Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dont ask me to stop being a pig

by Ludic - Jam Entry

you start out as a simple pig who decides never to bow his head to the bullys!!

Controlls:
Z = Dodge
X = Punch

Tips:
Watch the anticipation of enemy's attack to dodge it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#98Humor(Jam)3.70
#129Graphics(Jam)4.20
#132Overall(Jam)3.79
#137Fun(Jam)3.69
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21

Comments

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I couldn't manage to beat the eagle guy at the beginning, how do you do it? His health regenerated really fast! =O The graphics and music were nice, I like the game a lot but I think it's a little bit too hard.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

PigBoxer what can be better)

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Nice little game. Like the graphics and the sound a lot and nice concept.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33pm

this was neat! the music is cool and the art is really nice. the training games were a nice touch too. i wasnt able to get past the rat though. he would just punch constantly and even if i timed my punches perfectly between his his health still regained faster.

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:01am

Thanks for the tips, guys. We already updated a new version adjusted based on your observations

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19am

I like it. the art is really nice but it is pretty tough. Other commenters mentioned sound, but I wasn't able to hear anything

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

since the update i came back and played it again. got to the end this time, really good!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:01am

decent work!
the pixel art is awesome. hope there could be more content!

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:03am

This is an awesome game! Some people are saying stuff about sound but I couldn't hear anything? Still awesome!

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:05am

Just misses the boat on being great.

+ presentation
+ graphics & animation
+ easy to understand
+ fun

- repetitive, could have done with some variation (besides the minigames, some of them were great but some were just kinda pointless)
- not enough information (what does +STR do? +AGI do?)
- a bit of a pause between activities would have prevented me from pressing the button to choose without meaning to.

arzi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:52am

Awesome art and actually quite a lot of content!

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32am

What a great lil game, amazing work. The mini games are a nice addition to help break up what could have been repetitive gameplay.
The only thing i can suggest is to add a little more feedback to make the game more "juicy", If that makes sense.

SoulBound says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:16am

Fun game, The graphics where amazing!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:53am

Very nice! Seemed like the gorilla was definitely harder than the lion, and it felt a lot like I could mash and just dodge as needed, but still fun.

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:26pm

This was great fun to play and it is well polished. My favourite on LD so far.

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Fantastic game! It's a complete thought and super polished. The music was great, the art is perfect for the aesthetic you were going for, and the mechanic was simple but took a bit of play time to master. If I had one suggestion to make the game a little less easy to breeze through towards the end it would be to make the opponents block more. I hope you are planning to upload this to some of the game portals because I think this could be a popular game and a lot of people would enjoy it.

anael says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Great game!!

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Any chance of a soundtrack download?

Ludic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Soundtrack by Mark Sparling. You can download free in marksparling.com

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very cool game! I loved the pixel art. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]