Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snow World

by Elisée - Jam Entry

An RPG made with Superpowers by Pixel-boy, Alexis, Romain, Bilou and Elisée.

You can play solo or with a friend!

# Controls

* Player 1: J and K
* Player 2: X and C

You can play with gamepads too (A and B on an Xbox 360 gamepad)

----

If you like the game, check out our collaborative HTML5 game maker!
http://superpowers-html5.com/
https://twitter.com/SparklinLabs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#6Overall(Jam)4.36
#22Fun(Jam)4.12
#29Graphics(Jam)4.63
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#101Mood(Jam)3.88
#146Audio(Jam)3.72

Comments

et1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Beautiful graphics, fun idea. Love the flash sales to break up the combat. Very well done.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

How is this so good?

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

The graphics for this game were nice, I also liked the battle system.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

this game was so coooool. the graphics were fantastic, best pixelart i've seen so far in this jam. and i love the timing-based rpg mechanics, not to mention the 5-second fire-sale shopkeeper. fantastic jam game.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31am

Fantastic distillation of an RPG into a two-button control scheme -- and at the same time incredibly sprawling. Great art, music, everything. Amazing!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Pretty dang good. I played it over and over again but kept dying in the second world.

I found it very hard to block the non-projectile attacks because it was hard to tell when exactly the impact happened.

Superb art and animation, really liked the music, too!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14am

Super good entry, with kick-ass pixelart, and really nice mechanics!

winesays says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31am

Wow! Simple and smart control system, great visuals and interesting playing. Great work!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05am

Excellent! A two button RPG really well made, wish you had more time to polish the art, but it's still pretty nice!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32am

Marvellous, such a great work in 3 days! Great system, graphics and music. Like andrewkennedy said, only the the non-projectile attacks are hard to read.
You deserve the 5 stars!

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Very well made entry, great concept!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Nice and solid entry. But gameover is so much punitive (;_;) Save points please !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Really slick, simple and fun. Good work all of you.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

One of the best entries so far.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Pretty fantastic game with a really cool battle system. Everything from graphics, sound, and gameplay is very well-made.

Awesome entry, good luck!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Very very very cool game. It's interesting, it looks awesome, music and sounds are veery good! Wish you a lot of luck, guys. You are awwesome!

Kushulain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Very nice game i love the art style. The gameplay is a bit addictive

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Awesome implementation of the control scheme. Very fun to play! The balance between guarding and striking never feels off, can't commend you enough on that!

Every bit of this game is good, the only thing I might want more of is life / healing items, especially for the branching paths. It makes choosing the more dangerous path worth it.

Great game!!

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Gorgeous art and well-polished game. Great work guys!

Nattack says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Very nice game. Soo fun and cool !

Boundach says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Very nice game!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Maybe because I am used to reading left-to-right, traveling in the opposite direction was disorientating haha

LeafThief says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Pretty good game and great work on the graphic side. Obviously the characters are great but I liked the background-style even more!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Nice games !
Graphics are really cool, and the use of the theme is actually fun :)

Atnas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Love the combat! So many great ideas in this little game. Good job guys.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Love the pixel art execution! Had to really work to get the timing on casting/defending.

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Why does enemy attack only when I press 'K' (block attack)?

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Wow, this is a great entry. Graphics are very polished, audio fits the game and combat gameplay, besides fitting the two-button theme, has a very classical JRPG feeling. Congrats!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Amazing. Congrats guys for this work of art

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

72 hours? Really? This is fantastic

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Very nice art style! Combat gets a little bit repetive, would be nice with more attack options.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Best entry I've seen all day, the level of polish, especially on the art and animation really sells this game. a beautiful distillation of a Rpg, really well done :D

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Nice art style, fun game, the equipment could be clearer tho.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

The artwork and animation for this game is amazing for a 72 hour run. It's a wonderful game.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30am

This one has amazing art. I love that the items you buy actually show up on the character. The mechanics were really nicely done and fun as well. Since the maps are random it has a lot of replay value. One of the greatest features is the multiplayer. It was lots of fun playing it with my girlfriend.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

I knew the art was amazing, but the quality of the game design took me by surprise. Simply put, I'd play hours of this.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48am

woahh so polished, so much fun, so many great mechanics. really good use of the 2 buttons. I really like how the energy bar worked in 2 ways for attacking and blocking. the art is super good and sound design was nice. the background loop was just a bit short. it also surprised me how much content there was, even a second world woah. maybe even more idk. I died at the 2nd, too bad I have to play the same parts again. I probably will try again tommorow, but a continue option would've been nice. apart from that, I'm impressed! so much cool stuff in so litte time

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

this is a great game. i like the use of the 2 button mouse the best.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:02am

Really great idea, it will be make a good mobile game :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Mmmmmmmm I'm really in two minds about this! Presentation is top notch, the sounds are good, great graphics and animation, but:

- Gameplay feels stunted... Feels like there's just not quite enough to keep me engaged beyond pressing block when I see stuff coming. Some attacks are hard to read, but overall there's not much in reading the enemy, which should be the case since it's a game about watching incoming attacks.

- I feel the singular use of the charge bar was a missed opportunity - maybe releasing at different lengths of it does a different attack, and maybe a heal, or something more tactical, to give me choice.

- The pickups and equipments are a nice touch, but I never know if they do anything (I'm guessing no) and thus it's just a case of pressing the button more.

Lots of great detail, but I wish all of it conspired towards a better game rather than more pixels to push!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Good game! Like the game mechanics you implemeted! It's so simple and so impressive! Reach the 3-d location and died, because I spend meny HP and money at beginning when I don't understand anything. Will try this one later =)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48pm

wow! just awesome! a great simplification of a rpg

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Looking at number of people collaborated, the amount of work is not unbelievable but you did great job creating the graphical style and combat. Also noticed there is some kind of randomization.

I think the result is expected from Sparklin Labs :)
This could become a larger game easily btw, do it!

rabbit says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:45pm

My god you guys. This is amazing! I hope you win!

(btw its me RatCasket hiiii)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Awsome!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:22am

Amazing game guys. Can't believe you did this in only three days ... Insane. Loved it.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:58am

I'm definitely coming back to play more of this later, fantastic work, and great job to everyone involved.

art = lovely, sound = perfect, gameplay = excellent

there's so many systems in this, and they all work super well, seriously, great work!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Really liked it. Possibly, one of the best games I've played. And the 2 player options is a neat idea, too.

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43am

Absolutely loved this. Give player some checkpoints would be better.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:22pm

The art of the game is wonderful. It reminded me of the classic PS1 games.
The game mechanics Idea is great, but it was too simple, in my view. Maybe if the execution did not include the issue of the two buttons would look better. But still is a great job. Great, great job! :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Very polished entry! Very impressive that you were able to get in so much. The battle system was nice, though it was tough to catch on to the attack patterns of enemies before it was too late. Awesome job.

jerombd says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Very solid game!! Great pixel-art!
With an enhanced gameplay (ie. Tuism ideas), it could become a longer, more interesting RPG

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Very cool entry!!! So much love for your art and style. This is super polished and ambitious. But I think you pulled it off. Well done

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

super job. I like the graphics and the combat system.
I bookmarked it.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Really awesome pixel-art (music didn't work for me). The combat becomes really tiresome, especially when fighting a boss and only dealing 3 damage and not seeing how much life he has left. The lack of healing items makes it really damn difficult. Died in the third world because it's really hard to judge when some attacks will hit, and there is no animation for when enemies will shoot.

S0rax says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Really funny, good idea, and very good graphics. Nice entry

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Funny RPG, even if the block mechanics is a bit hard to catch.
What I liked is the accumulation of stuff on the guy (hood+helm+bag+...)

EwChap says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:50am

Great work. Love the effort that you obviously put into this one. Great simplified RPG.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

This entry is amazing! The mechanic is so simple and feels so natural, it really makes the game shine as unique and fun. I am blown away by the amount of content and polish here, really fantastic job. The art style and animations were excellent. This would be a really fun game to play on mobile, as well. Great job!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Seems very polished and old school, which is great. This style of game was never really my thing though. The art is great. Animations too! It wasn't really a "2 button" game, but still cool. You can see a lot of hard work went into it.

cilerba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Great graphics and simple addicting gameplay. It was much harder than I expected it to be and I love it for that.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Very nice! Really cool control scheme, so simple but it works great. Awesome job guys.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Full stars all across! Brilliant mechanics and beautiful execution. I love it!

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I love the battle system! The Sound and graphics are so cool! Nice job guys!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Wow, the production levels on this are outstanding! Gorgeous and polished feel. Went from very easy to very hard very quickly, but that's okay. Amazing work guys, you should be really proud!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Awesome game guys! My Firefox can't run it though due to outdated laptop gfx drivers but on Chrome it runs fine. Love the graphics, the sound and the idea!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Great graphics and game!Congratulations

PixlWalkr says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:31am

5/5. very polished for a game jam. Simple but awesome gameplay. Beautiful pixel art also. Great job!!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Gameplay is very nice. I loved the how to shop in the game. Beautiful graphics. You should make a mobile version!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Interesting use of theme. Works nice with map. Those charge attack mechanics is something to look into for some mobile games.

arzi says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:55pm

This is really impressive! I don't normally like block mechanisms like that, but in this case they were really well integrated into the two button gameplay. Great work!

Anachron says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Amazing, would play it over and over on mobile

XenosNS says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Excellent game, loved the timing attacks.

Tselmek says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:41am

Everything is so perfect, I have nothing to say except that I personally think you should be the winner of this Ludum Dare. Congratulations for what you've made and good luck!

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Great game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:20pm

I love the Fire Emblem-like graphic and the two button control concept is really great. I love how you implemented a real time battle with a neat attack/defense style. Somehow I missed healing items, so I had to master the defense to keep alive for the stronger enemies. Really like the pixelated art style and the items are really reflected on the heroes.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:10am

Man, this game is incredible!
And very lasting too! o0
Awesome job!

Ellian says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:16am

Tough as nail, but really well made and fun!
As expected from you guys, it's really well done. Congrats for making something so nice. :)

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:43am

Thanks everybody for all this positive feedback :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]