Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Novascape

by refreshgames - Compo Entry

Novascape pits you deep inside the planet Novatron armed with your rather fuel hungry jetpack and trusty sidearm at your disposal. Can you escape the planet alive? Or will you fall foul to the planets denizens?

Instructions are within the game, just wait a few seconds on the title screen, or just try tapping the A and B buttons on your Gameboy Handheld / Emulator and try to pick up the controls.

Looking for a handy dandy Emulator to play this game on? Might I recommend to you the Rather Dazzling BGB Available Here: http://bgb.bircd.org/



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#56Graphics4.21
#58Mood3.87
#131Innovation3.76
#161Theme4.09
#206Overall3.61
#246Humor2.89
#257Fun3.47
#317Audio3.00

Comments

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Pretty fun, though it's really hard to adjust your speed to dodge some of the fireballs in time.

Graphics look great for a gb game, and the controls manage to feel completely natural. Great entry.

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

ps: Works on real hardware: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/9951154/ludum-share/File%20Dec%2013%2C%2010%2056%2009%20PM.jpeg

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Pretty good game! I really liked the art style

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

It looks awesome, but it is really hard to play. I didn't had the feeling I was in control, instead it was based on luck if I survived for more than 10 seconds.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Great! I loved it. What did you use to create a game boy game?

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Always love to seem ROM entries, and this is the most fun out of any I've played from any LD. <3

Also I found a bug that let me fly straight upwards at max speed without pressing anything by instantly pressing and releasing both A and B at the start. (Not sure about the exact input, I kinda spammed 'em. But I have been able to replicate it consistently)

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Really fun little thing, and awesome that it's a GB game too!

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Really enjoyed playing this. Well done!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Gameboy ROM, this is amazing. Very fun, very complex gameplay.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

Great game, kept me coming back for more :)

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36am

In best tradions of River Raid and Downwell - but without left-right maneuvres - and it was hard for me on easy level :)
Perhaps making shooting sound low-pitched would make me more happy - moreover i like 8bit sound schemas and i like space theme.
So, it's a taste of childhood - thanks :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

I can't even imagine making something that will run on real hardware in 48 hours - great job!

The fact that only one bullet could be on screen at once, combined with the fact that thrust and fire were on the same button, made this really challenging - at first it felt like I wasn't in control, but when it clicked I had some good fun.

ianh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

This is an impressive achievement! The controls are kinda frustrating at first, but I ended up having fun anyway.

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

dang hard as balls but pretty cool :).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Saw this on Jupi's playthrough. Really love the style. STrong entry.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53am

Fun game :D

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04pm

So cool to see that you're running a submission on real GB hardware!

Would you give any advice to aspiring Game Boy programmers?

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:29am

LMFAO a god damn gameboy game?? That was great man.. I mean it's not the best game, but the achievement is awesome. Mad props, you get bonus street cred.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Theme top! Graphic top! Sound=Gameboy! It's challenging and fun.

Love it.

You should also add an link to instantly play the game on web emulators. Here is one.

http://taisel.github.io/GameBoy-Online/

Solifuge says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Liked the simple input, though I'll second that it was Old Nintendo Hard to dodge, shoot, and control yourself. Really impressed with the technical challenge of making a Gameboy ROM for LD. Very cool that you got audio working too! Thanks for sharing this.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Wow! Great gameboy ROM! The only flaw is the difficult, and that's not exactly a flaw! The best ROM I've seen in this Jam!

5/5

drludos says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Impressive entry! It's the 3rd Gameboy game i'm playing during this LD, and I'm still impressed at the technical achievement to create such a game on GameBoy in 48h only!

The game itself is quite cool and fun to play. Easy to pick up, but very challenging. I like how your shots make you move forward, and this is the only way to move right or left. If you continue developing this game, you should increase the recoil to make it more fun/challenging for the player, because this great idea seems currently a little "less important" compared to the enemies and lava floor to avoid :)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Well done! Very easy on either mode though :>

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:54pm

I've always wanted to learn how to make a GB or NES ROM. Great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]