Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

White Rose

by DissonEnt - Jam Entry

In a world created by sound, play as a boy with synesthesia as he fights the ever growing darkness with music and his fists, painting the world in color with every damaging blow. Choose between 3 tracks and destroy the monsters before the song ends, or else they will overwhelm you. Turn up the beats and enjoy the visual experience.

White Rose is a beat-'em-up video game made by brothers Chris and Kenneth Ng of Dissonance Entertainment for the Ludum Dare 34 game jam. The game is best enjoyed with sound.

Controls:
Keyboard: Arrow keys to move/select, Z to attack/confirm, Enter to restart, Esc to quit (if not playing on the web browser)
Controller: Left joystick to move/select, A to attack/confirm, Start to restart, Back to quit (if not playing on the web browser)

Theme:
We went for the theme of "Growing", represented by the "growing darkness." Every time enemies hit you, they paint the world black, while you attempt to paint the world colorful. We initially wanted a point system to determine how much of the map was painted black for your score, but ran out of time.

Music:
MitiS - Endeavors
MitiS - Touch
Kygo - Stay (ft. May Noyes)
Madeon - Stay Awake (ft. Ellie Goulding)

Team:
Chris Ng - Coding
Kenneth Ng - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#129Graphics(Jam)4.20
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#631Innovation(Jam)2.97
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#1058Theme(Jam)2.42

Comments

keanerie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24am

love the visuals!

shiny says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36am

Awesome graphics, game run extremely smoothly and felt good.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42am

Visuals = Very interesting. Gameplay is a little lacking though honestly. The background painting style reminds me of something my friends did: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=15325

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08am

Juicy and beautiful art. Maybe a few combos would add to the game even more.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12am

Great piece of art. You could make something valuable with this concept

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Absolutely beautiful game. Would love to see some more game mechanics explored with this aesthetic.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22am

Interesting game, Nothing to stop the player from spamming attack.

atrodo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very cool game, great visual entertainment.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:11am

Visuals were great. I liked the mix of 3d and pixel art. Good song choice.

mappel6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:22am

My god the graphics.

Too bad the rest of the game is kinda lacking, but it could definitely be something big in the long haul. All this has been said before, but some variation in the fighting--some stronger enemies, some combo finishers, something that just keeps the player from attacking over and over again which can perhaps be combined with the combo finishers--will go a long way.

I'm not sure if you were going for just Growing or both Two Button Controls and Growing, but I didn't see a lot of the theme outside of the "Stop the darkness from growing." I don't really see the arrow keys and one other button as Two Button Controls though.

Was kinda fun, but I don't think it would keep me occupied for a while in its current state. As for mood, I kinda was thinking of giving a 4, but it didn't quite feel there for me. I think that, for the kind of game you were going for, it's a little... light-hearted, maybe?

Suggestion: Add a rhythm element to the game, since the music is important. Maybe make it to where the player can only attack to the rhythm of the song they chose, and have a rhythm indicator near the top of the screen so they know when to attack?

All-in-all, I think this could go far. But let me return to that beginning statement.

My god the graphics.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23am

really like the style, it could be a fun rhythm game if hitting on the right rhythm made for a bigger area of attack or something.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:44am

The game looks really nice but variety in the game is definitely lacking :) just a few new attacks and enemies would make a great difference... Making the weapons/attack sync with the beat of the music would work amazingly in a game like this.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:09am

Pros: Absolutely beautiful (the prettiest game I've seen yet) and felt good to punch ghosts.
Cons: Too short / not alot to it (I want to see more!)

tobia88 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:19am

I very like this pixel style picture ,game is also very fun .But i think the two buttons is not good understanding.

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:31am

nice background with the different layers and the glowy moon

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39am

I like the use of the theme and this is really beautiful to watch, pretty great to battle in here, well done :D

Love the graphics of the ennemies!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Nice visuals, but not much game to back it up. And no sound effects either. Nonetheless it's a nice starting point if you're ever going to expand upon it.

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I love the visuals in this game, I think you guys nailed it.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:37am

The juice was on-point: the particles, the feeling of landing a blow, the background and other visuals. All good. However, getting hit felt kind of crappy, and the enemies were very boring (I generally try to avoid making "direct seek" enemy behaviors in my games, because it is the least interesting type).

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:31am

The dynamic use of colour was very appealing and I like the background reason that you gave for the link between the colour and the music.
The fighting felt quite satisfying and worked well with the music.
My only real criticism is that the combat became bland after a little while and there wasn't much of a challenge.
Otherwise, good job, :)

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:33am

this is a fun little game. once you guys add more stuff todo in the game this could be amazing.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:14am

Super short but I looooved the art.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:43am

Amazing visuals and mood. Gameplay needs to be improved a bit.

KZdev says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:13am

A little too easy to hold my attention for too long, very pretty visuals though, I like your style!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:32am

Nice visuals and music, could use more interesting gameplay though.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I loved the idea of paint the world by killing enemies, the concept of game was great.
I think with more effects and improvements in game could turn this in something big. Great job!

Ayte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:19pm

loved the artstyle !

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

The graphics are great. The music is nice but I'm guessing not your own. The presentation is fantastic, movement is nice, the juice is nice, everything is great!

Except... No gameplay. Push buttons and that's it. The monsters don't present any threat after you understand you can punch more than once.

I really want to like this but it's just so... Just pretty! Just so pretty!

Ludic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice art work

orion_black says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45pm

The background/splashing effect was quite nice.

As many have mentioned a more fleshed out combat system would have a great impact. I get the impression you weren't going for a extensive-moveset-combo-oriented-combat kind of thing. Still, you could make it so that each subsequent attack takes a bit more time to execute/land and maybe increases your attack travel distance by a very little bit. That mixed with the knockback enemies get(and maybe some hitstun) would create this situation were you have to attack more carefully. Just some ideas from the top of my head.

Taldius says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:59pm

This game has a very unique art and lot of effect which is really good. However, the game is really simple and short.
Good job.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice style. Excellent music choices. It could have gone further with the synaesthesia theme though. Might have been cool to have visual effects that pulse to the music or something, or even match the timing of attacks to the songs. Perhaps make the colours more vivid as you make progress? I know there's limited time and these things are hard to implement in the time limit, but these are just some ideas for possible improvement later. There's potential for something awesome here.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Visual is great! Loved the paint style when the enemies die. Gameplay was a bit weak as the theme did not fit.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Really a cool design !! Well done guys ;)

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Your choice of song affected... nothing, which is strange especially in a game like this. The entire gameplay seems like an afterthought, and nothing in the visuals really wants to complement it. Even the "enemies left" text is ashamed to be there and would rather sit this one out in the corner.

But hey, I guess it's at least neat to look at.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really good feel to this one, and an interesting visual style.

Gornova says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Sorry but a great concept, without gameplay. There is a good graphic style, nice music, good mood, but without gameplay as glue that keep together all, it's not so good for me :(

Pilly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Cathartic. A fun, satisfying experience overall. I think music is one of the most important parts of a game, and the music and gameplay in your team's game went together perfectly. Memorable and well done.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Looks and sounds pretty. Could use a bit more in the gameplay, like combos, multiple attacks, ranged attack, etc. and the enemies kind of crowd around you in an impossible fashion. But definitely a good start, and I like that your interpretation of the growing theme isn't just "something in the game grows because it can."

abuzreq says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

I really loved the game and its visual arts ,and truly I don't mind rating on Audio because I don't understand this category as something you created but how well you used music in your game .

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Good idea with the music player!
The art style is awesome too!
Wish the gameplay was more diverse and there were more levels, like you see the enemies list - who are against you this level, choose the appropriate song, which gives you needed stats :-)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:53am

Awesome Visual and 5/5 for mood!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Neat idea.
I was missing a bit of a challenge beacause I could just keep beating up the bad guys without ever getting hit.
But all in all a cool entry.

FireTwin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Really stunning graphics, and of course nothing beats particle effects, wahey! Could almost make a painting with the splatter effects of the ghost killing. That might be a cool gameplay mechanic to explore.

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:51am

Great game! It looks really good, although it would be nice to have a few more levels =P I liked it! :)

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Lovely colors and music! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]