Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Age Of Swarms

by Tiberon - Jam Entry

Age of Swarms is a real time strategy / tower defense game that draws inspiration from hostility between insect colonies. Grow your base with buildings that give you different units with their own unique purposes. Defend the base against growing numbers of enemy vermin and destroy their hives to be victorious!

Controls (mouse only):
Left click - Select an offensive unit
Right click - Cancel selection
Right click + Left Click - Select multiple offensive units

Team:
Lead Designer: Joel Joensuu
Programmers: Jesse Verainen & Jukka Linna
Graphics: Oskari Wäänänen & Sini Haapanen
Music & Sounds: Arti Waine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Tiberon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

NOTE: If you are having trouble with the UI, disconnect / disable all but 1 of your monitors, and then start the game using that monitors native resolution.

Jobedi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Playing the game windowed solved the UI problems for me (so probably no need to start disconnecting ordisabling monitors =D)

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Nice game! didn't have UI problems, but i played in windowed mode.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:48pm

It's a good game, but it has serious performance issues that should be fixed asap. If you keep working on it, improve the graphics (I'm not saying 3D, just a little better 2D) I'll love it.

Overall, I loved the concept and I played it twice.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Nice little game! After I figured out how to play I enjoyed playing through this one - good work :)

Juin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:07pm

It's really hard to figure out what the buildings do.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:20am

I played through the first level to give it a shot, but I noticed there were a lot of weird glitchy things preventing the game from being played normally, and it started lagging really badly towards the end of the round. It was decent though, reminded me a lot of Starcraft. There's some fixing to do here though!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:50am

I'm not sure if I have really tested your complete game. In windowed mode, I was able to place "building". When I click on the ground and drag, I see a rectangle for selection, but I don't know if I have ever selected a unit, and if I could select one, what now ?
Your description of controls only talk about "Select an offensive unit", "Cancel selection" and "Select multiple offensive units". But what can we do with selected units, move them ? how ? I've tried many keys without effect.
I'm a little frustrated because your game seems promising.

Note : please, remove *.pdb files from your zip file, they are not needed for distribution, it's debug files produced by Visual Studio and they are bigger than your game !

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:57am

Whoa, finally I won a game.
It's seems that only units from the red building are selectable.
Your game needs more explications and it has serious performance issues when there are more than a dozen units on screen (and I have a gamer PC with a killer configuration).

Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:48am

unfortunately the bugs and lag were the only issues for me in terms of gameplay... but having explanations would have also been helpful. If I ignored the lag and played what I understood... It was quite fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]