Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Glitch

by sausage_squad - Jam Entry

A Glitch is a small platformer brought to you by the newly formed Sausage Squad for our first Ludum Dare together.

In A Glitch, you start off as a small glitch in a computer program who can only move left or right. However, as you progress within the game, you will amass power ups that will unlock new controls and game mechanics to allow you to progress further in the game.

Progressive control scheme, progressive layering soundtrack and increasingly complex mechanics await as you advance through the levels.

IMPORTANT: IN CASE OF DEATH PRESS ENTER TO RESPAWN
TEMPORARY BUG WARNING : In level 4, there`s a bug that prevents the player from picking the life battery powerup unless he died earlier in that level. A quick workaround is throwing yourself into turret fire. You`ll respawn at the beginning of the level and you`ll be able to pick up the powerup.

CONTROLS :
LEFT --> A
RIGHT--> D
JUMP --> SPACE
RESPAWN --> ENTER

This game is (as far as we know) controller compatible

We didn`t get quite as far as we wanted to with this game. We have a lot of mechanics and fun stuff (and less fun bugfixes) we`d like to implement in the near future.

Thanks for trying out our game!

The Sausage Squad
Samuel Allen, Xavier Charles, Gabriel Boivin-Bedard, Robin Chayer


A Glitch is powered by Superpowers by Sparklin Labs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Audio(Jam)3.95
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#1025Theme(Jam)2.62
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Nice retro game, good introduction as well. The background could use a bit of 8-bit love. The music was excellent! Controls are introduced nicely. The direction the player needs to go in could be explained a bit better, either through level design (visual pointers) or story. I'd like to see more of that story implemented in the level, as it's an innovative way to keep the player engaged.

justacookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

i enjoyed this game a lot! it stopped right when i was hooked, but its a great concept, very simple rules and a lot of fun. it was fun seeing my character grow and that the power ups changed your look.

the first time i died, i pressed the spacebar and mouse buttons to respawn, maybe allow the player to respawn that way (i actually reloaded the tab, because i wasnt aware that i can respawn with enter).

Great entry and good sausage squad.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Well, I congratulate the Sausage Squad to their first game!

The levels are a bit on the hard side or would need a bit more savepoints. I gave up after failing at the same spot for the 20th time.

Nice retro sound and graphics.

I'm not sure how the theme ties in. Is it that you start out with two controls?

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:54am

classic sounds. nicely done. really fun layout/level design. not sure what it was but my jumping was a little weird. might just be on my end though.

luke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:40pm

i love it!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I love retro platformers and I enjoyed this one. The controls could be tweaked a little and when I died it took me a minute to figure out how to respawn, but cool game!

teamross says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Cool game : )
For me, the Jump is a bit weird.
Overall nice concept. I liked a lot the graphics style with the black background.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Really liked how your character grows when you collect the powerups and I absolutely love how the audio has more layers added to it the further you progress.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I really liked this game ^^ Simple, fun, dynamic, and even if there is only few levels, it's not important, the gameplay is quite rich. Thanks of the game ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]