frost Eagles with the help of Worm. Collect Gem, Jewels. Find Ice Crystals to give Robot Frost Eagle more Energy. Eat humans for fun!

Controls
--------
A/D or Left Arrow/Right Arrow

Info
----
This game was made in under 72 hours. My kids designed the Sprites and Levels. I did the programming.

Have Fun!
Team Spocker @ http://www.sdnllc.com

Paul
Jean-Luc
Simon
Martin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#555Innovation(Jam)3.09
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#615Fun(Jam)3.04
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#761Graphics(Jam)2.99
#800Mood(Jam)2.78

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Unable to connect

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at dev1.sdngames.com.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Elenesski> Yeah - bad time for servers to go down!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Elenesski> Back in business on my backup server!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10am

Worked fine for me, awesome that you had your kids get involved, let them know they did a great job :)

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Neat game. Didn't really know what to do at first. Plus you have a couple screens (Options and stats) that don't have anything there?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39am

Logicon> wanted to add stats and options - should have removed them - thanks for playing

Aaants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Good stuff! Always nice to see a family effort :)

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Bonus points for the awesome work from your kids. That rocks!

dlowe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:50am

Hey, another member of team made-a-game-with-my-kids. High five!

This was great. The first level was easy enough to forgive me taking a couple of minutes to figure out the mechanics and goals, which I appreciate. Mechanics reminded me of the old blockade/snake games, with an original twist. After a couple of levels, I found myself increasingly irritated with the robot frost eagle's tendency to aim for all the obstacles. CAN YOU JUST STOP KILLING YOURSELF FOR 3 SECONDS WHILE I GO COLLECT A GEM?

Thanks for the game :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10am

dlowe> high fives man - lets just say that the levels were not thoroughly tested or balanced :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06am

So many bodies to eat...

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:15am

this is a game that can get quite frantic, i loved the music and the idea, i felt quite an urge to protect protect the eagle after i figured out my duty was to break the rocks and things in the path. i like that you made it with your kids :3 they did a good job and so did you.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:11am

Always love seeing Father/Mother, Son/Daughter projects. Nice work guys!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34am

That was pretty fun. Would be nice if you somehow got a hint on where the eagle was headed and what he might end up hitting, it was hard to keep up!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26pm

An interesting and fun little game with a retro feeling. I enjoyed my time with it.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I was so busy making the worm grow I forgot I also had to protect the eagle as well :'). Anyway I like the concept a lot and I love how you had your kid do the sprites as well.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:29pm

^kids

Ludic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:04am

Good game, a like the concept

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:13am

First I though ugh.. too easy, I don't even die if I run into walls. But then I noticed it's an escort mission :)

Also a nice idea to include the kids in making games!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:03am

Nice work! I like the paper cut out look of the eagle.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:56am

I like the game. It wasn't clearly evident from the first play through as to what I was supposed to be doing, but I enjoyed doing whatever it was that I was doing, if that makes any sense!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:30pm

So cute to see that you made with your family! I never saw anything like this in a jam.
The game is really nice and fun, you and your kids sure had a lot of fun making this game.
Nice job, guys!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Nice to make a game with your family :) I liked it, the controls of running the snake felt very suitable for running a big snake. Was a bit unsure about what the purpose of the game was while playing, I thought I was battling the bird. Could be interesting with some clear threat.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed it. Good job to all of you :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Nice concept (took me some time to understand it all though).
Well done overall!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

I'm glad to see more of family teams, its awesome to see you involving them in your passion!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:13am

Nice twist on the snake mechanics. I could see that gameplay being expanded with having to block attacks with your long snake body by circling the robot frost eagle for example. Loved the art!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:07am

Really cool idea - love that you had your kids involved, too.

Definitely could use some better level balance, but there's a lot of good stuff in here.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:57am

The music is very nice.

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Interesting game concept, good graphics and audio. The is fun to play, addictive and fits the themes very well. I encountered some gems outside the level, I'm not sure if that's how it's supposed to be.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:00am

I loved taking the big eagle to the baby eagles! Great Innovation skills there 5/5 on this category :)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I love that your kids helped you with this! A unique and fun take on the snake genre. A little tighter turning radius would have been nice. Great job!

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Not bad, but WHY does space key restart the game?!
Also it seemed to me that the eagle destroyed the items, and he was my enemy :D

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:43am

Nice entry! I is a nice twist on the snake game! With more balencing and additionnal levels, it could be an interesting game for a post LD! Just to let you know, I had a huge glitch in the last level: the bird went back to the starting position every time he reached half the level. I let the game running like this for 5mn and without reason, I finished the game despite the bird not being with his childs. Anyway, I had a great time, good job ;)

XenosNS says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:47pm

very interesting game. Felt like an old NES game I'd played but can't recall which.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:44am

Pretty cool concept and decent graphics. Nice job.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Mmm, tasty humans. Fun game, but a touch frustrating with the big wide turns when there are so many things that need to be done.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:42am

Neat game. Enjoyed it.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Interesting game, really nice your kids graphics. Good job guys!

Anachron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Robot Frost Eagle come back! Awesome game

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]