Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SnakeTV

by Martins - Compo Entry

You can control your green snake with WSAD keys or just watch AI snakes. While in deathmatch mode - you eat tails of other snakes.

You can reset game by pressing SELECT Button on TV set when there is "01" program selected, you can change programs with "Cycle" button. Programs include:
1 Reset game
2 change game mode: classic/deathmatch
3 change food ammount
4 change snake speed

---
*Two button controls* are TV buttons and the snakes *Growing* :)

---
Made using:
- Unity
- Visual Studio
- SketchUp

With help from:
http://www.1001freefonts.com/ (Font)
http://sfbgames.com/chiptone (Sounds)
http://www.leshylabs.com/apps/sfMaker/ (Sound)
http://www.noisetexturegenerator.com/ (Noise image)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#216Graphics3.64
#302Mood3.24
#352Overall3.39
#378Audio2.86
#405Humor2.52
#492Fun3.14
#610Theme3.57
#689Innovation2.78

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Totally love it.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:07pm

nice, cool game

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Awesome! I love the aesthetic of it.

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Love it! Really nice graphics :)

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

i loved it, keep it up.
#greensnail #masterrace

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Really cool idea and lovely execution (especially running it on a tv).

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

It's impossible to win against the ai since it doesnt crash but still pretty cool

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Relaxing :)

Martins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

@jamaster96 - is is possible to win:
in deathmatch (default) mode you can chew off tails and when only head is left (length=1) you can eat it too.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

I like snake, and I like the aesthetic here. Nicely done!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51am

just sat there and watch blue and yellow battle for 5 minutes. interesting.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Interesting idea! I was expecting a TRON lightcycle sort of thing, but the ability to nip off tails made it its own kind of beast.
There were a few instances where I saw AI pass through its own tail or seemingly leave parts of its tail behind.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:08am

Neat sound effects and visual

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:59am

really cool - loved the tv effect - well done

Frenchie says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Definitely unique! I wish the snake AI were a little better. I liked setting them to extreme and watching them go but they died too quickly :P

Other than that, maybe an auto reset mode for when all the snakes die?

candlesan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:27am

Love the TV interpretation.
Would have liked some input buffering, some of my moves seemed delayed.
Using the dials and select really felt like an old tv display! :)

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:09pm

The classic :) But it's well done and the AI snakes give the thing a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]