Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Synergy Shakedown

by danbolt - Compo Entry

Synergy Shakedown is an arcade-style game where you are the manager of a doomed game development team. They need to ship, and they need your encouragement!

Hold the X key to move and cycle between your developers. Double tap the X key to turn around. Rapidly tap the C key to encourage a nearby developer.

This game also supports the Xbox 360 controller on modern browsers. You just need to use the A and B buttons to play. If there is any demand in the comments I'll patch the game to support Guitar Hero controllers.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#17Humor4.00
#86Audio3.70
#110Overall3.80
#130Mood3.58
#165Graphics3.81
#216Fun3.54
#323Innovation3.40
#397Theme3.83

Comments

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:12am

What a good music! should have done something like this at my work!!! good good work dude!

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Well made game.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37am

Pretty great!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Cool idea but when it comes down to it is mostly just mashing a button. Would have liked some extra in there. Like a reason so turn around. Just going in a circle worked fine.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

I think I broke my keyboard....

Pretty nice an simple game. Nice way to get around the two button controls with the double tap, though that did mess me up a few times.

trykondev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Really fantastic audio, nice polish, I love it

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

very good.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

This game is epic! The concept is pretty awesome, and it really puts us in the shoes of video game developers. The font reminds me of the old MUDs back in the DOS days, but that's really awesome. I'm not complaining!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

Hehehe, this is exactly how it works at studios.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

The intro got a laugh out of me. Nice effort all around. Quality music!

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Love the music.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

Nice art, funny, and unique gameplay. Well done!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

I like how the games are famicom cartridges!

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31am

Awesome game! Really enjoyed this one. Loved the idea that you play as a lead and have to motivate your team :D

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41am

Usual management method would be to fire all underperformers, but not here. Nice! All managers should be obliged to play it!
I managed to squeeze 8 games from these poor people and I write this only with my left hand as the right one is currently malfunctioning because of frantic button mashing.
Intro is super-funny :D

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55am

Its cute, but lacking in depth. I love the music and the aesthetic.

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24am

Really nice game! a little weird controls before you get the hang of it! "wow" "10/10"

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Wow!! Amazing game!!
Nice work !

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44am

Felt just like a NES game. Sweet!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

I think I might have broke my keyboard :p very fun game. I love the tone and graphics

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Really liked the art and music. Fun game, I enjoyed it. Great job :)

greenscreen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Game looks great, and sound is cool, but it lacks gameplay. There's not enough variety. But the end result is pretty nice.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15pm

A very nice game. Art feels nostalgic.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Awesome graphics & music! Also a nice interpretation of game development too :)

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

so awesome

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Cute little game, Good leveraging of buzzwords.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Great audio and I liked the visuals as well. All of it was very cohesive and felt well put together.
I like all the entries that gave a single button multi-function - probably because I didn't think of it. In this case, I didn't use the change direction very often because I found it easier to just keep going in a loop, but I liked that it was there. If I had to nitpick anything, it would be the title "Synergy" as you aren't really synergizing anything.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42pm

great music, very smart mechanics and super easy to understand also very funny, AWESOME! great job =D

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

SICK

One of the fav on this LD!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Very cool!!!

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

This one put a smile on my face.

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

So cute and interesting!! I can't stop playing it!! :)

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Great idea, nice art! I enjoy very much! Love this game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Good job. Really addicting mechanic!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

This is a really fun game with good music.

I love the idea of "encouraging" your developers to create a game; it adds a lot of humor. (If only making games worked like that in the real world.)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Nice game! A bit repetitive though.
Great idea, very innovative

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Very nice entry !

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Great art, humor and sound. Rapidly repetitive gameplay.

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This game is awesome in almost every way, but unfortunately not very fun. I can't determine any strategy for it, other than going in a circle and button mashing. Yet, it's a very impressive game, it oozes polish, Well done!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Tricky to get used to the controls somewhat, but after a while I got the hang of being able to turn around and maximize my employees performance

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Really nice game here :) loved the music and i was getting really into it tapping away

Well Done!!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44am

Good little game! Mashing buttons eventually grew tiring, but I enjoyed the start, and the intro was well-made. Didn't end up switching directions too much though - only ended up doing so accidentally, making it a bit confusing if I tried to start moving soon after I'd stopped.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Your game describes our team during LD jam pretty accurate, haha.
I wish we've had this kind of manager, tho.

Hegemege says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Great, now my hand hurts from the mashing

Awesome intro! Cheering music! Freaky-colored retro graphics! Hooray for Phaser!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice one ^^" very funny and slightly painful how true it rings. The tapping to change direction was a bit confusing, I tended to just always go the same direction where possible. Still with two buttons there's only so much you can do (yeah, good use of theme too).

Well done :)

Yword says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:45am

Very interesting and fun! Well done!

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:13pm

The graphics are great - flashing and captions :) I've shipped 9 products and then my carpal tunnel went off :) Great fun for few minutes :)

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:04pm

That was funny!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Funny concept, neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/iU4q-3Z4nkI

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:21pm

At first I had 6 workers and it was stressful. Then I fired 4 and it became relaxing. The productivity didn't go down.

So, I liked graphics and sounds a lot, they fit each other well. I liked that I could see my games as they are being developed. But I didn't really like the gameplay. The two-button theme just adds more stress, not fun. And the difficulty doesn't seem to increase a lot.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Haha funny concept but I like it! Awesome music and cool sound. Very retro-y. Great game! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]