Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

vector escape

by minism - Jam Entry

Theme: Two-button

Well, this was my first time ever using Unity - I usually go with Love2D for game jams. It was certainly a good learning experience, though. Some things are much easier, at the expensive of other things being more cumbersome. I haven't quite decided if Unity is better or not for quick things, but I imagine with more experience it could be.

This game is short, and kind of unfinished, but it does have three distinct areas, and goes from 2D to 3D. I tried to go for a glowing 80s vector graphic style visuals, which turned out...strange. Hope you enjoy :)

CONTROLS: Move with Left/Right, or Z/X

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2311Coolness14%

Comments

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30am

wow great work! was getting bland then BAM! perspective change. You should upload more pictures so users know not to bail to early to see all of its features.

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46am

"DO A BARREL ROLL" Great game. Uses the two button concept very creatively. this takes me back to star fox. Just when I was about to get board the game changes it up! Keep flying for the super secret boss at the end ;)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11am

I could not get this game to run via wine, sorry! Make a linux version!

minism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Hey josefnpat, sorry about that, i'll upload a linux build when i get home tonight. You still using Love these days BTW?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:43am

Great level design. The 2d - 3d concept really made the game. The difficulty arc was perfect. It was never boring, and you taught me how to play at the same pace the difficulty increased

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45am

When Tempest and Star Fox love each other very much... This was pure fun. The transition into the 3D trench run style was unexpected and a super fun surprise moment. Loved the aesthetic and the game play was very well done given the constraint and this type of game. Bravo!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:23am

The graphics were super neat, and I love the various twists you made on the two button theme. Switching up the game instead of the inputs - good choice! The last level is definitely a standout high point!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:16am

this was a nice retro vector game - really well done - great job

graebor says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Pretty cool! Glad I kept playing long enough to see the level design switchup.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]