Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kingdom By The Sea

by Jesse Freeman - Jam Entry

In Kingdom By The Sea you are the ruler of a small island. It’s your job to grow that island and its people by expanding your territory, developing the land and increasing your riches.

~ How to play ~

1. You start with a house and some resources (people, gold, wood and food)

2. Click on a tile to develop it. Developing it will turn it into farms, clear the land or mines.

3. Once developed it will produce additional resources for your kingdom.

4. The game is over in 20-30 years (depending on how long you randomly live for) or when all of your people die.

5. At the end you get a score based on how good of a leader you were.

~ Upgrade key ~

- grass - > cleared land -> farm (1 food)
- forest (2 wood) -> tree (1 wood) -> stump -> grass -> cleared land -> farm (1 food)
- hill -> mine (2 gold)
- hut (1 food) -> house (1 food +1 gold) -> mansion (1 food +2 gold)-> palace (1 food +3 gold) -> castle (1 food +4 gold)

people = -1 food & 1 gold per turn
new person every 5 food surplus

Don't forget, it costs people to build farms, mines and upgrade to your castle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#411Fun(Jam)3.28
#437Innovation(Jam)3.25
#720Theme(Jam)3.44
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#780Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27am

Hi, really cool game, I like the graphics a lot. I wish the dialogs could be quickly dismissed at any time.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

Good point. I'll probably do that when I clean up the game over the next few weeks. Thanks for the feedback!

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43am

I love it! I think the procedural generation is awesome!!

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

Nice work Jesse! You were a big inspiration in getting me to participate in LD34 with your Lynda.com tutorials. Thanks for everything you do. Hope you make a tutorial in making a game like this. =)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Mike, glad you liked my Lynda courses and I was thinking of turning something like this into a book. Probably too complex for videos but I love making strategy games like this. Good luck with your own game, I'll be sure to check it out!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Hey Jesse, we met at the Berlin Talk & Play and talked about Warrior of Dragons quite a bit. You sure do like the deadly RNG don't ya? :P

First game I got two plagues in 4 turns and died after getting my first farm. In my second game I spawned with only a forest next to me, but thankfully no plagues, so I survived the 4-5 turns it takes to develop my only piece of land into a farm. I languish with one villager for a few more turns, get my second farm, then I get a plague twice in a row and it's GG.

ARGGGH!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Warboys, nice to see you again and thanks for playing. I noticed that plagues come up way too often. Also I have to tweak the way people work when building and having a surplus of food so you can grow quicker. Thanks for the feedback!

Bocodillo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08pm

A little difficult maybe but otherwise a fantastic, fun game with a great aesthetic.

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Remember me the gameboy graphics. Very cool game!

nopogo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very cool game. Really liked the art style and randomness of the events. Only thing I would add is skippable dialogue because some text keeps recurring.

remiv says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Nice game, cool graphics.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Damned be the plague!
Very cool microstrategy. Solid and cool.
Also liked random world generation :)
It's always a cool feature!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26pm

nopogo & bocodillo I have it on my list to make it a bit easier and you can skip the dialogs so that goes by faster. Thanks.

Indie L thanks for the feedback on the art. 2DHeroes did it and I just re-used it from my last LD game ;)

Karatorian says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35pm

At first it seems really hard to get anything done, especially if your population gets reduced to one by plague early on. It's a little unclear exactly how population growth works. Overall, pretty good.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

You captured the gameboy feeling very good, also with the music.
What I didn't get was how you could tell land had been developed. (I only got, that you could develop the same tile multiple times after playing once and then reading the instructions later ;) )

One game random was really mean to me, in the first 3 rounds (I think) everyone died of random events.

Overall a freh idea, good job :)

angela says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Hey, this was really fun! Has a good balance, and I like the way the maps generate procedurally. There was a good balance too - never got a map without a gold mine.
Consider adding a button to make dialog boxes disappear, and maybe adding a way for us to prevent pirates and plagues. Like, build walls or hospitals? Just suggestions - overall I really like it!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Loved the concept! Made it simple without losing difficulty, That's hard to do nowadays.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:11am

Pretty great look and sound. However, I felt like the game was a little too slowly paced, and tedious at times. Overall pretty good!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26pm

A bit on the slow side in terms of pace but I like the mechanics and loved the GameBoy style retro design.

newbeings says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Came to this through your email newsletter. Nice work!

I agree about dismissing dialogs more quickly - maybe click anywhere to dismiss. I'd also appreciate a hover state when picking tiles.

komilll says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Thanks for a great game. I think that messages should be clickable to skip them and should dissapear faster but overall that's a good job.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:51am

Cool little game! It took me a little bit to figure out what all of the variables were on the left hand side. I think maybe some pictures or a hover over tutorial would have been nice. Also there was a corner on my map that I couldn't get to at one point. :P

Nice job though! :)

FireTwin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:04am

Wow, it feels like such a polished little strategy game for Ludum Dare. Really well done! I couldn't figure out how the food and population growth tied together, but was very addictive!

Didi says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

nice jesse

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:23am

I like the concept, but the systems weren't apparent to me at all (it might be worth mentioning that i'm not much of a strategy game player). I don't really know what was producing what resources, so i didn't see any point to developing anything other than for exploration's sake, and lost interest once the island was fully revealed. Love the aesthetic though, and it's a solid entry, just didn't grab me personally.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Great effort. Lot of things to do. Almost got a C64 MULE vibe from it. Solid across the board.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]