Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Enliven

by Patacorow - Jam Entry

Unfinished game about planting seeds in a forest.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Jump / Accept
X - Menu / Cancel
R - Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Overall(Jam)4.31
#26Fun(Jam)4.07
#34Graphics(Jam)4.60
#35Innovation(Jam)4.06
#53Audio(Jam)4.06
#57Theme(Jam)4.29
#68Mood(Jam)4.03
#354Humor(Jam)2.92

Comments

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35pm

great game. lovely art and mood. congrats!

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Really good game!
I like the concept using the seeds as helpers to reach some places.
Cool art, controls and mechanics. sooo good : )

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Beautiful game. I love the sprites and animations, and the sound effects fit very well. I urge you to add more levels post-jam, this already amazing game could be even better!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Very nice game, I like speed and dynamic of gameplay, but I often confused in controls, too many buttons.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

My favorite entry so far. Look forward to try the post-jam version. Congrats!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Fantastic game! Really love the gameplay mechanics.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57pm

If you had just realized this a tiny bit earlier and started to wrap up what you had. A little intro and ending would've done the trick. Level amount and mechanics were all juicy enough - even if you had to perhaps cut one level/mechanic.

Overall it looks, sounds, plays and feels good enough to me. Lots of stars shall rain either way.

The only thing I would wish for in a final version would be short hops (jump low for a tap, normal height for a hold) as well as respawning seeds instead of being forced into a level reset.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Love the mechanics! Cute artwork but I couldn't get any audio. Overall a very solid game!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

Really really good game! Every aspect of the game is 5 stars!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

Wait why does going to far right reset the level?! The beanstalk growing is a little too quick, so many restarts because I missed by 1 tile!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37am

The fall sound is pretty repetitive but otherwise the game is great!

oxysoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05am

very peaceful game, makes me feel serene. graphics reminded me of Mother 3, very colorful and simple. could have been a very solid entry if you had started in time!

also I found a secret lonebot!!! http://i.imgur.com/DOwa3xF.png

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Great potential!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

Great work, its a lovely art style with great animation. Absolutely solid platformer execution; the controls feel good and responsive, jumping and landing are satisfying, nice non-intrusive tutorial elements, rich sound effects and a very fitting soundtrack. Amazing job!

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

That was incredible. Great work on every aspect of the game. It's an impressive feat for a game jam. Great use of the theme. 10/10 certainly.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29am

One of the best entries. Love the mechanics, the art, the music.
However, I'm sad to say the third level frustrated me to the point of quitting.
I couldn't get the second beanstalk to grow in a way I could go up it.
I really would have prefered a plant that grows straight up and places leaves sideways in climbable distances, or that the beanstalk will pause in a position where you could reach it if you grew it sideways.
If you fix it, I would love to give this another go.

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

An interesting and pretty platformer.

ianh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

Absolutely beautiful graphics. I'm blown away! The camera is a little fidgety: if you move and then stop it jerks back and forth.

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15am

Really great game ! love the mechanics also music and art are nice

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37am

Really cute game. The thud when landing was annoying though.

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

nice, I would've liked to play more but the jerking camera gave me an headache. If you do a post jam where you just center the camera or do more subtle easing I'll be back to finish it. Other than that still a great game! (From what I've seen :))

Webravenz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Amazing game, well done !
love the animations and gameplay

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Amazing game. Not many complaints about this one. Tight innovative mechanics, great artstyle, fitting music. One slight thing that i dont like is the landing sound - its way to bassy, way too loud, way too annoying to hear it all the time.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Wow there's so much to love about this entry. Charming graphics, innovative gameplay and mechanics, nice soundtrack. Shame it ended where it did. Love the addition of the sandbox mode at the end though. Top notch entry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Great Game.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Pretty cool ! Very nice concept !

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

I got confused by the controls probably far more than I should've. I found myself accidentally planting multiple plants instead of jumping :(

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28pm

So cool *o*. Very cute (the jump of the character <3) and relaxing :)

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

like this game, want some more and on Steam =)

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Very splendid game! Had a lot of fun, too bad it was so sort, haha, would have enjoyed more of it!

The art, graphics and mood (music and colour choice) really fit well together, great job!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

the best I played in this LD34.
Thanks for your game!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Wow! This is fantadtic game!
Like the graphics and audio in this game. Game mechanic looks very cool level design useing it with interesting puzzles. Nice job, man!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57am

Very solid entry, great job. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:45am

Wow really awesome! Sad its unfinished :(

LxStudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

Very well done. Nice mechanics and fun to play.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Great, too bad there was not more levels

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very nice game with meditative gameplay. I just think controls is a little bit tricky. May be it will be better to use z to grow and x to jump.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:11pm

I like it. Very good art style and smooth animations. My only gripe is the jump behaviour, because it's not executed sometimes which causes me falling down pits when I wanted to jump but the character didn't...

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Old school, amazing art, care for details, fun..everything! Congrats peeps!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34pm

this is a fantastic game! realy cool idea. WOW!

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Such a great job! Worth continuing for sure.

I'd love to be able to cancel growing if i realize i've done the wrong thing. I know the short levels kind of achieves this, but it'd be nice to have a way to restart a seed if i know its going wrong (especially for the platform and tunnel seeds).

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Fun, looks great. Just wish controlling the bean stalk was a bit easier? Slower? That the tiles were more obvious maybe? Maybe if you could land on the leaves it would avoid the off by one tile reset the level issue. Excellent concept.

Dayko says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Amazingly well-finished game with clever ideas, congrats !!

LeafThief says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:02am

Love the game <3

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45am

This is so well polished, really really great, love the audio too, perfect job =)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Great entry, nice graphics and good mechanics.
The only part that bothers me is to have to reset the level if you do something wrong. It cuts the gameflow a lot.
Maybe if the player could rollback what he does or if the level design was a bit more adapted (climbing on the green growing beens instead of jumping on it a la Plant Cat), it could help.

Great entry anyway!

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:33am

Nice polished platformer!
There's so many details in the character animation.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Great game. I really enjoyed playing it.

wine says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Love it! Good idea, nice platforming, cute character :)
Very well done!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:50pm

So cute! 5/5

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:48pm

this is a very well polished game, well done! the animation was lovely and i really enjoyed the mechanics.
i did find the camera movement a little jarring.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:07pm

It's amasing that you made that much with a day less ! Really a awesome game !

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Great oldschool platformer, nice work and great seed mechanics :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:13am

I would have continued playing. The game has great atmosphere, and I bet the mechanics would have led to some really cool puzzles if you guys had had the time.

Though, if the game and puzzles got harder, I can imagine being annoyed by having to restart every-time a mistake was made... Maybe some kind of undo mechanic would have been nice?

Overall very polished, and good clean fun. Great entry -- I'll rate it highly.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:33am

One of the best entries that I have seem so far. I really dig the mechanics. Well done

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:12am

Just super impressive work. Beautiful art, beautiful music, and an impressive bunch of mechanics. I only wish the beanstalk moved more slowly. Amazing all around!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I wonder what kind of unrealistic expectations you had if you call this "unfinished", it's an order of magnitude more finished than most entries. This actually utilizes the mechanics pretty thoroughly, and as a package stands out from the average game. Real good job all around.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:41am

Unfinished do not mean unintersting. Great "unfinished" game, I wish to unfinish games like you do ! XD

Wayward says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:03am

Really enjoyed playing it!

Next time consider that not everyone has a qwerty keyboard, i have a qwertz keyboard, making my fingers hurt because y and z are swapped, would have been nice if y would do the same as z.

Also tried with the tunnel seed if the portal "speedy thing goes in, speedy thing comes out" thing applies, if you will be working on it after jam consider adding this, i can imagine some awesome puzzles with it!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:19am

Really good job on finding those unique mechanics, it feels great playing the game. Nice soothing atmosphere as well.

managore says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:26pm

absolutely fantastic game! I wish there was even more of it!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Cute puzzle game about planting seeds to progress. Love the art style. All the plant types had interesting uses. I found the pipe flower to be the most interesting.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:51am

Really frustrating to have to restart the level when you grow a platform just a little too high for my jump range. But I like what you're trying to do here with the theme. Nice job.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:33am

Cute plant growing!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:54am

Best game I've played so far in this LD. Every single detail was top notch. I'm blown away! Perfect score.

scorched says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Good, if only the game was less trial-and-error (especially not very clear where one can plant seeds), and more puzzle... :-)

ztiromoritz says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Charming.

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

Lovely, super polished.
Do wish I didn't have to restart when messing up.

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:22am

really nice hope to see a full polished version one day

Skywilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:55pm

A fantastic little game. On of my favorites !

Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:44am

Beautiful game especially knowing that it was started a day late. The various seed types and levels added a lot to the game and kept me playing until the end. Solid game!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Fantastic game!

Tamiks says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

Hey Larry, I don't know if you'd be interested, (or if anyone reading this is) but I speed-ran Enliven in 1:28.069. If you'd like, try beating my time.

Here are some tips:

-In level one, skip the first two and last leaf sprout, also at the end were you use the flower to boost yourself up, jump immediately after planting it. (The game spawns a static, invisible platform before the sprouting animation is over)

- In level two, pretty much play as normal, but try falling closer to the end of the level. The loading zone is actually slightly taller than the log, so you can land on top of it.

-In level three, after acquiring the first seed, build stairs until you reach the second seed, then start to build a ladder. (It's okay if you make a step un-climbable) Now jump to the second platform, second seed in hand, and plant it. At this point, if you created any un-climbable step in the ladder, intersect the current vine with the old one at the step in question, and finish the ladder.

-In the third level, blow up the first barrier, and then run to the red seed. This next part is important, do NOT pick up the flower, it will only slow you down. To avoid it, stand on the very right of the stump, and jump up and as far right as possible. Now jump to the platform with the second barrier and plant the seed. Make one relatively small step, and then go up and above the barrier to the right. Connect with the bomb platform, and finish the stage as normal.

-And for the last level, the only real trick is that when you pick up the first portal plant, just hold the right button.

If you read all that cutos to you, and I hope you find some cool glitches/exploits.

gkxd says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Really nice game! I enjoyed the graphics and sound.

The camera movement was a bit weird. Also, when I tried to put a seed down with the X key in a bad place, a white "X" popped up, which was confusing at first. I thought I had to keep pressing X.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:49am

What a special game. First off the art and sound are really nice and pleasant, it's a world that I want to be in. The game mechanics are so clever! The effects of the seeds are incredibly clever and cause for some great puzzles. I also love the way the game controls. There is so much potential with this idea and I would love to see a full game made. This is so impressive, especially since you guys started a day late! I am so impressed. Amazing job! :D

euske says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:24pm

The level design feels rushed indeed, but all the contents are there and it's pretty solid. Superb graphics and audio too. Well done.

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Very very good jub ! ;) Nice grabics and music all is good ;)

ragnta says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Finally I found it. :) I didn't find it since end of Ludum Dare Jam.
Nice Job!

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:00pm

You got a perfect score from me ._.
Amazing ._.

knason says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Oh I played this for a long time, I loved it! great game! well done!

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Wow, this is an awesome entry! Even if it is considered "incomplete" I think it does a great job introducing the mechanics and providing some interesting puzzles to solve. I would definitely play more levels of this.

My only critique of the gameplay is that I wish that the "bridge" plant would grow slightly slower, or perhaps that the jump was just slightly higher -- I found myself creating steps for the bridge that were just slightly too high to jump onto, and needing to reset a couple of times due to this.

Overall an awesome job, I quite like the art/animation and the music. Congrats!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Very nice! Even though you started late, it's quite a well polished game :) Took me a second to understand the 'make platforms' seed, but figuring it out was part of the fun.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:28am

Great, very polished entry!
very lovely little platformer, the only downside is the lack of being able to undo beanstalk planting. Also took me forever to figure out how beanstalks worked in the first place

Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:04pm

This was great, the introduction of the various plants worked really well for me and I enjoyed the puzzle aspect of it. The graphics were nice and all the platforming worked well, great entry!

gallerdude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:34pm

That was absolutely beautiful. The soundtrack was AMAZING. The levels were awesome, and the mechanics were great. One of the top 3 entries I've played as of yet.

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I remember you talking about the lack of levels. Well, I didn't notice it at all. The only thing missing is a little tutorial for each seed.

Well... Great game. And very creative, too. Just beautiful.

HacksawUnit says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:27pm

I love the world you've built: the art and music all feel very alive.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:24am

Great game, I want to play more.

dvdfu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:12am

Fantastic game mechanics, super polished as well! Just about as great as a game jam game could be - I only wish it were longer!

Silvio says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:47am

are you kidding me..
unbelievably good game

Doctor_N says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:07am

So fun absolutely loved this

Muel says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:38am

And you say "unfinished"?

I mean, maybe you just didn't had time to make more levels, but the game core's is there.

It's a fantastic job and one of the best I've seen here.

Didi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Very good game! Art sound and ideia of functional growing plants to complete puzzles. Awesome. Nice work.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Awesome work. Cool mechanics going on here. Nice pixel art too!

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Very inventive puzzle platformer. It took me a little while to figure out that you could control the vine plant, and aside from accidentally making the vines too tall most of the mechanics were good fun to use. It's quite easy to jump out of the level in the last area though using the starting flower, which was a little frustrating but not too bad.

I loved your art style and I felt the music added quite a lot to the game, although some of the sound effects were a little loud/bassy. I like your animations, they add quite a lot to the game's cutesy feel!

Overall a very polished entry, great job! :)

klianc09 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Just incredible artwork/animations, and the overall sound design fits together really well.
Only real issue I had: I wish I could recycle plants if I misplaced them. Always having to restart the level when I mess up was a tiny bit annoying.

nosfer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:11pm

nice graphics and sound, growing plant grows too fast :(

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Great game! Really cool mechanics and animations! The vine was a little tricky, but overall a great idea!

oparisy says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Very nice mood and mechanics. Love your animations too. Sadly, I could not get past the third level, getting the seeds to grow properly was too error prone and tedious.

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:12am

Great game, I like the mechanics. nice art also.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:01am

Great!

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:11am

It's a good game, and it definitely has the potential to be a great game with just a little tuning to the mechanics and level design.

Certain aspects of it felt extremely unforgiving to me - the rapid movement of the growing vine combined with the extremely short jump height was especially aggravating. Something about the constant restarting led to a sense of frustration that didn't really fit with the mellow atmosphere of the game. Maybe a checkpoint system would help?

Still, it's a really solid entry and the balance issues are understandable given the time constraints.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:27am

Nice atmosphere but surprisingly difficult due to the seed growth speed in certain places. I finished it.

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:28am

Awesome pixel art, great music, and cool game mechanics, I love it! Though it's a bit too hard for me, especially the beanstakes are growing too fast. The growing theme is moderately used, but there are definitely more than two buttons.
One of the best games of LD34!

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:40am

I really liked this game! The puzzles were neat and the controls were good, the graphics were really good too! Great job, I hope you finish it later! :)

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]